We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

I'll start by saying that we booked last minute so got a good price for 4 nights in a gold plus caravan with our dog. If I'd paid full price I would've been extremely disappointed. If our caravan was gold plus I would hate to have seen a bronze.
To be fair it was clean, but very basic and every shade of beige and brown. A side table was missing from the double bedroom and it had been left look like it had been ripped off. There was ripped wallpaper in one of the bedrooms and also in the main living area. On the upside there was heating throughout and constant hot water.
The pool was shut whilst there but we could use the pool at Dawlish Sand. That park looked lovely!
The children enjoyed the entertainment, the food was ok but expensive for what it was. The toilets in the club house were disgusting, unclean and smelly.
Whilst we enjoyed Devon and the area as a whole I won't be going back to Golden Sands.
Albeit the caravan park itself was clean and the staff polite.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank MrsDBangura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

I am very sorry to read that the park and accommodation did not meet your expectations. I am sure you can appreciate that in busy times the facilities can be very busy. I am sure that had you expressed you disappointment at Reception we could have resolved your issues or perhaps transferred your booking to Dawlish Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 303 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

For my first stay in Devon, it has not been pleasant. The caravan that me and my family stayed in was meant to be a silver plus.. But we found quite a few things wrong with the caravan and the service provided by the park itself. First off our caravan, one of the twin bedrooms had a shelf missing from between the beds, the nails had been left in the wall and only bent over slightly so they were still very sharp. As it was all adults staying in the caravan we obviously knew it was dangerous but if this was a child they could of seriously hurt themselves. Next are the windows, they neither open nor shut properly and are sometimes difficult to open. Next thing is that the plates we had in the cupboard where dirty and dusty. Also the fire alarm that was installed in the caravan was very nearly out of battery and this is going against fire safety. The steps leading out of the caravan are what I consider a little bit dangerous. They were quite angled and when wet, very slippery. The last thing I was not very happy about with the caravan was the microwave. I purchased a frozen ready meal and it was to be placed in the microwave for 12 minutes. My meal that should of taken 12 minutes ended up taking nearly 30-35 minutes. Even then it was still only warm and not suitable for eating.
On to the park itself. The first night that we came here we went to the club house for our meal. The first thing I noticed was that they only had one person taking meals at the bar as well as taking drinks orders and two people only taking drinks orders. There was a lot of people queuing to pay for their food and it was getting very busy. The next thing I noticed was that there were very few empty tables and the ones that were empty had dirty dishes and cutlery on them. We sat down at a table for 40 minutes before someone came along and cleared the table away. Next thing was that a family member went up and ordered our meals. We only had to wait about 10 minutes for our meals to arrive but whilst all my other family members received their meals, I did not. I waited for a further 15 minutes until a family member called someone over and asked where it was. This took another 5 minutes for the staff member to go and retrace our order. They came back and said that no order had been placed for the meal I had asked for. Though we distinctively remember ordering all of our meals. We went back and said that because of the loud music coming from the stage that is located right next to the dining area, the staff member taking the orders did not hear properly but also did not read the order back to make sure it was correct. The day that we went to the club house, it had been heavily raining. Whilst we were sat down we started to hear the sound of rushing water. We looked over to where the cutlery stand was which is located right next to the kitchen and saw that water was rushing down the wall and onto the floor. We continued to look at this water for 10 minutes and in that time about 6-7 members of staff looked at the situation and walked straight past it. It would of been a lot better if someone had put buckets down or a wet floor sign to notify people that the floor is slippery as a family member did nearly slip on the water.
Overall my stay at Golden Sands was not a good experience. Although many other people seem to enjoy it we may have just booked at a time where there wasn't as much staff as needed to complete all jobs as it seemed to me that this resort is unstaffed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank missbunny12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Sorry to read of your disappointment, and that your experience did not meet your expectations. I can only apologise that the staff did not provide their usual friendly and attentive customer service on this occasion. Your feedback will be taken on board and acted upon where possible but I am sorry that on the whole the park is not for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I've just got back from a 10 day stay at golden and once again it was amazing!! I've been coming down for 10 years and still love everything about it. The entertainers this year were again excellent, very talented and they always put 100% effort in to making sure everyone has a good holiday,they're amazing with the children and are always up for a laugh. This year the swimming pool has been updated and there is now free lockers for anyone to use,it looks so much better and the lifeguards were always very helpful and friendly. We were in a gold chalet, it was clean and had all the basic needs in it,there is now more than 1 mirror in the whole chalet which is an improvement. Gareth and Steve were very helpful and friendly,they were always there to fix any problems in the arcade. I feel that the receptionist could have been more welcoming and friendly, It's a shame the shop closes so early as in the past years it has been open till 8. Overall it has been another amazing holiday, I would like to thank Rusty,Frankie,Heather,Jed,Amy and Jack for keeping myself and my family entertained and I hope to see you all next year!xx

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Scullyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback, its great to read you had such a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on the park next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Loved the holiday.
The room we had was disgusting don't get me wrong.
Things were broken and when reported nothing was fixed, and ants everywhere.
The lifeguard Charlotte was incredible, and now a friend.
The staff were friendly.
Very big park.
Entertainment was incredible!!
Food was good. Not to expensive.
We loved the bingo.
And the kids club was great.
Sort the accommodation out and we'd be back in a shot!

Room Tip: Check room before paying!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank zoeandstu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear that the accommodation did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Absolutely terrible. First time we've booked with them. From start it was really bad. The key for the apartment wasn't ready(3.00pm), because they didn't finished cleaning it?? The receptionist didn't have a clue what time of booking we had. The bedding wasn't ready, we didn't get tickets for the shoes and worse of all, the mattresses were covered in wee marks???, Also one of them has been forced into fitting the room. We ask them to change them and they said they couldn't go to buy new ones. A total disaster. We ask to speak to a manager and there was no signs of one around. I hope Trip advisor won't carry on recommending this resort.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
4.8 km away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.8 km away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
745 reviews
0.3 km away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 km away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
904 reviews
21.9 km away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
886 reviews
0.7 km away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: ₹ 2,528 - ₹ 3,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands has all the facilities you would expect from a top quality holiday park and the atmosphere is also very friendly. We have a reputation for providing some of the best holiday park entertainment around - and you can enjoy top class shows on most nights - all in the price! In fact that's one of the main reasons so many people come back year after year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing