We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,094)
Filter reviews
2,097 results
Traveller rating
1,108
548
235
132
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,108
548
235
132
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace lounge sea facing room sand dunes stunning location family suite main restaurant indoor pool lovely hotel short break brend hotels north devon scones cream tea table tennis relaxing break brend group great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1,746 - 1,751 of 2,097 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Great attentive door staff, thereafter very slow and poor service. Restaurant food cold and tasteless, it took forever to order a bottle of wine and the waiting staff kept bringing the wrong dishes. Earlier it was 40 mins for an afternoon tea to arrive but the bill (overcharged ) came after only 10 mins! The view is great from the compact room, nice pool and sauna and we enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Njamesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The first impression starts with the valet/porter who greeted us and manually opened the front door; it got better and better! The porter took out luggage to our room and was most charming and helpful. This was a return visit for us having gone with a group of friends a year ago to the same hotel. We took more friends this time and had a ball! We had an inclusive B & B with dinner AND Sunday lunch and with the sea view front facing room! It was terrific value and the Nuevo cuisine was superb with a great variety and choice. Excellent service from all departments with a cheery greeting from all the staff. It was difficult to find fault! The weather always helps but nevertheless the way we were treated and the variety and choice of food has made a choose to book again next year! This is one of the best hotel experiences we have had and cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you to all the staff who made forma perfect stay.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We have been going to Saunton Sands as a family for 30 years, and once again the Brend family did not let us down. In hard economic times for the hospitality industry, there seems to be continued investment at Saunton Sands. We had a new bathroom whereby every detail had been thought about. The staff from reception through to dining, bar and housekeeping were nothing but efficient and courteous. We live on the coast in South Devon but still marvel Saunton Sands and the position of the hotel, it's very hard to beat their sea view and will always mesmerise. We as a family 4 to 60 year olds will always love Saunton, it's a shame a select few seem harder to please! Already thinking of next years booking - The Roach's :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justy_Roach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

It is very obvious that the management is slack here. Staff don't listen to their guests and although they are not rude you have to wonder why they keep getting your order wrong and ask you to repeat information that you have just told them. We have stayed at Brend hotels for over 20 years and there have been obvious cutbacks.Food ok at dinner but breakfast was nothing special. No pastries etc. We were horrified to overhear a waiter say very early at breakfast when he thought we had gone "there are usually a couple of roaches having an early feed by now". We are not sure if he was referring to us, guests in general or an actual family called the Roaches. Or even worse, cockroaches? We have ended our love affair with Brend.

Room Tip: Smell of dinner in inland facing rooms. Go for the amazing sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review

We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and will bring your comments regarding the service to light at our weekly management meeting.

It is a shame that you did not speak to a member of our management team at the time as we would have been happy to meet and discuss your concerns and take any remedial action necessary. It is unfortunate that you missed the danishes at breakfast, as we provide a selection of freshly baked pastries each morning.

Here at Saunton Sands Hotel we pride ourselves on personal service afforded to guests which includes knowing guests by name rather than room numbers. We had a large family group staying at the hotel by the name of Roach and this is who the restaurant staff were referring to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We have had a wonderful three days staying in one of the Saunton Sands apartments- we stayed in 'The Sands'. The apartment itself was perfect for our needs, nicely decorated & very spacious with three bedrooms and a large bathroom and the views from the large lounge and the master bedroom are simply magnificent. The only minor point is that the kitchen needs a bit of an upgrade but we were eating in the hotel so we didn't mind at all. The staff at the hotel, particularly in the dining room, couldn't do enough to welcome & accommodate us, particularly making a great fuss of my 2 year old daughter. They allow children in the restaurant for dinner which again worked great for us & any children that were in there were quiet & well behaved. The facilities in the hotel are all excellent. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: A sea view room is well worth the additional money.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews