We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional and Friendly Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Peter Port
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Captain Cook Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Functional and Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Captain Cook and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Guernsey. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and staff alike. They were helpful from the moment we arrived until we left a week later. I asked to borrow a hairdryer and was given one to retain for the week. The room was clean with a valet and fresh towels daily. Fantastic shower (wish we had one like it at home!), good selection of Sky TV channels. Very good comprehensive breakfast.(However a selection of fruit could be a welcome addition) All in all, a very quiet, respectable hotel. We have paid far more in the past for a lot less. The room had comprehensive tea and coffee making facilities that are refreshed daily. On our return home today, I realised I had lost quite a valuable earring and phoned the hotel just to check if I had mislaid it there. They instigated a search and phoned me back within a few minutes to let me know they had found it and would be sending it back to me. I was absolutely delighted. Would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants all the facilities with the comfort of a very happy atmosphere - and will most definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    8
    8
    17
See reviews for
11
39
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Breakfast basic and lacking in choice, half hour running shower to get hot water, dampest smallest room i have stayed in not worth £20 a night would never stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazza9568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Peter Port hotels

Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed 7 nights and had a great holiday. The owners and staff are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is very good and so is the evening dinner. The rooms are more than adequate, especially if you are out all day and just want somewhere to sleep at night. Plenty of hot water. Close to The Victor Hugo House/Museum and just a short walk into town. Very good value for a modest budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We enjoyed our first visit to Guernsey and were delighted with our choice of hotel. The hotel was very welcoming and the room was perfect for our needs. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. The meals (breakfasts and dinners) were nicely cooked and presented. We would certainly stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Friendly staff particularly on the main desk. Mary and Reda always make us feel welcome and the room was good particularly at the price paid. On an island with such a high cost of living i don't know how they manage to keep their prices so low! I think people expect too much sometimes. Highly recommended at their prices. I noticed that people had trouble with the television (I just switched it off and on!) this is due to the digital switchover.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_walcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.7 km away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.0 km away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 km away
Ziggurat
Ziggurat
#10 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain Cook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain Cook Hotel

Property: The Captain Cook Hotel
Address: 57 Hauteville, St Peter Port GY1 1DQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,494 - ₹ 3,403
Hotel Class:2 star — The Captain Cook Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Hotel
The Captain Cook Hotel Guernsey/St Peter Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing