We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
102
89
47
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
89
47
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bantham beach the pub fish pie bracing walk service was friendly and efficient family meal sunday lunch friendly staff and locals dog friendly pub lovely lunch crab great beer burgh island coastal path pudding south hams fantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Being born and bred in Devon, We're not strangers to beautiful old pubs in stunning settings. This is without doubt, a lovely old pub in a lovely part of our county.
We arrived just in time to order some lunch and wanted something light to eat. We decided on the basket meals and both ordered the plaice and chips. Although the food was acceptable, we both agreed that the meals were at best, average. I compared my meal to the type of supermarket frozen oven meals you can have at home in 20 minutes. We don't have a problem with eating those types of meals from time to time but, we don't think the £8.00 per meal was justified. We concluded that the lack of competition in the area and it's tourist trap location might be the reasons.
The staff were friendly and efficient.
Don't be put off by a couple of discerning locals who can't afford to pay holiday makers prices every time they venture out to eat.
The Sloop is a great place to visit for many reasons. It will manage perfectly well without our future custom.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Arriving in the village in the evening with not a supermarket in sight we were delighted to see any food-serving establishment; but what a treat was in store for us at The Sloop.
The staff were super friendly, the decor a mix of traditional country pub and scandi-seaside chic and well-behaved pups were made to feel very welcome.

The menu was varied and everything we tried was delicious. We particularly recommend the fries and the mussels - amazing!

We were stunned (and thrilled) to find this haven in the middle of this beautiful countryside. Most definitely worth a visit.

(We'll be going back again tomorrow).

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Had lunch with friends here on a rainy Friday. Beautiful building with a successful combination of a new and old interior (not the usual rustic approach that is common in South Hams). A warm welcome and perfectly timed service. Good menu choice and reasonably priced for this corner of Devon. Recommend the fish n chips. Icing on the cake was the free car park at the rear (not huge thou). Will definitely return......

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank fussynortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We ordered crab sandwiches and soup. Lovely food and good portions. Family friendly with spacious dining areas and comfy seats. Nautical deco very modern and chic. Great location right next to Bantham beach. Friendly smiley staff as well.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ningjawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here with a large group of friends. The service was really efficient and friendly and when the meals came out they were really big and to a very good standard. Would definitely recommend this place for a meal. Nice for a cosy drink too, the place is a lot bigger inside than it looks from the road.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank katiee352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews