We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to be back. Just what the Doctor ordered.”
Review of Poplars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplars Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2015

After a long period of absence due to personal illness, it was nice to be back at "The Poplars". The Bed & Breakfast tariff is as competitive as ever, whilst maintaining the high standards which make a stay at this establishment excellent value for money.(Just love Jean's breakfasts). From the moment we enter the front door we feel relaxed and at ease. Thank you to Jean and family for making yet another stay so memorable. Just what the Doctor ordered.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms provide open views of the landscape and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FingersBiggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014

A lovely welcoming hotel the breakfast was excellent as was the host. The room had a lovely view and was very clean we were made to feel as if we were special, it also had a well stocked bar. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very friendly and attentive host. Rooms well designed for a 'make over' in an ols building and some good plans to extend the facilities including a balcony terrace for guests overlooking the bay. We went in early Spring when the outdoor pool would have been too cold but the terrace was a good sun trap for reading your holiday book and our host served my wife impromptu tea without being asked as "I always do this for my regulars' (on our first visit) at no extra cost. I needless to stay was stuck to my iPad watching sport through their WiFi

We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was a 'choose what you want' menu and cooked to order and the toast was endless if you wanted it. All in all very good value.

Only one little comment - the public areas - eg stairs and bar and our balcony could do with a lick of new paint but that didn't spoil our stay. When we are back down there, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wogantog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Back home from our latest stay at The Poplars. Behold the roof terrace garden. Yet another improvement to the hotel completed which is proving very popular with guests.

We have been regular visitors ever since the friendly welcome we received over 15 years ago. Like other returning guests, we have seen many improvements and enhancements to the hotel during Jean and Cliff's ownership.

Their commitment to quality not quantity is apparent in the transformation of the original 28 bedrooms with a shared toilet and bathroom on each floor, to the current 10 ensuite rooms, with the final 2 rooms being work in progess, as with upgrades in other areas of the hotel. This has never caused us any disruption or detracted from our comfort and enjoyment.

Reading the reviews over he last 4 years of both returning and once only clientele, it can be seen that THE POSITIVES FAR OUTWEIGH THE NEGATIVE.

Our latest stay confirms our justification in giving the hotel an excellent rating. THE STATISTICS SPEAK VOLUMES.

Some of the recent photographs posted do not do the hotel or proprietors justice, and do not give the whole picture. However, do not take my word for it, or the other 99% positives. This being Trip Advisor, then my advice to anyone contemplating a visit is, go and SEE FOR YOUR SELF.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FingersBiggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Poplars last weekend for 3 nights. Our room was lovely, very clean with a balcony and a beautiful view. The room had tea making facilities and tv, the shower was amazing too. We were made to feel extremely welcome by Cliff and Jean, the cooked breakfasts delicious and fresh with great fried bread! The bar was really nice and my husband enjoyed having a pint with the other guests and being entertained by Cliff! In fact we were just discussing that Cliff should go on Britain's got talent next year. A great, friendly b and b in a beautiful part of the world, thank you

Room Tip: Nice to have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.9 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
0.1 km away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
0.1 km away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
0.1 km away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
13 reviews
0.1 km away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Hotel

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: ₹ 7,165 - ₹ 13,874 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Poplars Hotel Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing