We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond The verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond
The verandah
The living room
The kitchen area
The bedroom
King sized bed
The bathroom
Free logs stacked nearby
View of the farm from King Tor
View from the cottage
View from the cottage
Enjoying the River Dart
The farm in the snow
King Tor from the farm
The duck pond
The hens!
The lane to the moor, abundant wildflowers
The farmhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ade12347
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just got back from a lovely stay at STABLE COTTAGE (despite the weather} We arrived over two hours early but were made very welcome by James and Jake the dog,we were offered the use of the loo and the kettle while cleaning was being finished.This is a delightful cottage with entertainment from the ducks ducklings geese dogs and lots more,Both Susie and James are very nice and obliging owners,nothing too much trouble.Although it is June it was cold but with the log fire and as many logs as you can eat we were very very cosy.If you Love peace and Quiet and animals you wil love this place. Very reasonably priced and good value for money.Nearly forgot Best bed and Duvet we have ever slept in/on couldnt wait to go to bed at night

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MerrilyMe
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We've now stayed at Stable Cottage for 5 weeks in total, going back this time for 2 weeks because our children just couldn't bear to only be there for one week. Lower Hookner Farm is just perfect, an idyllic slice of life in a magical corner of Dartmoor. The owners are incredibly welcoming and make us feel like family and help out with any little thing we need or might want. Our children can run about on the farm and in the garden, play with the dogs, feed the ducks, stroke the pony and generally experience a side of life they can't at home. The cottage is small but perfect and has everything it needs and I ache for a woodburning stove at home now :) Locally there are shops, walks, laundrette and anything you need within a 15 minute or so drive and the peace and quiet is just wonderful. Somehow Susie and James find the perfect balance between being friendly and utterly discreet so that the peace and privacy of the cottage is just ideal.There is honestly nothing that could be better about it. In fact, after 5 weeks there in 2 years, I hesitantly suggested to my children we should visit another part of the country and they looked at me as if I had gone mad! I think we'll be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I love the atmosphere of the farm and the simplicity and chomely comfort of the cottage.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquility and Relaxation”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed in Stable Cottage, at various times of the year. Due to the amazingly warm weather, we did not need to fire up the log burner which, in a way, was a shame. (All logs and kindling suopplied). The cottage was clean and well prepared with a welcome pack of food basics, as usual. We self-catered most days and had the night storage heaters on low for the chilly evenings but still only managed to put about a fiver in coins in the meter for the week! The cottage is comfortable and warm, the water piping hot for a relaxing bath after a day's hard hiking!
James and Susie were friendly and attentive and helped us out with internet access and advice.
The situation of the cottage is peerless - at the dead end of a tiny lane with footpath access to the moors and footpaths. The pond in the garden provides and endless vaudeville act with the resident ducks, geese and chickens, superb!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the log burner!
Liked least: Possibly the cold stone floor in the bathroom, but we're scratching here!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarinRalf...
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die Lage der Unterkunft im Moor
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing