We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly, Homely”
Review of Acorns Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorns Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Steve and Denise were very welcoming and very friendly. The room was extremely clean as was the rest of the guest house. The breakfast was exactly what you need to start each day. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would quite happily choose to stay again in the future as it is perfectly located (2 minute walk to the town and a 15-20min drive to most other places).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

my wife an i have just returned from a lovely weekend away in combe martin,our trip was all the more enjoyable by our excellent choice of picking the acorns to stay.the room was spotless an comfortable.the breakfast excellent.Steve an Denise are brilliant hosts an could not do enough to help you an make you feel welcome.we shall be returning im sure. Mike an Sue

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeansue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Food and hospitality excellent. We had a lovely stay and the location is great for walking, and touring north Devon. The room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was great.

Full marks all round!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I turned up in Combe Martin on a short business trip. I had no idea where I was going to stay and literally picked this guest house out of the blue. I was greeted by Steve who helped me with my luggage to the room. I was delighted with the room which was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities I needed . A great benefit was the WiFi as I had to catch up on all my emails. The owners were exceptionally kind and insisted it was no trouble to make my breakfast slightly earlier as I had to run for an appointment .They allowed me to leave my luggage which was really helpful and I met with Steve and Denise when I came back and we sat and had a nice chat. They were so friendly , so pleasant and deserve to do very very well in this business. Don't go if you are expecting a high tech, marble floors, boutique style hotel, do go if you are looking for a clean , cozy, traditional guest house with great service, Wifi, and lovely hosts. I would not hesitate to recommend them and indeed will do so to any of my clients looking to stay in Devon. I will certainly be back to stay the next time I'm in the area and would feel no need to look anywhere else. Thank you Steve and Denise...you made my stay !!! Caroline (Tracy)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Relaxing weekend away from madhouse of work. The management, although new to the hotel, have mastered the ability to be available when required yet invisible when you don't need them. The breakfast was tasty and substantial with extra toast if required. Room was tidy and clean with regular supplies of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Yum. Will definately return as soon as committments allow.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view. (number 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJAUTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.1 km away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
0.1 km away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
243 reviews
0.1 km away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.1 km away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
1.8 km away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Guest House

Address: 2 Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: ₹ 5,063 - ₹ 6,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, licensed guesthouse is just three minutes walk from the bay and the beach, We can offer long relaxing holidays, weekends away, romantic short breaks, coastal and country walks or cycling breaks. This late Victorian guest house is in the heart of Combe Martin. All rooms are well appointed with en-suite facilities,flat screen television with DVD player and most have either coastal or country views. We have our own parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Acorns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing