We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Christmas Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fermain Valley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fab Christmas Break”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Can't praise the hotel and staff enough. Had a massive room with sea view, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was probably some of the best I've had at an hotel restaurant. My wife doesn't eat meat and she had plenty of choice. All the staff were extremely polite, professional and friendly. So good, hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    142
    50
    16
    7
See reviews for
113
418
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed for two nights in December. Excellent service by all staff from the front desk to those who served breakfast. Wonderful facilities both in the room and in the public areas. I would highly recommend this hotel for those looking for a short break and are looking for that personal attention.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horace215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We've just had the most marvellous family Christmas at this hotel; looked after by the most friendly, efficient and cheerful staff (even though they were working through Christmas), who made us feel that anything that added to our comfort was no trouble. Our room was enormous, very clean and comfortable, without a balcony, but with a big window and a beautiful sea and sunrise view. The lounges, which ran through two rooms (one with log fire, very Christmassy) and on to a library and a tiny, secluded, computer room, and the bar and terrace areas were all very comfortable and you could find a quieter or noisier spot, to your taste, with free wifi everywhere. (Limited number of standard UK sockets in bedroom for recharging gadgets and not in convenient positions, but it's only a tiny gripe!)
The pool was clean and warm with large windows onto the decking area; and the cinema (in the Venue building, uphill through lovely gardens) was brilliant; big comfy armchairs, room service would bring drinks and snacks and a bucket of hot popcorn was provided. We took our favourite Christmas DVDs, which we booked times to watch, and also watched the Doctor Who Christmas special on TV in the cinema.
There's a lovely stroll, through the well kept and interestingly planted gardens, to the beach and leading on to the coast path which takes you to St Peter Port in one direction (about 3 miles). The trek back uphill makes you feel you've worked off the superb breakfasts a little bit.
Dinners were beautifully presented on the plate in the modern Masterchef way and I felt very picky to be adding some salt and pepper here and there. And I ate absolutely delicious desserts though I don't usually go for the sweet course. (Orange ice cream with chocolate tart for Christmas dinner dessert - gorgeous), though you could have Christmas pudding instead if you wanted it! Reported good by other diners. The Rock Garden cocktail bar was open Christmas Eve and had a good fun atmosphere with a great variety of cocktails made with style.
The hotel ran a minibus and it could be booked to take you into town, but very sensibly, they gave airport/ferry trips the priority. There are planes going overhead, but compared to the jets taking off from London City Airport in the mornings in our usual week, the sound of the turboprops was almost humming and soothing.
The staff, the facilities and the hotel's position, (with well designed decking levels and gardens), making the best of the valley views to the sea, deserve to be thoroughly praised but I'm now wondering if I should have let on so much on TripAdvisor because we will be going back and we don't want to find you all there in our favourite spots!
by Mrs Dave

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I only ate at the fermaine but wow terrific, superb service superb food and a really friendly but professional atmosphere definately five star.

Room Tip: Only had a meal but top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Guernsey is not a big island, but this hotel gives a feeling of seclusion. Situated in a pretty valley its a pleasant stroll down the road through woods to a small stony beach. Most people will drive to the hotel - it would be quite a walk from St Peter Port. All the rooms to the front of the hotel have views down the valley towards the sea in the middle distance. I have used this hotel many times on business. There is free wifi. Food is OK in the dining room but not fabulous. There is a new bar opened up - the "Rock Garden" which might appeal to the younger guests but feels incongruous. The old bar is still there and conservative. As elsewhere in the CI, staff are mostly Eastern European - but very friendly and efficient. Public areas in the hotel are to a good standard. We often use the business meeting room "The Venue" which is good for private meetings and dining.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel should have sea views. Some rooms are much bigger than others esp o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
2.2 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
731 reviews
2.4 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
584 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
2.9 km away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fermain Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fermain Valley Hotel

Property: Fermain Valley Hotel
Address: Fermain Lane, St Peter Port GY1 1ZZ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#7 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,117 - ₹ 16,426
Hotel Class:4 star — Fermain Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fermain Valley has 2 dining options both recently refurbished - the 2 AA Rosette Ocean Restaurant and the sophisticated Rock Garden Steak House and Cocktail bar. Both offer a relaxed atmosphere, sensational food at great value, with exceptional service. Ocean offers a decked area for al fresco dining with superb views out over Fermain Valley to sea and neighbouring Channel Islands. The hotel also offers quiet, cozy lounges to relax in after dinner, a private cinema for guest use, an indoor-heated swimming pool and sauna. There is wireless broadband access throughout the hotel. The Fermain Hotel is renowned for its warm and friendly welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Fermain Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fermain Valley
Fermain Valley Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing