We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get out of the car”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Arrived around 8pm for 2 nights camping, driving up past the industrial estate we drove into the site and a group of young lads started throwing stones at the car!
Drove a little further up and noticed litter strewn everywhere, kids running around seemingly unsupervised and no security staff to be seen.
It had the look and feel of a rough council estate so we turned around and drove 3 hrs back home..

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank NigelandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

I can only apologise that the park did not meet your expectations and that you did not stay on the park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

On arrival at the park we was told we was aloud to check in at 15:00 but got told at 14:50 the room still wasnt done only to recieve the keys at 15:10 so 10 minutes later than told,clubhouse is like a throwback to the 70's food isn't the best we only ate there one night and the music is stuck in the 90's (venga bus) i mean please dronks are very pricey the entertainment for the kids is about the only good thing,The pool is ok not as big as thought tho but ok,The walk to the beach n shops is lovely about 10/15min walk max and that has all sorts including a decent size fair a huge arcade and great food at (The boathouse),The apartment wasn't cleaned properly so the mrs done it herself then went and complained not the best but ok for a short 4 night stay like ours loads to do off site but on site nothink

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

I am sorry to read of your disappointment and sorry that the park and facilities did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location for any length holiday. Lovely walk down to Dawlish Warren, and short drive from Dawlish town centre. Caravans are looked after nicely, and staff are friendly. Only concerns are that the pool is not open at convenient times, and the entertainment complex is too small for the amount of accommodation they provide.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore the local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Next year at the same price you paid for this year the maximum saving is 50% I have tried to rebook for the price I paid this year and have been refused despite speaking to four different departments. Very very frustrating!!!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I'll start by saying that we booked last minute so got a good price for 4 nights in a gold plus caravan with our dog. If I'd paid full price I would've been extremely disappointed. If our caravan was gold plus I would hate to have seen a bronze.
To be fair it was clean, but very basic and every shade of beige and brown. A side table was missing from the double bedroom and it had been left look like it had been ripped off. There was ripped wallpaper in one of the bedrooms and also in the main living area. On the upside there was heating throughout and constant hot water.
The pool was shut whilst there but we could use the pool at Dawlish Sand. That park looked lovely!
The children enjoyed the entertainment, the food was ok but expensive for what it was. The toilets in the club house were disgusting, unclean and smelly.
Whilst we enjoyed Devon and the area as a whole I won't be going back to Golden Sands.
Albeit the caravan park itself was clean and the staff polite.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank MrsDBangura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

I am very sorry to read that the park and accommodation did not meet your expectations. I am sure you can appreciate that in busy times the facilities can be very busy. I am sure that had you expressed you disappointment at Reception we could have resolved your issues or perhaps transferred your booking to Dawlish Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.8 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
4.8 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.8 km away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
0.7 km away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
22.8 km away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: ₹ 1,368 - ₹ 3,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands has all the facilities you would expect from a top quality holiday park and the atmosphere is also very friendly. We have a reputation for providing some of the best holiday park entertainment around - and you can enjoy top class shows on most nights - all in the price! In fact that's one of the main reasons so many people come back year after year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing