We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place but patchy food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plume of Feathers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plume of Feathers Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place but patchy food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stopped off here for the first time for an evening meal en route across Dartmoor. At first we were offered a table in the function room which was rather cold and slightly unpleasant smelling, but we were quickly able to find a nice table in the main bar close to a lovely warm stove.
Our food came quite promptly and appeared quite impressive, but in fact some dishes were slightly disappointing. The chips were undercooked rendering them inedible. With chips being such an important part of burger and chips, this was particularly disappointing. The fish pie was quite nice, though again could have done with longer in the oven as the top was pale rather than crispy and browned.
The pizza, homity pie, hunter's chicken and the burgers we had were all properly cooked and enjoyable.
We also had desserts which were really delicious. The creme brûlée was divine, and the accompanying shortbread were delicious. Likewise strawberry pavlova was very good.
I'm not sure I could recommend this pub for its food as there are too many reviewers here reporting just what we experienced, but it's a perfectly nice place to stop for a drink.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Omnibuswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    46
    32
    19
    25
See reviews for
57
49
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

They could give lessons in how to treat customers here. Attentive, friendly, helpful, you name it. It's one of the best pubs I've even been into for customer service. I've eaten here twice & had the ploughmans lunch on each occasions, simply because it's so good. £9:95 for a s superb put together plate of perfection. This is a dog friendly pub which has a seperate menu for our canine friends. A nice touch. The pub is clean & has no pretensions to be anything except what it is. Really worth a visit for the hospitality alone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delvard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stop off here often for a beer and a bar snack / meal. Beer always well kept, and reasonable price, food superb, with an extensive, varied menu. Full of atmosphere and olde worlde charm. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brixhamrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,632 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Can't speak for the food because I didn't eat there, but the menu on the wall looked definitely OK. The beer ("Jail Ale") and cider are great though, and the log fire is fabulous, especially, I would imagine, if you're an escaped prisoner who's been hiding out in the dense white fog of the Great Grimpen Mire.

(The original of the Great Grimpen's just south of Princetown, I believe, while the hotel where Conan Doyle stayed is now the Visitor Centre opposite the pub.)

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

What an enigma this place is. Four of us visited on a Friday night. The bar and beers were fantastic however the food side of things was very disappointing. Whilst the menu looks great, the majority of it on the large specials board it failed to deliver on quality. For starters, my risotto was undercooked. For main course I had one of the pies. Admittedly I was glad to see it was a proper pie with a top, sides and bottom (unlike ones where you get a stew mix with a puff pastry circle on top) but the pastry was raw in places, probably due to it being very uneven and the contents could have been cooked for longer - no excuses for serving hard ham hock.

When we'd finished our main course, we weren't sure about dessert however the waiting staff were very eager to take as much off the table as possible, including the place mats. We asked what one dessert was, and the waitress didn't know and so went to ask the chef. She came back with an excellent answer and was on her way. Two minutes later when we came to order desserts we were told that the kitchen was closed. Insult added to injury (well, lack of dessert) minutes later to see the chef stood at the bar with a drink.

This could have been great but the food side of the pub lets itself down by not really caring that much. The bar however is real ale heaven with 4+ different local ales on tap along with an excellent whisky selection.

Will I return again? Probably only for a drink.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
0.0 km away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.0 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.0 km away
Duchy House Guest House
Duchy House Guest House
#2 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Princetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 km away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Postbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 km away
Burrator Inn
Burrator Inn
#5 of 7 in Yelverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers Inn

Property: Plume of Feathers Inn
Address: Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Princetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing