We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini moon”
Review of Bovey Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bovey Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Mini moon”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We got married in north Devon but booked a mini moon in bovey castle, when we arrived we were met and our car parked and unloaded. We were shown around by a lovely man called Ben, given a glass of champagne, Federico came and tracked us down, everything people say about him on trip advisor is very much true, he is the hotel! We were already being upgraded from a castle room to a superior castle room but Federico arranged another upgrade for us and the room was amazing!! We can highly reccomend room 49, it was stunning.

On the Friday we had treatments booked at the spa, these were amazing so worth the money I have never felt so relaxed. The food is delicious we ate in both the Edwardian and The Bistro and the cream tea was Devine. All in all we were made to feel like royalty and would like to thank Federico and all the staff for that, you all made our mini moon even more special, can't wait to come back to celebrate our anniversary. Xxxx

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    447
    207
    109
    47
See reviews for
568
1,130
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this week for 2 nights and won't be going back! Service was friendly enough but the staff just haven't got a clue I'm afraid. We ate here 3 times and not once did we get exactly what we ordered. Breakfasts were limited and distinctly average. The twin room was small and in need of a refurbishment. No air conditioning either so pretty unpleasantly warm at night (it was 26c).
And it's not cheap either - wow! Much better value for money elsewhere and my advice would be to look for other options.
The golf course was in decent condition.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Rorski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Wonderful nights stay with a delicious dinner in the Edwardian. The Hotel Manager Federico went out of his way to help and make our experience at Bovey memorable. The room exceeded our expectations and our 17month son was welcomed with open arms - very child friendly and with the baby listening service you can still get some adult time over dinner! Wonderful! Next time we're going to try a lodge!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayja10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

From the first contact by phone to reception at Bovey Castle to get information on the Lodges and speaking to Donna,my booking was made so easy and the information on the fascilities in the lodges turned out to be exactly as described when we did arrive.
We had a 3 bed lodge all en-suite ,my wife and i had the master bedroom large and beautifull views with en-suite with bath and seperate shower,also a walk-in wardrobe.Our 2 sons and partner had the other 2 spacious bedrooms.In our lodge the entry was on the 1st floor into a really amazing open plan kitchen with every mod con and immaculate,a dining area with access to the outside balcony with full decking,table and chairs and a great bar-b-q.and what a view,! back inside there is beautifull ceiling high stone chimney with log effect gas fire,at the far end of the open area is the lounge large LCD TV,great docking station,and WI-FI ACESS.good seating,great paintings very cosy with the fire,great to really relax and chill out.
We needed easy acess and the least effort for my wife who is recovering after an illness,Donna reccomended this lodge she was so right !.
We like the option of the Lodge to take our own pace but with the option of the amazing Hotels enviroment and fascilities,from the Oak Room fantastic fine dineing,Bistro for great food especially for families.But NOT TO BE MISSED "AFTERNOON TEA"had afternoon tea Penninsular Hong Kong,Ritz London,and many rated houses and hotels but This is the Real Deal !!
Here we are in a place ooozing class from the welcome at the main entrance greeted by sharp,smart men in Tweeds and plus fours,great.Simple check in then into your golf buggy and off to your lodge.
I now want to mention a person that is under the radar,but as you move around the hotel and its fascilities you see him everywhere,tweaking things giveing time to the clients always ready to try and accomadte guests wishes,nothing seems to phase him ,no wonder Bovey Castle is up there at the TOP great leader with great staff.Meet Mr Federico Aresti .Hotel Manager.

Room Tip: We had a lodge speak to receiption when booking tell them your requirements and they(Donna) will gui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Bovey Castle and the surrounding Darmoor Park are an hidden gem in England. The castle and the grounds are lovely. There is something for everyone from golf, fishing and walking trails to the interesing falcon show each morning. Exploring the park is a beautiful way to spend a long weekend or peacefulpart of an exploration of the English countryside. Encounters with the wild ponies is unforgettable! The local pub is charming and the locals are warm, welcoming and full of great stories.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinponds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bovey
6.5 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
32.9 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
27.3 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
25.2 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
497 reviews
9.7 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bovey Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bovey Castle Hotel

Property: Bovey Castle Hotel
Address: North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > North Bovey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Bovey
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,577 - ₹ 51,855
Hotel Class:5 star — Bovey Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within its own private estate on the dramatically-beautiful Dartmoor National Park, Bovey Castle is a five-star country house hotel and an unrivalled destination for a luxurious rural retreat. Built at the turn of the century, Bovey Castle has remained loyal to the subtle vision of grandeur upon which it was founded, and the understated-elegance of this bygone era continues to echo throughout the hotel. Within the 275-acre estate sits the 64 bedroom hotel and 22 granite lodges, both offering luxurious accommodation for family breaks, activity holidays, romantic escapes or corporate and incentive team building. The championship 18-hole golf course surrounds the historic manor house, while the estate lends itself perfectly to Bovey Castle's extensive selection of on-site resort activities. Immerse yourself in the luxuriously-appointed décor and outstanding service, relax in the holistic spa and indulge your taste buds with decadent food and fabulous wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bovey Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bovey Castle North
Hotel Bovey Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing