We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Surprise

A much more extensive war museum than we anticipated. Well maintained. A very informed and helpful... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
CalgaryKen
,
Calgary
Very interesting

Lots to see for anyone interested in the occupation of Guernsey, telling the history of the German... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2018
victoroscar
,
Bristol
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
70
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on duty enigma machine la collinette hotel car park beau sejour short video parking on site dedicated volunteers interesting video block of flats great attention candie gardens underground bunker well worth a visit opening times guided tour open to the public
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

I have been here a couple of times and it is a very interesting place to visit.

The person who runs it is very passionate and knowledge. He had all the answers you ask him.

Sadly this bunker is not the easiest of places to find unless your local. You probably won't just bump into it you will have to be specifically going there which in a way is good as it's not too busy.

If your interested in what happened on Guernsey in world war 2 this is definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank terrydlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Sir gave this review its title. We only visited as the museum was included in our Guernsey museum card and are so glad we did.

A volunteer and member of staff were on duty when we arrived, just in time for a tour. From the beginning they told stories of the bunker, explaining its engineering and relevance to the occupation.

There are several rooms refurbished to show the activity of the German signal soldiers and officers and others just cleaned up or used to display other information, for example, aerial photos of Guernsey taken by allied spy planes.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

My husband is interested in WW2 history. We've visited too many damp, grey, concrete bunkers, so I wasn't particularly interested, but tagged along as it was only £4 and thought we'd be back out in the sunshine in 10 minutes.
We reemerged two hours later after an extremely interesting tour by Ian, who was friendly, enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable. He talked of the technicalities with my husband an engineer. Ian told us of the Kommandant, Willy who returned after the war and explained and authenticated the operations. Ian told us personal stories, remembering the lives of the young German soldiers and the sadness of their situation too.
The bunker and exhibits have been restored or added to a standard which really brought the history to life.
Ian has a skill to interact with all levels of visitors.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank jo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This place is only small but very well kept. The man on duty seemed to have a passion for the place and gave us lots of extra interesting information. A great price at £4

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

This underground museum is well laid out with many rooms and items as they were at the time of the occupation. Informative guide with interesting stories. Toilets but no cafe.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank CheyeneDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews