We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An exquisite property in an idyllic location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeymoon Cottage

Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda W
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exquisite property in an idyllic location affording a truly wonderful break”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a delightful thatched cottage with an exceptional level of attention to detail, even down to the provision of peanuts so that we could feed the birds. The quality of the furnishings and provisions for our stay was five star.

Would strongly recommend a stay here for taste of luxury in an idyllic location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of attention to detail
Liked least: It rained one day
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily G
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolute haven from the turmoil of life! Couldn't recommend highly enough”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and could not have had a more delightful stay! We arrived feeling completely haggard from London living and were utterly refreshed upon leaving - it really was a transformational holiday and we can happily attest to it's all being down to Suzy and her wonderful cottage.

From start to finish Suzy was an absolute delight to deal with - friendly, full of great tips for the area and really professional. She also contacted us at the end of our stay to ask if there was anything that could have been improved upon. (There wasn't!)

The cottage is just charming right down to the friendly Bristol-ian decorator working on the cottage down the road. Every detail had been thought of right down to optional black out blinds in the bedroom drawers, "at the pub" door signs and very fluffy bathrobes and slippers.
The wood we were provided with allowed us to have 1 very long fire every day for the whole of our stay which was great. Nothing is scrimped on.

Be warned (and rejoice in the fact that) there is absolutely NO signal anywhere in the village and even in nearby towns - it was nigh on impossible to get a text or email. BLISS!!! :o)

There is a really lovely walk from the cottage through the woods along the river that takes you out on to the golf course at Bovey Castle - no more than 10/15mins gentle stroll door to door. The use of the Bovey Castle gym and pool facilities is great - because frankly you have to do SOMETHING to burn off the delicious scones that you're presented with on arrival.

We can highly recommend Bovey Castle, Topsham, Hound Tor, Wistmans Woods and Gidleigh Park. We've already decided we will be going back and cannot recommend Moorland View Cottage highly enough.

Go - you won't be disappointed!

Utterly Relaxed
April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia D
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“This must be one of the most romantic cottages in Devon, if not the UK”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Moorland View Cottage is heaven! Such a peaceful, romantic spot - wandered through the snowdrop filled woods over to Bovey Castle for a massage and swim using the very handy membership card, had an exhilarating walk up to the local Tor on Dartmoor bumping into a few Dartmoor ponies on the way. Great meal in the local pub. And the cottage itself... Pure luxury. So many little extras from the softest plumpest pillows ever, to the marshmallows ready to toast on the open fire. The perfect boutique cottage. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abf9061
1 review
“Perfect, idyllic getaway!!”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I took my girlfriend away for a romantic weekend, we had the most amazing time staying in Moorland View.

Situated in the heart of Dartmoor it really is a perfect way to escape reality!

The cottage is decorated to perfection, very cosy with a huge log fire.

We actually missed Moorland View when we left, an can't wait to go back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AgapeLove...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Mini-Moon!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We booked Moorland View Cottage for our mini-moon and are already planning to return!
The cottage is absolutely beautiful, every detail thought out and presented to a very high standard.
Most communication with Suzy was by email and she was very prompt which was great.
When we arrived at the cottage the heating was on and the lights were on dim which was so cosy and inviting. There was also a bottle of wine some olives and a card on the dining table. Such a lovely personal touch.
We cannot fault a thing. The slipper bath and log fire are amazing!
The welcome pack is a great help and the guest passes for Bovey Castle are a great bonus.
The local area is really quiet and so beautiful. A car is definitely needed to get around although the narrow country lanes are a challenge.
Moorland View is a luxury cottage with a home from home personal feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing