We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worth a visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill End Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill End Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed in the Dart room, triple aspect with a private balcony, absolutely spotless as was the bathroom. All public areas were freshly painted and furnished with an eclectic mix of old an new. Evening meal was fab. service was spot on and ambience chilled. Great nights sleep and only gripe would be the sausages at breakfast which we and another table thought were 'off', waitress said she would speak to the chef but we never heard back. £220 DBB, but baring in mind the evening meal was priced at £48 pp not a bad deal. Would definitely go back. Grounds stunning.

Room Tip: Spend the bit extra and go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinalort63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. We were delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us (and that you enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant).

I am sorry that the sausages at breakfast weren't up to scratch. I would like to reassure you that your comments were investigated at the time, and whilst the sausages were not "off", they did have a stronger flavour than our usual breakfast sausage. It transpired that our local supplier had substituted an alternative sausage on this occasion, and this situation was immediately rectified with a return to our usual, delicious (and much milder flavoured) breakfast sausage.

We were pleased that you enjoyed exploring the grounds here at Mill End. The gardens are looking particularly lovelt at the moment, with the on-set of Spring!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    103
    21
    15
    9
See reviews for
48
296
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked for three nights,but soon realised this was not going to be long enough to enjoy the comforts of this splendid hotel situated in a lovely Devon location.Welcomed by Mike and Sue,we immediately felt "at home".All members of staff were very pleasant,and excelled at ensuring we had a enjoyable stay.We decided to stay another two nights,a very easy decision to make!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigcatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The fact that you decided to stay longer than planned is the best possible endorsement!

On behalf of the whole team here at Mill End, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel and Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Took the Significant Other here for her birthday a few weeks ago.
Superb.
It sits in the middle of the countryside, a couple of miles from Chagford.
Nice long gravel drive to reach the house, so you immediately have a feeling of seclusion.
There is something incredibly welcoming about the whole place, be it the entrance hall and reception, the dining room or the various lounges.
Very pleasant staff who are genuinely interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible.
Upstairs there is something of a 1930's feel to the place with "hidden" corridors, and it would be a great venue for a murder mystery weekend.
They have a large "variety" of rooms: balconies; ground-floor garden rooms; suites.
I would say that we both preferred the food here to that at Gidleigh Prak, though it was close.
My companion is an extremely messy eater, but they didn't bat an eyelid at the detritus she left behind.
Also has beautiful grounds with some eccentric sculptures, a farm area, complete with pigs, and a lovely garden bulit around the river Teign as it meanders through.
Chagford Show is held in the meadow opposite in August.
Very relaxing just slouching in the lounge after a hard day's cider drinking!
This hotel is ideal for any time of year.
Even has a large dog (Rhodesian Ridgeback) in residence, and guests' dogs are welcome too!
Give it a whirl.

Room Tip: Such a huge variety, the best advice is to try them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BPB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
On behalf of everyone here at Mill End, thank you for such a glowing review!

We were delighted to read your comments about the hotel, the food you experienced in our restaurant, and the service you received from the team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have made several visits to Mill End over the years and have always had a pleasant experience. This time the stay was as enjoyable as ever. It has a very calm and relaxing atmosphere, the lounge is very welcoming and the food was excellent. Lots of decorating has been done and during our stay the outside was being painted. This caused no problem to us whatsoever. Our room was very bright, large and airy and it was kept scrupulously clean. I can recommend this charming hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our four day break in the beautiful Devon countryside.

Room Tip: Our favourite room is West Oakment
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggieofbirches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your latest visit, and hope to see you at Mill End again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stay here on 11/2/12 Saturday. We have been here previously. Previous good experience brought us back here. On this occasion, we have slight concern with the day time receptionist on 2 issues: she quoted us the wrong rate (£260 instead of the advertised £220 for DBB Junior Suite) and she insisted we pay this upfront with a slightly unprofessional approach. We stay in hotels a lot and definitely did not feel comfortable with the way she deals with customers. But, with the great, friendly staff at night and the good food, this is now totally forgotten.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MySimpleAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilEndHotel, Managing Director at Mill End Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Many thanks for your review following your recent return visit, and for giving Mill End such a positive overall score.

I was concerned to read your comments regarding the welcome you received at Reception. We know that first impressions are so important, and I am very sorry if we didn't live up to our usual high standards on this occasion. As with most hotels, we do normally take a credit card on arrival unless a deposit has been pre-paid, but it does appear that we didn't communicate this very well on this occasion. Your feedback is much appreciated, and will be used in further improving our customer care.

I am delighted, however, that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable, and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Coombes
Managing Director
Mill End Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chagford
3.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
25.6 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
5.2 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
5.2 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.4 km away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill End Hotel

Property: Mill End Hotel
Address: Dartmoor National Park, Chagford, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Chagford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chagford
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,690 - ₹ 25,232
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Dartmoor. Immerse yourself in the wild glory of Devon’s own Dartmoor National Park, whilst soaking up the hospitality, comfort and warmth on which Mill End prides itself.Mill End is a Dartmoor hotel nestling in a river valley just outside the ancient moorland stannary town of Chagford. Your perfect country house hotel for a break on Dartmoor, surrounded by miles of walking, fishing and breathtaking scenery. And Mill End is dog-friendly too. After a day on the moors, you’ll find a warm welcome back at Mill End. Enjoy a taste of Dartmoor in the hotel's award-winning hotel restaurant. And let the pressures of the outside world fade to a distant memory as you relax in front of an open fire. Mill End has fifteen individually-styled bedrooms, ranging from cosy Standard Doubles, to extremely sumptuous Junior Suites and the two-room Teign Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mill End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill End Hotel Chagford, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing