We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
77
10
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
10
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun trap clean rooms thank you for a lovely night break balcony devon
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2015

What a wonderful find ..... warm friendly greeting by Jean, room exceptionally clean and well equipped. The view from the balcony was stunning overlooking the bay and surrounding hills, although due to the very cold and wet weather we were unable to make the most of it. Thank you for the central heating much appreciated when we returned from eating out and arriving back absolutely soaking wet!!!

Breakfast the next morning was a delight - food excellent quality and well cooked, service 'spot on'.

Would certainly recomment this Bed and Breakfast. Thank you Jean for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile

We have once again had a lovely break at the poplars, we were made to feel very welcome as always, the food was top quality as was the rooms and the well stocked bar, we look forward to returning very soon.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

After a long period of absence due to personal illness, it was nice to be back at "The Poplars". The Bed & Breakfast tariff is as competitive as ever, whilst maintaining the high standards which make a stay at this establishment excellent value for money.(Just love Jean's breakfasts). From the moment we enter the front door we feel relaxed and at ease. Thank you to Jean and family for making yet another stay so memorable. Just what the Doctor ordered.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms provide open views of the landscape and sea.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FingersBiggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

A lovely welcoming hotel the breakfast was excellent as was the host. The room had a lovely view and was very clean we were made to feel as if we were special, it also had a well stocked bar. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very friendly and attentive host. Rooms well designed for a 'make over' in an ols building and some good plans to extend the facilities including a balcony terrace for guests overlooking the bay. We went in early Spring when the outdoor pool would have been too cold but the terrace was a good sun trap for reading your holiday book and our host served my wife impromptu tea without being asked as "I always do this for my regulars' (on our first visit) at no extra cost. I needless to stay was stuck to my iPad watching sport through their WiFi

We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was a 'choose what you want' menu and cooked to order and the toast was endless if you wanted it. All in all very good value.

Only one little comment - the public areas - eg stairs and bar and our balcony could do with a lick of new paint but that didn't spoil our stay. When we are back down there, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wogantog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews