We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,099)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveller rating
1,111
548
236
132
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,111
548
236
132
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terrace lounge sea facing room sand dunes stunning location family suite main restaurant indoor pool lovely hotel short break brend hotels north devon scones cream tea table tennis relaxing break brend group great facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1,796 - 1,801 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Wow what a wonderful experiance we had,with our long weekend spent at the Saunton Sands Hotel.From the moment we arrived,we were treated like royalty,All the staff,were really very obliging,and nothing seemed to much trouble for them,and everything was done with a lovely smile and very politely.The food was just amazing,and a excellent menu,to suit just about anybody,and also plenty of it,to fill the most hungry.And the surrounding area,was a real treat to explore,and in particular a place called 'Morthoe' this is a must for everybody to see,the scenary was just out of this world.So i have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the 'Saunton Sands Hotel'.

Room Tip: Select a sea facing room.!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TezzaCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It is extremely rewarding to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay at the hotel and also enjoyed the North Devon scenery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Saunton Sands hotel is not cheap but you do get great service and if you have a sea view room a view to die for.Good food but poor expensive wines.
Great for families ideal for small children.
This must be one of the best hotel locations in the UK on a fantastic beach.
Always chose a sea view room and you will not be disappointed.
Service was first class, friendly attentive staff.

Room Tip: Always go for a sea view you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We only managed a one night stay as the hotel was extremely busy the weekend we booked. Our balconied sea view room was modestly sized however the bathroom was disappointing. It had no shelf or usable surface space to store our toiletries. The bedroom, which caught the sun, was very warm and the absence of air conditioning window opening as the only breezy alternative. The hotel is otherwise well appointed and in a fantastic location. At £270 for a double room with a sea view it is overpriced by 4 star standards.

Room Tip: The sea views are marvellous but at a premium price
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirkdaleMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We booked one of the 2 bed apartments, ashford, on arrival every room smelt of smoke, when we complained there no alternative rooms in the hotel due to a wedding, so the manager offered to send the cleaners in. This wasn't taken up as we had a baby that was asleep but it should have been dealt with by the cleaners before we got there, it was obvious. The cleaner's comment the next day "we had golfers in last week" was bizarre given it is a no smoking room/hotel. Aside from this, the 4 star rating is simpy not accurate, the ashfield suite can't have been updated in 20+ years. I've read the comments about the rolling refurbishment programe but the hotel should have the decency to post photos and accurate descriptions of all rooms as we wouldn't have stayed here had we known the standard of the apartment - kitchen is tiny, bathrooms outdated, aged decor, artex walls and ceilings, carpets not particularly clean. When I said to the manager it wasn't fair to advertise that apartment as 4* he said he wasn't aware it had been - but it's a 4* hotel and the website showcases luxury family apartments, not sure why there could be any ambiguity. Breakfast was overly expensive given it was served cold. To their credit they knocked off 10% from the room rate - but it should have been more as that rate is still nowhere near 4* quality. overall extremely disappointed with the stay given the cost

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesauntonsandshotel, Manager at Saunton Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The Apartments in which you occupied are graded separately to the Hotel by both the Visit Britain and the AA. The Ashford apartment has been graded as three star, which is clearly stated on our apartment brochure.

Once again I am sorry that Saunton Sands did not meet your expectations on this occasion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just returned from a 2 night B&B at this fantastic hotel. Visited the area since childhood (now in my 50's) and always been impressed by this magnificent looking art deco hotel. Built in the 1930's, your could imagine Hercule Poirot sipping a Creme De Menthe on the Terrace! This hotel would normally be out of my price range but managed to get a great B&B deal including complimentary bottle of local wine (delicious) and a cream tea for two (enough for 4). The room was very large, lovely, great decor and huge bed - bathroom was a little tired but wasn't expecting the best room because of the great rate we found. I was very lucky with the weather and managed to enjoy the outdoor pool on 2 days and a spot of sunbathing. Also enjoyed the indoor pool and table tennis. Will have to try the putting green or tennis next time. Staff were very professional and polite - whole experience was great and tinged with nostalgia. One tiny exception - it is worth asking if a wedding is booked as our room was over the hotel entrance and close to the evening reception (this was only a problem because of one loud and unruly wedding guest). We ate on the terrace, food was excellent. Dress code for restaurant - which is refreshing. Waiting staff were charming but there didn't seem to be enough this morning (Saturday) - only saw 4. Bar staff are super attentive. The uniformed Porter is friendly and efficient and greeted me from the car and managed my luggage (impressed). Will definitely return.

Room Tip: If the front of the hotel is the entrance then the back of the hotel has the fantastic view over the sands. Room deals are probably at the front of the hotel so check to see if there is a wedding booked as the Saunton Suite is at the front of hotel may be used for the evening reception.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews