We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent six nights at the OGH over Easter - we'd travelled to Guernsey for a holiday and to take part in the local running festival which takes place over the Easter weekend. We took the ferry from Poole to St Peter Port and found the hotel very easily from the ferry terminal. The hotel offers valet parking as the car park is awkward, so we handed over our keys each time we returned to the hotel. This works well but is something to bear in mind - you won't have the car just outside if you've forgotten something in it. The welcome was very warm and we were very pleasantly surprised by the room which was large and had a huge bathroom. There is no mini-bar or fridge in the rooms but you can ask for one. We rang down for fresh milk when we wanted to make a cup of tea or coffee.

The hotel is well located very close to the centre of town, although as people have mentioned it is up a hill so something to bear in mind if you have mobility problems. For me, the hotel's real selling point is the staff. All were pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. They were very friendly with my 9 year old son and when we came back from breakfast on Easter Sunday the Easter bunny had delivered an egg to the room for him, which was a lovely touch. Whoever selects the staff knows what they are doing.

Breakfast was good. We ate dinner in the hotel brasserie twice and the quality was very good. I also tried out a couple of treatments in the spa. We also made use of the hotel bar each evening. All in all we had a lovely stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio suite, room 326.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellywobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

821 - 825 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I are very pleased with our stay at Old Government House Hotel and Spa. Not only did the hotel exceed our expectations but so did the obliging staff  - and so did Guernsey. We particularly appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel (and the room) and the thoughtfulness of the staff. Everyone was most helpful and nice and we can definitely recommend this hotel! Our only regret is that we didn't get time to try out their restaurants (except for the perfect breakfasts!) which I've also heard are top class. But next time - and there will definitely be a next time - we will.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We found the hotel without a problem.on arrival the receptionst was very pleasant but found rather pushy to get us to upgrade our room,She showed us a upgraded room which was very nice but felt for only a 3 night stay our booked room was as expected.We could not get the television to work on ringing reception at 9.30pm the congerie came up straight away and after checking other rooms found as was the only one not working and he offered us a change of room which we did and would you believe it it was the room the receptionist tried us to upgrade too.
This was a very nice room just a couple of minor points.the main let down was the window and door to the balcony did not fit in with the rest of the room as it looked like a holiday chalet it requires a window that blends in with the rest of the hotel.Plus the bathroom was bit small was trying to get into the shower.th bathroom in the classic bathroom was far better.We thought the T.V. should have been checked it was working prior to being let out.
The staff were very helpful and friendly especially in the Bar & Resturants.The indulgence menu was not quite up to standard with the price as we have had this type of menu several times previously at ohter hotels.The breakfast was great.it is very nice to have your cooked breakfast done to order and brought to the table and also the toast and the offer of more toast coffee etc.
As we had a hire car the idea of giving your keys over for the staff to park and bring the car back when required is a very good idea as the carpak was quite small and a narrow access road.
The position of the hotel is ideal as it a only a couple of minutes to the shopping and central areas walking downhill is good as a bit steep on the wayback.so a drink in the bar is needed.
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel as it was very clean and the the decoration matched the age of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 320 was a classic room and on a one way side street so was quiet.Room 121 overlooked the Harbou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowshillwitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

After a lovely walk around Guernsey we were treated to a beautiful and very reasonable afternoon tea at OGH! Staff were incredibly attentive and made us feel very relaxed. There was a choice of tea, which arrived in a traditional teapot with tea strainer. Shortly after the deluxe afternoon tea arrived. A delightful choice of freshly made sandwiches, beautiful cakes, warm Scones and hot cross buns we could not ask for more! I will definitely be returning to taste the scones again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibsonfamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at the OGH for 3 nights at the end of March. The room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The service at the hotel was excellent and the staff could not do enough for you. The breakfast was of a high standard with very good choice of cereals, fruit and hot and cold food. It was a short walk down the hill to the centre of St Peter Port and the pretty harbour. Bus number 4 stops round the corner from the hotel and you can go all around the island on bus 7A for £1! An excellent restaurant is La Perla where you can get a 3 course meal for £10.99 and the food and service are both excellent

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic room which was small but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.4 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
879 reviews
1.7 km away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
754 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
0.2 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Government House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Government House Hotel & Spa

Address: Ann's Place, St Peter Port, St Peter Port GY1 2NU
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#1 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#4 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: ₹ 14,506 - ₹ 22,644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Government House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Guernsey's capital, St Peter Port, commanding amazing views across the harbour and neighbouring islands. Sea facing rooms with balcony, gourmet dining, luxurious spa and heated outdoor pool make this hotel a destination in itself on this charming island escape. Celebrating 150 years of hospitality in 2008, the hotel offers unrivaled levels of service and a full range of leisure and corporate facilities to the discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Government House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Government Hotel
Hotel Old Government
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa Guernsey/St Peter Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing