We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
101
86
47
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
86
47
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbantham beachfish piethe pubsticky toffee pudbracing walkfamily mealservice was friendly and efficientsunday lunchlovely lunchcrabspecials boardwonderful pubfriendly staff and localsburgh islandcoastal pathsouth hamsfeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I grew up in the area and also spent a summer many years ago waitressing in this pub in Bantham. Now on visits home to see the family this is our first choice for a family meal. It's definitely worth the drive as it's one of the few pubs in the area that maintains its traditional and cosy atmosphere. Although there are clearly a group of locals that visit the pub everyday, there is a warm and welcoming atmosphere as you enter. As a group of adults we always choose to sit in the bar amongst the hustle and bustle, but there is also a family friendly restaurant. On this visit home, we actually went for two meals at the pub because the first was so good! I had the fish pie the first time I visited, and it was as delicious as all the other reviews described. The second time was today, a Sunday lunchtime and I braved the vegetarian roast. In my experience these are usually a dry nut roast that has been sat in a freezer for a while. However, the Sloop's version of a vegetarian roast was a wonderful surprise - grilled halloumi with mushrooms and tomatoes, homemade gravy. Definitely the best vegetarian roast I have ever had. The rest of my meat eating party were all equally satisfied with their meals too! The chef at this establishment is clearly worth keeping, I hope he has no designs to move on because I am already looking forward to another portion of that fish pie!

Fast, friendly service. Clean and cosy environment. Great food. What more could anyone ask for in a cute country pub?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Visited here during our stay in Kingston. We had taken dogs over the beach for a good play and decided lunch was needed. I had the delicious soup of the day and my husband a substantial sandwich. The Inn is beautiful inside, with different areas so tables not crammed together, which I hate. Staff were very friendly and our food arrived promptly. The dogs were welcome too. There is a car park behind the Inn if you're not going to the beach but if you're in the area I think a walk down is well worth it, if just for the view of the hotel on Burgh Island. The prices here are acceptable and no higher than most places. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Was a lovely meal and the venue was lovely and kept very well.
My only gripe and it is only slight, I felt the pricing wasn’t particularly favourable I terms of a future visit, I don’t think so.
Lots of different gins available, but £7-£8 for a G&T albeit with fever tree tonic was very nice but so so easy to loose track of costs. 4 adults couple of courses each with a few drinks each totalled nearly £240.
Keep an eye on how many drinks you have!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sablett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Visited for an early evening family meal. Very pretty coastal location, pub menu was predictable and dished-up ok, but not exceptional food - it was all ' good enough' to be eaten without complaint, but 2 adult meals, 2 kids meals, a couple of glasses of juice and wine came to over £100, and we didn't really feel it was brilliant value. Still, staff were attentive and they accommodated us at late notice, so worthy of a 3-4 star all the same.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank knightsbridgemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Having read other reviews we thought we'd try the Sloop. The 3 mile walk along the coastal path was fabulous and when we arrived the place was busy, but we were found a table.

The Sunday roast was okay for the money but the scampi and chips in a basket was 4 small pieces of fish and a mass of chips.

I left half of them as there was just too many and quite bland.

The choice of ales is also poor which is a shame.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gumpoandwordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews