We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very relaxing short break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seabird Cottage

The harbour is 3 minutes walk away!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The harbour is 3 minutes walk away!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
83 reviews
The harbour is 3 minutes walk away!
Everything you need
2 minute walk to harbour
A favourite Brixham pastime
Golden Hind just down the road
Fantastic fish
Chance for a quiet read
Great outdoor space
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brixham, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gillian L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A very relaxing short break”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Seabird cottage for 3 nights last week and loved it! A very well appointed traditional fisherman's cottage, with bags of character. The cottage was very comfortable, very well appointed with everything you could need, and location was super! Not great for anyone that would struggle with stairs but if you are able, it's a perfect spot!
The back garden/terrace was a real little suntrap and the decor throughout had lots of lovely touches, making it very homely. Wish we'd had another couple of days to relax.

One small thing to note - there's no WIFI - which is fine, however we did struggle with our 4G/3G signal in the house (just down to it being a traditional building). So if you think you'd need internet access for planning etc, be mindful of this. Not a show stopper though!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thankyou for your review, We are glad you enjoyed our cottage. We actually like the fact that there is no WIFI it gives us chance to relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This place is amazing”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The perfect place to stay close to everything you would ever need. Perfect weekend away and we will 100%be booking again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thanyou very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie S
1 review
“Homely cottage in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We instantly felt at home in Seabird cottage. A beautiful little place in the heart of Brixham, close to the shops and restaurants. Plus it has a lovely outside space for sunny days. The owner was very professional and helpful, and kindly posted my bag back to me after I accidentally left it behind, oops!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thankyou for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed Brixham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith F
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a fantastic find. Perfect cottage, much more spacious than expected, very clean and well equipped.
Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No immediate parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thankyou very much, we are glad you enjoyed our cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly our trip was cancelled by new owners as they changed pet policy on property!”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

After booking this lovely looking holiday cottage in April 2015 for the October half term we were advised in September that the property was taken over by new owners. On speaking with the new owners they cancelled our holiday as we have 2 small dogs and they did not want them in the property (They were welcomed by the previous owner when we booked) The new owners had taken over the property some time before we were made aware of this and should have taken note of who was due to stay at the property. I only mentioned the dogs as I felt I was filling him in on the details of who was coming to stay. Had I not mentioned them what would have happened on arrival? While I can accept not everyone likes dogs and it is their property now I felt it would have been good customer service to proceed with a confirmed booking.
Unfortunately due to the late notice of the cancellation we were unable to find an alternative and other than a refund we were offered no assistance by the new owners. We felt very disappointed in the lack of customer service. I am in no doubt that the property was let out and the owners didn't even lose out on a rental! We would have loved to have stayed and left a review on our experience of the property but we were not given that opportunity. Instead I am leaving a review on the poor customer service. I hope that this review can be left.

Liked least: The fact that it got cancelled due to no fault of ours!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review but as this booking was privately taken by the previous owners, not through Holiday Lettings we had no information as to who was actually booking the cottage. Sadly people had taken dogs down and abused the letting requirements by allowing them into the bedrooms leaving stains on the carpets which is ruining the property for other holiday makers. This is our own little family cottage which we wish to keep to a high standard for ourselves and others to enjoy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing