We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“English Cosy Luxury at its finest...”
other travellers have booked this property
Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brendondo...
Bristol, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“English Cosy Luxury at its finest...”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here for one weekend in May for my Wife's birthday. The place was absolutely fantastic. I whole heartedly agree with some of the other reviews where attention to detail and perfectionist are mentioned. The open fire, brass bath with luxurious toiletries, the sonos music system with Spotify, wonderfully comfortable bed, the kitchen with everything you could need and the great local produce were just some of the highlights. We were lucky with the weather for our weekend stay and within just a few minutes you can be walking in the middle of nowhere. One morning the locals moving the sheep up the street and another we had the sound of horses. Overall it was blissfully quiet and the pub only a 2 minute walk away. Suzy seems to have thought of every possible thing you could need and more.
In short whatever I write here cannot do this wonderful cottage justice. You just have to see for yourself! :)
We will be back as soon as we can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: None of it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyNomads
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven in Devon...”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Was going to leave quite a detailed review ranting and raving about how great this place is then thought it suffice to say, the place is SIMPLY AMAZING!!! You need to go and experience it for yourself. Think open fire, clotted cream, Devonshire bacon, idyllic garden, fluffy sheets, huge brass bath, lush toiletries, together with all the mod cons you could ever want (incredibly fast wifi!) The owner is clearly a perfectionist because she has thought about absolutely everything (thank you!) We were blessed with glorious sunshine but this place would be beautiful in any weather, we actually thought it would super cosy in the snow. We can't think of a single negative, except that we had to leave. We were so so impressed. We would have stayed longer but sadly the following week had already been booked so we continued our minimoon in a 5 star Relais & Chateaux hotel, which was no where near as gorgeous as Moorlandview cottage. We couldn't help comparing it and wishing we were still there. When we first booked we thought it was more on the pricey side but after staying there and seeing what was included, we knew that not only was worth every penny but actually great value. This is the perfect haven for a chilled honeymoon/romantic break but as it has 2 bedrooms it could also be used for a holiday with friends. We will definitely be back, hopefully on our anniversary.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea J
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spoil yourselves!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Quite simply gorgeous. Every room will make you squeal and the attention to detail is staggering. From Spotify on tap to mountain bikes to the epic visitors' guide and having your groceries unpacked. The villagers are lovely as are the wandering ponies. Go to the local pub and walk up a hill and buy your eggs from next door..... the yolks are almost red.

This is the perfect surprise treat if you're looking for quintessentially English cosy luxury. Even if you expect it after reading all the reviews it's still a delight when you arrive.

Thank you Suzy for posting my walking boots that I left by the front door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and reading where all the interiors and accessories were sourced. Great for copying ideas!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian J
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We were glad of the heavy snow that arrived the day before we were due to travel as it gave us the perfect excuse to hunker down in this gorgeous cottage and enjoy everything it had to offer.

It is beautifully decorated with faultless attention to detail and is easily one of the best cottage rentals that we have ever stayed in. The plethora of walks across the local countryside are fabulous and the Ring O'Bells pub a mere minute or two away serves good food.

Thank you Suzy for all your assistance with our queries and for sharing your gorgeous cottage. We very much hope to return...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'A BREATH OF FRESH AIR'”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Right from the moment we entered Dartmoor we knew we in for a treat. I would strongly recommend The B3212 Route VIA Moretonhampstead into North Bovey as it truly beautiful especially if you are the passenger. We have never stayed somewhere so secluded before and being city people we were a little nervous. We needn't have been.From The moment we arrived at this beautiful quintessential thatched roofed cottage we felt as though Suzy, the owner, was literally with us. The details and information provided at the cottage to help us during our stay couldn't have been more perfect with every aspect of our stay covered.
The cottage itself can only be described as someone's home rather than a holiday let. Suzy has a fabulous eye for both taste and detail. From the Global kitchen knives to the White Room bedding to the comfortable and tasteful furniture the aesthetics were faultless. We were at home within an hour. The cottage was sooo cosy and comfy. Every detail and need was catered for with even a selection of wellies and torches. We spent the evenings blissed out in front of the coal fire after long lazy days walking and driving through the stunning Moors and of course eating and drinking in delightful local pubs and cafes. We did take some of our own food and even our juicer and really enjoyed our home comforts being part of the stay.
Suzys walking guides are spot on and we had great fun following her directions through what can only be described as another world. We felt like kids again as we went exploring everyday, discovering an enchanting world of flora and fauna.
Our drive to Ashburton ,through the Moors, in the middle of the day, was breathtaking and so memorable. We even purchased a stunning Victorian glass chandelier from one of the many antique shops there.
During our 3 night stay we managed a day trip to the seaside where we had fish and chips by the sea.
It was extremely difficult to leave Moorland View Cottage and we shall definitely be returning. We have already marked dates in our diary for 2013.
The final icing on the cake was on our return to Nottingham, we were told by friends how fresh faced and awake we both looked. They were not aware that we had been away.
If you need a break or have been stressed or ill or just want to get away from the world, Moorland View Cottage is absolutely perfect.
Next time we are hoping to stay for a week. Many thanks to Suzy and her little team. The best 3 nights ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 224
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing