We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Experience spent with my family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saunton Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I have so enjoyed my stay here at Saunton Sands again this year for my Birthday. My teenage children always enjoy the stay and have lots to do. Over the weekend they have played tennis, squash, table tenis, swam - keeping themselves very busy. I always find the staff to be friendly. The food has been excellent. Saunton is a great place for families, but because of the size of the public areas there is a lot of space for those who want to be quiet and sit in the sun terrace room and enjoy the whole experience. It can also be a very romantic place - should you have the right company!!! I am always surprised by some of the negative comments found on Trip Advisor - especially about the staff. Saunton will always have special memories for me and my Children. I highly recommend this venue and the fact that some Guests have been returning to Saunton for over 3o years must be testament to the great experience you can enjoy here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawlishswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,693 - 1,697 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2011

A four night stay with my partner in this beautiful part of the Devon coastline. However.... the hotel seems to be trading on its past glory and location and is now becoming shabby and unclean. Warnings of Norovirus posted around the hotel are, I think, more a reflection of the lack of hygiene and cleanliness in the hotel than an indication of a more general rise in the incidence of the disease.

More specifically, the bathroom attached to our room should haver been refurbished ten years ago. There was mildew growing on the tiles and there were soapy marks on the tiles indicating that they had no been cleaned certainly since the previous occupant but I suspect a lot longer. The shower curtain was also grubby with a greasy feel when it clung to you whilst showering. The built in cupboard/wardrobe in the room itself was full of dust and had numerous damp patches and wallpaper was coming away from the walls in several places around the room.

The junior staff were generally very pleasant although there was always an element of chaos about the place. Again on a cleanliness issue, the surly elderly waiter who worked at breakfast time was seen on a number of occasions scratching his head over the open jugs of fruit juice and every time he visited the kitchen he returned with yet another mouthful of food which he continued to chew as he went about his duties which seemed to include pouring leftover milk from the tables back into the main dispenser.

The lounge area was beginning to look shabby and litter left on the floor one day was still there a day later. The bar food was in my view overpriced and the cost of a mediocre cup of coffee has shot up from £2.60 to £3.60.

My partner was struggling with two suitcases and was surprised when the young doorman quickly averted his gaze and scurried away leaving her to struggle.

On checking out the bill bore little reflection of reality. Mini-bar use, restaurant extras all added on when this had not been the case.

In summary I was left with the impression of a hotel that has lost its way. It feels like it has rested on its laurels for too long and has left itself with a need for major refurbishment which has unfortunately coincided with a major recession. General management, customer relations and cleanliness are all in need of a major overhaul.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kadellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 March 2011

It is Brend Hotels company policy to have in place precautions for the control of Viral infectious diseases such as Norovirus. We as a company inform all our guests and put hand sanitiser gels in guest bedrooms and larger dispensers in public toilets. We also work very closely with the EHO’s to ensure best practice which reflects on our commitment to the health & safety of our visitors to Brend hotels.
With regard to other comments made we endeavour to give all our guests the highest level of quality and service. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and are currently being investigated and where appropriate, action will be taken to rectify the situation.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review as your feedback is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Although the room wasn`t huge it was nice to have a table and armchairs in front of the window and gaze out at the huge expanse of Saunton Sands beach.Rooms have been furnished with an Art Deco theme to match the age of the hotel which is a nice touch although the bathrooms are a bit dated. Our 3 night DBB stay was very good value and the service was excellent without being obsequious. It was half term but I managed to get the pool to myself before breakfast. For a hotel, the indoor pool was a reasonable size. The food was well up to the high standards of other Brend hotels. One niggle - the exhorbitant price of wi fi. Another Brend hotel in the area offers free wi fi. It would be a good PR move not to charge and perhapsattracts more guests.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Just returned home from a stay at Saunton Sands. As usual we looked at reviews before going and having been there 4 years ago wondered if it had gone downhill. Having stayed there we now wonder if some of the reviewers stayed at the same hotel! We booked a standard room but were upgraded to a seaview room free of charge. Room had a fantastic view, a large bathroom and amazing art deco furniture. Service from reception, beach cafe, bar staff and restaurant was pitched perfectly to be respectful but not stuffy - I hate hotels where staff are trained to bow and scrape in a we are not worthy style. The food quality was great, and the service intervals between courses were perfect for an intimate evening dinner. Overall we had a perfect stay, our only complaint would be that the snooker room as a guest facility should not be used as a storeroom for tables chairs and general unwanted catering equipment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallAquagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The Saunton Sands Hotel is in such a beautiful location you can't help but fall in love with it. The hotel itself is warm, friendly and cosy whilst being modern and luxurious too. We had an inland double room which was lovely, clean, plush and very comfortable. I would recommend a visit at any time of year as the service, surroundings and views are amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debina2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braunton
6.0 km away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
854 reviews
6.8 km away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
895 reviews
12.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,344 reviews
12.6 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
684 reviews
12.2 km away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saunton Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saunton Sands Hotel

Address: Saunton, Braunton EX33 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Braunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Braunton
Price Range: ₹ 12,761 - ₹ 28,626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saunton Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something truly special about the Saunton Sands Hotel. Set above Saunton's stunning three mile beach overlooking the natural wonder of the Braunton Burrows World Heritage Site, the Hotel's magnificent location gives us one of the most dramatic coastal views in the South West.There is far more to staying at Saunton Sands Hotel than what's outside. Inside you'll find first class accommodation and facilities, fantastic food and a quality of service you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere else.Whether your stay if for a winter break with a difference, summer holiday for all your family or a business trip we'll do everything we can to make your stay as memorable as the view. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saunton Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saunton Sands Braunton
Hotel Saunton Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing