We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (846)
Filter reviews
846 results
Traveller rating
500
233
73
21
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
500
233
73
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews table tennis snooker room lovely hotel family hotel dance weekend washington suite cheese and biscuits tennis courts dog friendly hotel dawlish warren sea view indoor pool bar meals breakfast and dinner coastal path sea front enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 846 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

My husband and I and our son stayed here in July for my daughter's graduation from Exeter University. It's about 40 minutes drive from exeter and the hotel looks out over the beach which is very beautiful. We stayed 3 nights from the 9th July in a family room. The room wasn't very big, but adequate for our needs and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the room although on the ground floor had a little balcony/terrace furnished with a table and 2 chairs and a lovely view on to woodlands. Although, we didn't have a pool view the privacy of having a rear room was welcome. The bathroom had a bath with shower over which was nice as i love having a bath to relax in. The breakfast was amazing and you just helped yourself. Sausages and bacon lovely and eggs cooked how you preferred them. A good selection of cakes, pastries, fruits and cereals were also available. There are two pools an outdoor and indoor pool. We used the indoor pool which was lovely, it wasn't quite warm enough for the outdoor pool which was a shame as it looked lovely and was gated all the way round for safety. The bar area is lovely with plenty of different seating options and there is a lounge with tv where the boys including a family friend all enjoyed watching a football match together. We had to pay an extra supplement as our son was 15 which we weren't expecting so the total bill came to around £600 which I thought was a little steep, but it was a special occasion and the hotel is in a lovely location with easy access to lots of places of interest.

Room Tip: pool side rooms are nice but no privacy rooms at the rear of the hotel are better for privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonpug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the Langstone Cliff Hotel! We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your at our hotel stay for your daughters graduation and hope to welcome you all again soon at the Langstone Cliff Hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

The hotel is amazing it has loads of great facilities for children and adults the staff were very attentive and friendly. The room was very pleasant although to be fair I had a plain double room with no real view and it did lack air conditioning. Breakfast was fantastic plenty of it one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever had three days running so not just a one off. The evening meals were also very nice. Room service was fast and friendly. The swimming pool (indoor) was very warm and the changing facilities were clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Any of the family rooms seemed lovely the doubles were on the plain side
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the Langstone Cliff Hotel!
We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again at the Langstone Cliff Hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Rogers
Partner

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Lovely location and easy to find. From the moment we arrived to the time we departed the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large and airy with a ovely balconey opposite a wood. Air conditioning available at no extra cost. Beds comfortable but others might find them a little hard, depends what you like. The rooms and communal areas were clean and tidy. Food was lovely and there was plenty of choice for everyone and the price was excellent considering it was 5 courses.
The only issue I have, personal choice again, was that I found the pillows a little flat and hard. Other than that I coulod find no fault with this lovely family and dog friendly hotel

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. They are the best views but the room I stayed in had a lovely view of the woods
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendyb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the Langstone Cliff Hotel! We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We do have a plentiful supply of pillows and would be pleased to offer alternatives, indeed there should have been a couple of additional pillows in the wardrobe if this was not the case we can only apologise for this oversight.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Langstone Cliff Hotel very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We booked a table to celebrate a birthday and for Sunday lunch.
The venue itself is really beautiful and with lovely gardens.
The food was just awful.
The veg and the roast potatoes appeared to be frozen and not freshly prepared.
The meat portions were measly to say the very least.
One guest was vegetarian and there was no vegetarian gravy available so this guest could not have a Sunday lunch but had to opt for a ploughman's instead.
This was extremely disappointing and we expected a venue such as this to have vegetarian gravy available.
The ploughman's was a self service salad bar and the choice of salad was limited and poor quality.
The table service was very good but we will not be returning to eat at this venue and neither could we recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markatlangstone, Owner at Langstone Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your comments which we are obviously dismayed to read. Unfortunately as the comments are anonymous, and refer to an unspecified date, we cannot comment directly on the menu for that particular day but the vegetables and potatoes are always freshly prepared and delivered on a regular basis by either FH Mann or Arthur David both well respected catering greengrocers. We always have at least two vegetarian options, plus fish and salads available and we always have vegetarian and gluten free gravy on offer, if for some reason it is not visible we would be pleased to fetch some for you.
With regard to the meat portions we operate a carvery on a Sunday lunchtime and the chef’s always ask if the guest has sufficient meat or even meats if that is what you prefer. Should you choose to remain seated and have your food delivered, which is always an option, and you feel there is insufficient of any food just ask and we would be delighted to provide more.
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at this time but would ask that you give us a chance to show that we can do better on another occasion.
Kind regards
Mark Rogers
Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

We have just visited for breakfast! we had booked but our booking was over looked so had to wait a while for a table to be reset, finally got to be seated the breakfast was very nice but the room is tired & so are some of the staff, my mother in law who is 87 enjoyed it very much as we watch a waitress clearing a table turning over the cloth & putting it back on the table! Then with a tray of cutlery she started setting the places dropped a spoon placed it in her other hand as if not to be using it then did bit like a faulty towers show but happily go for breakfast again

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank travellingmcclures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews