We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star B&B - beautifully located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 15 Chagford B&B and Inns
Dorset, UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A five star B&B - beautifully located”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Parford Well, named after an old village well situated at the front of the property, is simply one of the best, if not the best B&B that my wife and I have ever stayed in. Like many apparently, we stayed there in order to dine at the nearby (5 miles) 2* Michelin rated Gidleigh Park though at a fraction of the cost of an overnight stay at Gidleigh but with I am sure just as much attention and professionalism. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Tim the owner, who helped us with the luggage and provided us with tea and cake in the garden. We stayed in Bedroom 2 which of the three bedrooms was the only one without en-suite facilities although we did have a private and sizeable bathroom across the landing. The bedroom was reasonably sized and had every facility and comfort except for a television which didn’t concern us in the least, as a television is available, if required, in the very comfortable guest lounge.

Breakfast is simply wonderful, three courses if you can manage it and lashings of toast together with Tim’s freshly cooked and locally sourced grill. Everything is immaculately clean and the décor is very tasteful. It came as no surprise to us to learn that Tim previously owned a small high quality hotel in London, his professionalism and personal attention to detail shone through without, as others have pointed out, him being overbearing. Tim knows all the best local walks and also can guide you towards the best places to eat as well. The local pub was very good. We were blessed with good weather and so were able to take full advantage of Tim’s splendid garden with views of Dartmoor in the distance. We would highly recommend Parford Well and hope to return.

Room Tip: Bedrooms 1 & 3 en suite, bedroom 2 with private bathroom across landing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
68
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I stayed for two nights on my way back from a week with my children and grandchildren, wanting to avoid the bank holiday traffic. I am so pleased to have found this lovely haven of peace and tranquility and hope to return.
The house has a feeling of great comfort with lovely art work everywhere and beautiful views from the windows of this glorious part of Dartmoor.
Everything about it was tip top - thank you Tim for sharing your lovely home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

From the moment we arrived Tim was a delightful host that pulled out all of the stops to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Tea and coffee cake was a delicious treat to start our break with. The whole place is immaculate and homely and the beds are so comfy you will want to sleep for hours.

The breakfast is something you would expect from a top end hotel with fresh produce and little finishing touches that top it all off.

A visit is a must and is the perfect place to relax. We will definitely be back again and recommend to our friends and family. 10/10- thank you Tim!

The location is perfect with some lovely walks and a local pub nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Very friendly welcome by Tim ,felt at home .
The hotel is relaxing ,rooms are very well done up.
The garden is charming
Breakfast is very good .
Every small detail is well taken care off.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaveeRm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I have stayed at this delightful bed and breakfast over a number of years. Each of the rooms are well appointed and of an impeccably high standard of cleanliness.

Tim the proprietor greets his guests personally and with great charm.

Bedrooms do not have televisions, however I think this is a positive thing in that unlike a number of other establishments, you will not be disturbed by other guests noise.

In autumn and winter months the lounge is warm and welcoming especially with the open log fire and has a television and views over delightful gardens.

Should an English breakfast be your thing, the local produce is first-class.

The Sandy Park pub is within walking distance (sufficiently remote not to cause any disturbance) and serves very good real ale should this be your thing.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
0.5 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
494 reviews
3.7 km away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
5.6 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 km away
Easton Court
Easton Court
#10 of 15 in Chagford
153 reviews
3.7 km away
Higher Weddicott Farm
Higher Weddicott Farm
#1 of 15 in Chagford
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parford Well Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parford Well Bed & Breakfast

Property: Parford Well Bed & Breakfast
Address: Parford Well Parford Well | Sandy Park, Nr Chagford, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Chagford
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,462 - ₹ 6,722
Hotel Class:5 star — Parford Well Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Parford Well Bed & Breakfast Chagford, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing