We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveller rating
612
334
133
70
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
612
334
133
70
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubindoor poolwoodland lodgehorse ridingon sitethe kitchenvip platinumfarm shopvip lodgehigh ropeschanging roomstennis courtsbar and restaurantwashing machinebuilding workretreat restaurantfishing lake
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked our stay through Blue Chip Holidays. I have to say that the Lodge and Park were wonderful, just as we had expected. However we were very disappointed that the Pool / Gym facilities were not included in the price, as we had been led to believe when we booked this property. Please be aware that if you book a privately owned lodge you will not be entitled to free use of the facilities, and they are not cheap. This ruined our trip, as with young children, this was our main reason for choosing this site.

Room Tip: Do not book a privately owned lodge.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jpx23494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are glad you were pleased with the park.
Complimentary access to the leisure facilities is included when booking directly with Haulfryn or our booking partner Hoseasons.
We hope you had the opportunitiy to explore the park and maje use of other facilities on the site outside of the pools.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Finlake resort. The cabin we stayed in was clean and reasonably equipped - with the exception of a bottle opener or tin opener!

The new pool facilities are great - not a day passed without my daughter wanting to go for a swim and then she’d resist all encouragement to get out again! Wife and I also enjoyed the gym, which has a good selection of modern equipment.

Gripes: the café/shop is poorly staffed. We went there to find half-unpacked items on the floor on their way to shelves - literally in half a dozen places around the shop. This might be okay if the staff were actively unpacking - but they weren’t - they were just sitting around chatting for the 45 minutes we were there. Furthermore - the garbage bin outside the café was overflowing - again being ignored by the staff! This was the afternoon of 2nd June if management want to track down the lazy staff in question!!

We ate at the restaurant once. It had a similar menu to previous hoseasons places we have stayed. Not bad - the steak was well cooked and tender, my wife’s fajitas enjoyable and my daughters fish and chips were consumed swiftly! While decent - they could improve the restaurant with more vegetable options - everything is a bit chip heavy!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank 609edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and specific feedback, it is extremely useful in being able to improve both our service and offering.
It's great hear your daughter was a fan of Finlake Falls, we had anticipated our younger guests just may not want to leave, so we included the Splash Cafe poolside for parents to grab a drink or bite to eat.
We can offer healthier alternatives to chips in the restaurant , hopefully there will be a second visit for you to try these out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Last stayed here a couple of years ago and loved it. This time we feel disappointed. Staying in a wood tree house and the fixtures and fittings are tired and poor quality. Hot tub is nice but wakes us up through the night as it starts up on it's own. It hasn't been maintained everyday. Shop on site lacking many items. Went to bar/ restaurant area once but it's very small for the size of the site. New swimming pool nice. Won't be returning as other hoeseasons accommodations are far superior and cheaper.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank UnhappyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your review, It's shame to hear you favoured the accommodation on your first stay with us. We have a wide range of different accommodation to chose from that range both in price and internal decor and design.
With the new leisure complex complete, we are currently building a new spa, once this is finished we start works on expanding our food and beverage offering. If you follow us on Facebook you'll be able to keep up to date with our exciting developments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Sports centre is amazing. Site is maintained to high standard. Lodge was pretty new but basic maintenance was missed. Boiler tripped out 4 times each day and although reported twice to reception nothing was done. We love the park but we need problems to be sorted before we leave.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ToucheTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed Finlake Falls, our new leisure complex. Sorry to hear you had a problem with your boiler, this feedback has been raised with our reception and maintenance team.
We hope to welcome you back to Finlake in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

The customer service and the general approach to maintaining the image of the property is not where you would expect them to be. I have booked a certain property well in advance. There were features of the property that prompted us to book it in favour to alternatives. On the day that my family was supposed to travel to the place I received a call from the Reception saying that the property that I booked is unavailable and they were going to offer us a different one (which did not have the set of facilities that we expected). As we were already on the way it was too late to cancel our booking and we had to accept what was on offer. I find such approach inconsiderate and a little disrespectful of your clients. The word "unreliable" springs to mind ahead of any other. Besides, there was not even a mentioning of any compensation.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaulfrynGroup, Manager at Haulfryn Finlake, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your feedback, On rare occasions unforseen maintenance issues occur that cannot be rectified in time for a customers arrival, namely when we require parts to rectify the problem. We appreciate that this would of caused you dispppointment and can only apologise for this. We felt it better to let you know of the change of accommodation as soon as we did and ahead of you arriving to the park.
We hope that you enjoyed the park, made use of the facilities and had the opportunity to explore the local area throughout your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews