We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family week away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thorpy
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Family week away”
Reviewed 10 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a lovely week in this cottage, plenty of space and very well equipped. So peaceful so we got to catch up on our sleep. Great pub in the village 2 mins walk away. No parking by the house by parked at the top of the lane no problem.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2018
Thanks Claire. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
You are welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieM74...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage and location”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have stayed at The Anchorage several times with family and also just as a couple. It’s a gorgeous cottage in a perfect location. A short walk through fields and bluebell woods takes you to a beautiful deserted beach at Wonwell or it’s a short car ride to Bigbury or any of the other family beaches in the South Hams. The Dolphin pub is a 2/3 minute walk away and serves really good traditional pub food. Kingsbridge and St Ann’s Chapel are a short drive away for food shopping. The village itself it very peaceful without much through traffic - lovely to lie in bed listening to birds singing - great for long lie ins! Parking is easy. We pulled up directly outside the cottage in a very quiet lane to unload luggage/beach stuff/children and it was never a problem. We parked overnight in a village street 2 mins walk away - a lot easier than many places in Devon!

The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well maintained. We’ve visited in winter and summer and it always feels warm and welcoming. The owners have thought of everything from the well equipped kitchen to the eclectic music and book collection! The two bathrooms are immaculate and the shower is powerful. The beds are comfortable with good quality bed linen. We’ve stayed in lots of holiday cottages in Devon and Cornwall and this is definitely the best - we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallieBin...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing break from the city!”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed at The Anchorage for a long weekend in January. It was the perfect break from city life. We took lots of walks in stunning locations. Bigbury and Burgh Island are a short drive but Wonwell beach is within walking distance of The Anchorage. The Dolphin Inn just around the corner (and it really is just around the corner!) is great for dinner and drinks. Despite it being cold outside as we went in January, we were warm inside the cottage as there's heating and a lovely log fire. The beds are also incredibly comfy! Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a weekend getaway or a family holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgat98
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The loveliest cottage in the perfect location!”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in July 2017

My stay at this cottage with my family was absolutely perfect!! The cottage itself is gorgeous and so beautifully decorated and amazingly maintained, so everything was in pristine condition. All of the bedrooms are lovely and the kids shared a large bedroom which they loved as it had so much space for them to play around in. It is also in the greatest location, as everything you could possibly want in a country-side getaway is only minutes away. The cottage is in the most picture-perfect village with the Dolphin Inn (a great pub) only seconds away for a good meal out and then Bigbury on sea and Wonwell Beach so nearby so I could do lots of beach walks with the family. We also went for some great walks in Dartmoor, and then would come home to the toasty fire and all of the board games that the owners kindly provided. The Anchorage was just the perfect place for our family holiday and all of the love and care that the owners have put into it truly makes it feel like a home away from home. I couldn't have wished for anything better and I will definitely be coming again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily A
1 review
“Lovely cottage in Kingsbridge”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in August 2017

I visited the anchorage in August last year and had a wonderful time. Situated in a great location, with the ability to walk to the beach, or it’s just a short drive away.

The cottage itself is very spacious with a great kitchen and lovely master bedroom - all with great amenities. It has a real cosy, homely feel to it.

Salcombe is just a fifteen minute drive away, so we visited there a couple of times during our stay. The Anchorage is also located right next to a lovely pub, The Dolphin Inn, which does good food and nice to have a drink in the evening.

Would definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing