We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday carvery”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princetown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plume of Feathers Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very disappointed, the overall service was very poor which is such a shame considering the beautiful location. We purchased the large carverys which consisted of a small amount of very bland meat and some of the vegetables had run out but were not being replenished. To cap it all the server came across as aggressive so you didn't feel inclined to ask for more.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

I never met such friendly accomodating bar staff! A really nice bunch of guys! This is a serious pub becuase they dont just sell Plymouth Gin, but they also stock Navy Strength as well which is rarely found... Five of us ate an evening meal as well and it was all good! Absolutely no complaints and a perfect stop for Moorland walks or similar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nice pin but in need or a refurb. Food good but now the head chef has left can it continue ?

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DartmoorCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had the misfortune to attend a family wedding reception on Sat. 23 June and can only say how absolutely awful the food was!! Just briefly the food was cold, the roast potatoes were not just cold but tasted as if they had been cooked the day before then warmed up,and the parsnips were like rubber!! On such a special day one can only feel sorry for the bride and groom also to the family who paid for the food.
The service was very slow because there were only two young girls to serve some 70 guests!!

This is a venue that no one present on SATURDAY will revisit!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dorathy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This weekend we were booked in for 2 evenings Friday & Saturday we were a large party as the wedding was being held there 14 people occupying 4 rooms booked by the bride, one room booked and confirmed in writing We had all arrived after long journeys, looking forward to have a long awaited rest. In my case i was amazed by the owner stating we were not booked in!! only for the Saturday evening and to contact the bride! They had no rooms booked for any of us and they could'nt help.

The groom found us a bed in a bunk house not far away we had no choice but to stay quiet as not to upset the bride.

I am disabled so it did'nt help the situation the owner did not show any remorse tried to pass on the blame. i will never stay again they will be lucky to continue in business with their current lack of of responsibility and they made no offer to put right the situation.

Room Tip: Check before hand to confirm the booking & have a back up plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
0.0 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,143 reviews
0.0 km away
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Princetown
107 reviews
0.0 km away
Duchy House Guest House
Duchy House Guest House
#3 of 6 in Princetown
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Chapel at The Oratory
The Chapel at The Oratory
#4 of 6 in Princetown
53 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers Inn

Address: Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Princetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing