We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely 48 hours”
Review of Gidleigh Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gidleigh Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We treated ourselves to a short break at Gidleigh Park and had the most amazingly relaxed time enjoying the gardens and local walks capped off by what can only be described as one of the best dinners ever experienced. The presentation and quality of taste and cooking far surpassed other similar Michelin star rated establishments and the quality of service, both around the hotel and in the restaurant will take some beating. The whole ambience of the building, gardens and surrounding countryside guarantees, in our view, a thoroughly enjoyable experience and a return visit soon.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the gardens are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

970 - 974 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

we were with friends to celebrate a birthday - what a treat - our room was beautifully presented with the most comfortable bed overlooking the river which was in full flow due to excessive April rain, what a view- just wish we could have explored the grounds more especially the kitchen garden. The food was great we had the eight course meal with a 'flight' of wines. I just wish we had booked an earlier table as we were still enjoying the food at quite a late hour! Staff were fantastic very friendly and helpful. If you are thinking of going to Le Manoir - try this instead we thought it was far better and worth the extra drive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

There isn't much that can be said about this hotel that hasn't already been said. The staff are excellent, the rooms are very stylish and comfortable and the food............fantastic. Set in acres of glorious Devon countryside it is truly a place to switch off and relax.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteyningSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

recently stayed at Gidleigh courtesy of our children. Our room was upgraded to a lovely room overlooking the fields and river. Fantastic! The food as ever was stunning. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Only complaint was they forgot our morning tea. This however did not detract from a wonderful stay. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the fields are better but do cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douglasCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My huband and I have wanted to try Gidleigh for a while. We stayed in the Dartmeet Suite - a stylish and very spacious room, really great to just kick back and relax and complete with own sauna and steam room. We ate in the Michelin Starred restaurant and weren't disappointed. Both of us indulged in the eight course signature menu. Every course was a feast for the eyes and tasted sublime.I was especially impressed that my menu had been carefully tailored to meet my dietary requirements. It's that attention to detail that makes it something really special. Most importantly the staff were charming, accomodating and knowledgeable wihout being over-bearing. Set in beautfiul grounds to explore, a truly wonderful place to stay. Save your pennies and go there if you can.

Room Tip: There are only 24 room and the website has plenty of information to choose the one that's right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiO18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
6.5 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,462 reviews
33.2 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
21.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 km away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
353 reviews
31.6 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#8 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
3.8 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gidleigh Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gidleigh Park

Address: Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price Range: ₹ 20,948 - ₹ 34,973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gidleigh Park 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set majestically on the bubbling upper reaches of the River Teign, Gidleigh Park enjoys an exquisite location on the very edge of Dartmoor National Park. Famed for its culinary credentials, Gidleigh Park offers an air of tranquillity and romance within a Tudor-style country house, beautifully furnished by the Brownsword family and set within 107 acres of mature grounds. Adding to the five-star experience, the bedrooms at Gidleigh Park are of exceptional luxury. All individual in style and design, they feature the most stunning bathrooms, wet rooms and spa suites that inspire a true sense of indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gidleigh Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gidleigh Park Chagford, United Kingdom
Hotel Gidleigh Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing