We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
23
5
4
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
5
4
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit shepherds huts the owner hot water utility room tucked away stayed for nights on site running water small campsite plenty of space pitches stream tents facilities group fridge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Fab place to stay, clean friendly place, only issue 1 issue toilet bit far, otherwise beautiful camp site, small stream, firepits are provided, with them selling kiddle and fire wood handy for those close family moments

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank vixaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Shame the chavs came as we were leaving as Henrietta and Henry rather got up my nose however the site itself was lovely with easy access to Dartmoor and a 10 minute drive to Buckfastleigh for provisions. We like to do our short breaks under canvas near to home to keep the £££ local but chatging per pitch would be better and having a bar on site....we'd spend what we saved+++ on site.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank 734Rory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I don’t normally do a bad review but we Found this site very hard to get to no signs drive around for 30 mins then realise we passed it , when we arrived we found the concealed entrance Very very poor to get to roads very bad.
we were blocked by a 4x4 the lady came over and we asked if we were in the right place she said follow me she drove over a stream but the front of our car hit the rocks we couldn’t get over the stream it would of been a good idea for the website to fore warn people about this .
we had to reverse up the hill and carry all our belongings over the stream which was fine,
The hut was ok but the bed had a bad damp smell to all the bedding, luckily I brought my own so we changed them no Towels are included like it states ! The shower block consists of one toilet and one shower for the ladies and the same for the men the site had 7 men and 3 women while we were there so wasn’t to bad ! But if it’s busy I can’t imagine how it would cope ?
Lights rang out of battery so we went to swap leads over to the second battery but it was flat so we had to manage as they is no one to speak to/ any signs or notices anywhere ! We came back one day from a walk to Find out hut door had been opened ? Nothing was missing but someone had been in ! A bit more information/ leaflets about the area and which way to go would be great as phone signals are bad , all in all was a quiet peaceful weekend . Very dark on a night no lights anywhere ! Take plenty torches.
Advisory be careful stepping over the rocks on the stream to get to the toilets at night I slipped and fell into the steam luckily only a small bruise and a few aches!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shazbabe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Off the beaten track and a really lovely campsite. It has all the amenities you want in a delightful setting. Libby, who we've always dealt with, is very pleasant and helpful and not remotely pushy with regards to arriving and leaving times.
We did the Shepherds Huts last year, they are basic but very serviceable, and this year chose to go under canvas, either we had a really good time.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel and Trip Advisor has the wrong questions
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

What a fabulous campsite. The huts looked great, though we were camping. It is part of a farm in a tiny hamlet/village. It spreads over various levels among trees and a stream so no where feels crowded in this small campsite (17 pitches). We used the fire-pit each night and the kids played in the stream and on the rope swing. The family owners were so kind and helpful, and the facilities (showers etc) were great. Will definitely use this as a base to expire the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews