We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Gidleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gidleigh Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Unfortunately we only had one night here but it was amazing. We arrived by motorcycle in pouring rain and to say we were soggy is an understatement. The staff were charming, showed us to our room (we'd been upgraded to one with garden view and balcony) and came back for our soaking wet jackets, trousers, boots and gloves - to take them to the boiler room to dry off. There was only a short break in the rain for us to explore the grounds - the gardens are immaculate and the setting is gorgeous. Our room was lovely and the bathroom very well set out. The bed was exceedingly comfortable.

Dinner was amazing (see separate restaurant review), the service was very good without being intrusive and the staff knowledgeable. As mentioned in other reviews the attention to detail is impressive - my allergy to fungi (including truffles) being fully catered for. Breakfast next morning was also really good. My husband thought the Full English one of the best he'd had, my smoked salmon and scrambled egg was just right, the croissants were to die for.

I nearly had a heart attack when I saw the final bill but it was definitely worth it. I don't often give 5 stars but I'd just say - if you can afford it then stay in this fabulous place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    105
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
109
789
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brackley
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I'd read the reviews of Gidleigh and was impressed but my main reason for booking was what I knew about Michael Cains and his restaurant. I booked the gourmet break and was stunned by the overall impact of the hotel. The accommodation is comfortable (not stuffy) and feels like home and our room was fabulous. The staff are friendly, efficient and fun. The food is spectacular.

What makes it different? I'm allergic to mussels, which was noted. Every time a menu was presented to me it had been adjusted to accommodate my allergy. Where an adjustment was unavailable I was told without having to ask. There are very few places that will go to that effort, and I've been to a lot that haven't. On top of that I had organised the weekend as a birthday gift for my partner and with our coffees at the end of dinner a discrete birthday wish iced on chocolate arrived with the petit fours. Very well done!

I can't imagine coming to this part of the world again and staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry about which room you are in - we were in one of the cheaper ones and it was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephHitH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

An outstanding hotel set in a beautfiul and tranquil part of England. The garden room was very comfortable and luxurious. The service in the hotel and restaurant is quite exceptional. A great deal of attention to detail and nothing is too much trouble. The food was lovely and very well presented. The wine list is fantastic and so was the selection of cheese.
Gidleigh Park exceeded it's reputation on every level. The grounds are wonderful especially the water garden.
Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Overnight treat was absolutely delightful. The quality of the food matched the fantastic service and surroundings. The walk through the Blue Bell wood after breakfast finished the trip off perfectly. We are already making plans to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monty075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Gidleigh Park is located in a beautiful tucked away corner of Devon, with a river tumbling through the grounds, coming down from nearby Dartmoor
The hotel is well known for it's food, but nothing could have prepared us for the quality of food and service, especially the taste of food and it's presentation. Absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
6.5 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,264 reviews
33.2 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
31.6 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
495 reviews
21.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
24.3 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park

Property: Gidleigh Park
Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,297 - ₹ 44,369
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. Famed for its culinary credentials, Gidleigh Park offers an air of tranquillity and romance within a Tudor-style country house, beautifully furnished by the Brownsword family and set within 107 acres of mature grounds. Adding to the five-star experience, the bedrooms at Gidleigh Park are of exceptional luxury. All individual in style and design, they feature the most stunning bathrooms, wet rooms and spa suites that inspire a true sense of indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Gidleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford, United Kingdom
Hotel Gidleigh Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing