We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mellstock House(Combe Martin)
US$ 140
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saffron House Hotel(Combe Martin)
US$ 99
US$ 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowford Farm Meadows(Combe Martin)(Great Value!)
US$ 27
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pack o' Cards Inn(Combe Martin)
US$ 108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manleigh Park(Combe Martin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Acorns Guest House(Combe Martin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
77
10
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
10
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun trapclean roomsthank you for a lovelynight breakbalconydevon
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2014

A lovely welcoming hotel the breakfast was excellent as was the host. The room had a lovely view and was very clean we were made to feel as if we were special, it also had a well stocked bar. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Very friendly and attentive host. Rooms well designed for a 'make over' in an ols building and some good plans to extend the facilities including a balcony terrace for guests overlooking the bay. We went in early Spring when the outdoor pool would have been too cold but the terrace was a good sun trap for reading your holiday book and our host served my wife impromptu tea without being asked as "I always do this for my regulars' (on our first visit) at no extra cost. I needless to stay was stuck to my iPad watching sport through their WiFi

We only had breakfast in the hotel but it was a 'choose what you want' menu and cooked to order and the toast was endless if you wanted it. All in all very good value.

Only one little comment - the public areas - eg stairs and bar and our balcony could do with a lick of new paint but that didn't spoil our stay. When we are back down there, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wogantog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Back home from our latest stay at The Poplars. Behold the roof terrace garden. Yet another improvement to the hotel completed which is proving very popular with guests.

We have been regular visitors ever since the friendly welcome we received over 15 years ago. Like other returning guests, we have seen many improvements and enhancements to the hotel during Jean and Cliff's ownership.

Their commitment to quality not quantity is apparent in the transformation of the original 28 bedrooms with a shared toilet and bathroom on each floor, to the current 10 ensuite rooms, with the final 2 rooms being work in progess, as with upgrades in other areas of the hotel. This has never caused us any disruption or detracted from our comfort and enjoyment.

Reading the reviews over he last 4 years of both returning and once only clientele, it can be seen that THE POSITIVES FAR OUTWEIGH THE NEGATIVE.

Our latest stay confirms our justification in giving the hotel an excellent rating. THE STATISTICS SPEAK VOLUMES.

Some of the recent photographs posted do not do the hotel or proprietors justice, and do not give the whole picture. However, do not take my word for it, or the other 99% positives. This being Trip Advisor, then my advice to anyone contemplating a visit is, go and SEE FOR YOUR SELF.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FingersBiggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Poplars last weekend for 3 nights. Our room was lovely, very clean with a balcony and a beautiful view. The room had tea making facilities and tv, the shower was amazing too. We were made to feel extremely welcome by Cliff and Jean, the cooked breakfasts delicious and fresh with great fried bread! The bar was really nice and my husband enjoyed having a pint with the other guests and being entertained by Cliff! In fact we were just discussing that Cliff should go on Britain's got talent next year. A great, friendly b and b in a beautiful part of the world, thank you

Room Tip: Nice to have a balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Hotel was in a marvellous location overlooking the sea. We were so impressed that we came back after spending our holiday here last year. The hosts Cliff and Jean are really friendly people who made us feel as though we had known them for a lot longer than what we had. The food was excellent . The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed our time in the quaint bar at the end of the day. All being well we will be returning to the Poplars Hotel next year and have recommended the Hotel to many of our family and friends as a suitable location to stay for a peacefull relaxing break

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews