We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,069)
Filter reviews
2,069 results
Traveller rating
1,092
541
234
130
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,092
541
234
130
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace loungesea facing roomsand dunesstunning locationmain restaurantfamily suiteindoor poollovely hotelshort breakbrend hotelsnorth devonsconescream teatable tennisrelaxing breakbrend groupgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1,940 - 1,945 of 2,069 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2011

A four night stay with my partner in this beautiful part of the Devon coastline. However.... the hotel seems to be trading on its past glory and location and is now becoming shabby and unclean. Warnings of Norovirus posted around the hotel are, I think, more a reflection of the lack of hygiene and cleanliness in the hotel than an indication of a more general rise in the incidence of the disease.

More specifically, the bathroom attached to our room should haver been refurbished ten years ago. There was mildew growing on the tiles and there were soapy marks on the tiles indicating that they had no been cleaned certainly since the previous occupant but I suspect a lot longer. The shower curtain was also grubby with a greasy feel when it clung to you whilst showering. The built in cupboard/wardrobe in the room itself was full of dust and had numerous damp patches and wallpaper was coming away from the walls in several places around the room.

The junior staff were generally very pleasant although there was always an element of chaos about the place. Again on a cleanliness issue, the surly elderly waiter who worked at breakfast time was seen on a number of occasions scratching his head over the open jugs of fruit juice and every time he visited the kitchen he returned with yet another mouthful of food which he continued to chew as he went about his duties which seemed to include pouring leftover milk from the tables back into the main dispenser.

The lounge area was beginning to look shabby and litter left on the floor one day was still there a day later. The bar food was in my view overpriced and the cost of a mediocre cup of coffee has shot up from £2.60 to £3.60.

My partner was struggling with two suitcases and was surprised when the young doorman quickly averted his gaze and scurried away leaving her to struggle.

On checking out the bill bore little reflection of reality. Mini-bar use, restaurant extras all added on when this had not been the case.

In summary I was left with the impression of a hotel that has lost its way. It feels like it has rested on its laurels for too long and has left itself with a need for major refurbishment which has unfortunately coincided with a major recession. General management, customer relations and cleanliness are all in need of a major overhaul.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kadellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 March 2011

It is Brend Hotels company policy to have in place precautions for the control of Viral infectious diseases such as Norovirus. We as a company inform all our guests and put hand sanitiser gels in guest bedrooms and larger dispensers in public toilets. We also work very closely with the EHO’s to ensure best practice which reflects on our commitment to the health & safety of our visitors to Brend hotels.
With regard to other comments made we endeavour to give all our guests the highest level of quality and service. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and are currently being investigated and where appropriate, action will be taken to rectify the situation.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review as your feedback is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Although the room wasn`t huge it was nice to have a table and armchairs in front of the window and gaze out at the huge expanse of Saunton Sands beach.Rooms have been furnished with an Art Deco theme to match the age of the hotel which is a nice touch although the bathrooms are a bit dated. Our 3 night DBB stay was very good value and the service was excellent without being obsequious. It was half term but I managed to get the pool to myself before breakfast. For a hotel, the indoor pool was a reasonable size. The food was well up to the high standards of other Brend hotels. One niggle - the exhorbitant price of wi fi. Another Brend hotel in the area offers free wi fi. It would be a good PR move not to charge and perhapsattracts more guests.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Just returned home from a stay at Saunton Sands. As usual we looked at reviews before going and having been there 4 years ago wondered if it had gone downhill. Having stayed there we now wonder if some of the reviewers stayed at the same hotel! We booked a standard room but were upgraded to a seaview room free of charge. Room had a fantastic view, a large bathroom and amazing art deco furniture. Service from reception, beach cafe, bar staff and restaurant was pitched perfectly to be respectful but not stuffy - I hate hotels where staff are trained to bow and scrape in a we are not worthy style. The food quality was great, and the service intervals between courses were perfect for an intimate evening dinner. Overall we had a perfect stay, our only complaint would be that the snooker room as a guest facility should not be used as a storeroom for tables chairs and general unwanted catering equipment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallAquagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The Saunton Sands Hotel is in such a beautiful location you can't help but fall in love with it. The hotel itself is warm, friendly and cosy whilst being modern and luxurious too. We had an inland double room which was lovely, clean, plush and very comfortable. I would recommend a visit at any time of year as the service, surroundings and views are amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debina2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

having stayed at this hotel many times in the past i read some not to good reviews on this site.we took advantage of a cheap deal and were not disappointed, the sea view room was great, food and service were at a very good standard, staff were pleasant and efficient .
swimming pool spotless and since our last stay a new male changing room next to the pool.
overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobhellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews