We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
101
86
47
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
86
47
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbantham beachfish piethe pubsticky toffee pudbracing walkfamily mealservice was friendly and efficientsunday lunchlovely lunchcrabspecials boardwonderful pubfriendly staff and localsburgh islandcoastal pathsouth hamsfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Came here for lunch on a cold November day after a walk on the beach. The pub has history and is very traditional inside. They have a pleasant bar area and a separate spacious restaurant.

Almost every taken table in the bar area has a dog or two at it. They are very welcome and there is a bowl for dogs inside.

The staff are friendly enough and the food came quickly and was average. The batter on the fish and chips was underdone and slightly raw but the crab in the crab salad was fresh and tasty. I felt that £13 for scampi and chips was a bit steep but overall a nice visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We stayed for one night passing through Bantham on the Southwest Coast Path. After a long day of walking all we wanted was a place to put down our heads, a warm meal and a cold pint. Being in the "middle of nowhere" our expectations were not high, but we were to be very positively surprised. The Sloop Inn is a travel destination in its own right! What a special place this is - A hidden gem in a beautiful countryside setting. The rooms are tastefully decorated and clean. The beds are extremely comfortable. A real plus: You can make yourself a proper coffee on the room (french press). We didn't book a table for dinner as we had no idea of how busy the place gets at night. Although the staff were running their feet off, they were very welcoming and friendly and got a table ready for us in no time. It was obvious the staff had fun working- everyone seemed to be in a good mood, which really added to the happy atmosphere in the restaurant.We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, too. We had three different vegetarian meals, all of them of excellent quality. As it's always harder to make meat free dishes taste great, we assume that the meat dishes must be good, too.
Breakfast is served kind of late if you are walking, but they do a continental breakfast tray to have in the room if you need an earlier start. We decided for a cooked breakfast and a leisurely start the next morning and didn't regret our decision. There's a big breakfast menu to choose from. The breakfast comes on hot plates and is delicious.
All in all a place to be highly commended,wether you are staying overnight or just having a meal.
A great walk starting from the Sloop Inn's doorstep is the Avon Estuary Walk. We saw some of the most beautiful scenery of our whole 6-day-walk here.
Thank you for a wonderful stay and lasting memories. We hope to be back sometime!

Room Tip: Noise does travel to the rooms above the pub/restaurant. It didn't bother us, but there are rooms on the second floor, too.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pferdinand1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Friends took us to the beach for a walk and then suggested a drink. The Sloop inn looks small but has a large restaurant area. The bar area was warm and cosy after a bracing walk. The staff were friendly and it was a shame we had lunch plans as the food looked very nice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

We came in a party of 11 on a stormy Saturday. Staff were very friendly and accomdating. Food was very good, mixture of seafood and pub classics. Fish pie looked cracking. Fairly expensive but worth the money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Booked for lunch ,glad we did . The pub was really busy but we were served quickly with drinks and shown to our table in the bar area not the restaurant part.
We had the soup brocolli and Stilton which was delicious. Then fish and chips , huge portion cud have done with half.very good batter crispy and tasty fish.Really well cooked.It was lovely to be back as we hadn't been in a few years.we will definitely be back soon.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews