We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky Fort in a simply stunning location”

Review of Fort Leicester

Fort Leicester built into the headland at Bouley Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fort Leicester built into the headland at Bouley Bay.
The living room has a terrace overlooking Bouley Bay. Fort Leicester and the surrounding headland
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Fort Leicester built into the headland at Bouley Bay.
The living room has a terrace overlooking Bouley Bay.
Fort Leicester and the surrounding headland
Jersey produce
The living room into the fully equipped kitchen.
The main bedroom on the upper level with double bed and two single beds.
Fort Leicester is perfect for dogs with lots of outdoor space.
The wood burning stove in the main bedroom.
The bunk room on the middle level.
The bathroom on the middle level.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Fort -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Trinity, Jersey, Channel Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RobRickel...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky Fort in a simply stunning location”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Visited with a group of friends and we were all blown away by Fort Leicester.
The views of the bay with France a distant smudge on the horizon were spell binding, and we all seemed to spend hours staring at this beautiful scene.

The Fort itself is split across 3 floors with no internal access, meaning a trip outside to visit the toilet or move between bedroom and living room. Luckily we were blessed with mainly sunny weather so this wasn't an issue and torches are provided for any nocturnal trips outside.
The bedrooms are both perfectly adequate, with comfy beds and plenty of plug sockets.
The living room / kitchen is basic but more than functional with everything you could possibly need. There is a small TV but with the view outside we never even turned it on!

Externally there are loads of things to explore in the Fort with many original features and later add on's by the occupying Germans.

A short walk away is the Black Dog pub which serve monster portions of excellent food. A visit is a must if staying at Fort Leicester.

I will definitely be returning to both!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the incredible view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miles W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing location for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A group of us booked the fort for a long weekend away. We love old historical buildings, so this was right up our street. Also there's nothing like waking up to the sound of the waves lapping in the bay directly below and the views from the fort are simply stunning. The building is not without its quirks though, being spread across three levels means most of you need to go outside to the bathroom, which can be fun in the middle of the night. However we all felt that this all added to the charm of the place. It won't be to everyone's taste, but I'd highly recommend Fort Leicester to anyone looking for a self catering property with a difference. We'll definitely return to either the fort or one of the other heritage let properties next time we visit Jersey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness fort itself and the view of Bouley Bay
Liked least: Poor mobile phone signal and lack of TV and Internet was a little frustrating
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
2 reviews
“Stunningly located, fantastically memorable.”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I stayed at Fort Leicester for five nights in early April with my wife and three children under 10.

We all have very fond memories of the unique property that will stay with us for many years. It was delightful to stay somewhere with so much history. And the views were stunning: we all loved finding a sunny spot to read and watch the fishermen in the bay.

The trust were very accommodating landlords, sending someone out quickly to investigate a problem we identified and, more importantly, very kindly returning Peppa Pig when someone bearing a passing resemblance to me forgot to pack them.

The reserved parking spot by the harbour was always empty. The rooms were well heated with radiators (and there is a fireplace in the main bedroom). The kitchen was modern and spacious. There's no wi-fi but the mobile coverage throughout the property was good.

There are steps up to the property and it is then arranged as four separate rooms (with four separate entrances) on three levels. Our older children thought it was very exciting to have their own room and key. On the other hand, the need to go outside and down a flight of stairs to get to the loo puts you off having that second cocoa of an evening (although it's a small price to pay).

Overall, a stunning holiday and we were so glad we chose this property rather than (as originally planned) AN Other hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history and location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you for such a brilliant review of Fort Leicester, we are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay. As you say, Fort Leicester has unrivaled views across the scenic north coast and it sounds like you all enjoyed this unique historical site. We hope you can stay with us again and maybe try another one of our historic properties and create more fantastic memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipster3...
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Try something different for s stay-cation or visiting Jersey”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

i live in Jersey, and have stayed a few times at Jersey Heritage properties. I know that I can expect ( and genuinely get ) great service when making enquiries and bookings, and also the standard of the properties. But you have to remember that these are old converted properties - so it's not luxury hotel, all mod cons, air conditioning, spa facilities etc. but what you do get is a great self catering facility, in the most fantastic location with views and brilliant outdoor space and privacy for a romantic getaway or somewhere to share with friends. The facilities really are great - the beds are so so comfortable, whether you are in the bunks, on the sofa bed or ion the master bedroom double or singles. The bathroom is better than you would find in most 5 star locations - both for the water pressure / shower / size etc - don't be fooled into thinking that you will be 'slumming' it in an old property. The kitchen is totally kitted out with everything you need, and there is a dishwasher, washing machine, iron, vacuum - whatever you may think you need is there. Outdoor tables and chairs are situated to take advantage of the sun all spring the property. You can take your own barbeque and make use of the dry warm evenings ( we were lucky with the weather!). The views, and tranquility of the fort is just unrivalled- it can easily beat many other places in the world at I have had the fortune to visit. If you are visiting Jersey then why not consider doing something really different and staying at one of the Heritage properties - if there is a group of you then it easily works out to be better value than anything else - and it's such a great experience and loads of great photos to take home with you! There are great coastal walks right from the fort, and of course the beach is on your doorstep, together with a pub, a beach cafe and a hotel open to non residents. There is a limited bus service, so a car is handy ( you have a designated parking space). If you choose to cycle then note that the fort is at the foot of a big sweeping hill - the cycle up would be challenging but a great sense of achievement if you managed it!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
Thank you for such an amazing review of Fort Leicester, we are thrilled that you had such a brilliant staycation/holiday. All of our self-catering properties are like a ‘home away from home’ within a unique and historical setting. As you say, Fort Leicester has unrivalled views across the scenic north coast of the Island and it sounds like you made the most of the location within Bouley Bay. We hope you can stay with us again and maybe try another one of our historic properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G_A_E_and...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Fantastic location. The brief to my wife for my 40th Birthday trip was to go somewhere that enabled us to "get away from it all" - this place absolutely delivered against that!

The rustic-ness of the facilities was hugely appealing to us, acknowledging in advance that it wasn't the sort of high-spec finishing that we'd normally expect. Aside from broken glass front on the bedroom log burner (only one burner - in the main bedroom now.. still works fine though), everything was functional and fun. You need to take bottled water but everything else works fine.

The storage heaters really heat the place up and the kids loved running around the fort, grounds and nearby beaches / islands, pretending that it was their kingdom - which it was! There are no internal corridors but, again, this just adds to the 'back to nature' feel of the place.

And the location is just absolutely amazing. A full 360 degree view, with breathtaking features in every direction. It was wonderful to look out over completely secluded bays and vistas from wherever you decided to locate yourself in this property.

Accept that you're not going to have high-end luxury and you'll have an amazing time in a once-in-a-lifetime kind of place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
We are delighted to hear you had a great birthday at Fort Leicester with your family and thought of it as your own castle during your stay. The property is located in a beautiful part of the Island on the north coast and the Fort makes the most of the views across Bouley Bay harbour and beyond.
We are currently in the process of replacing the wood burning stove as it had been damaged just before your stay. Thank you for taking the time to place this review and we hope you will stay with us again and maybe try another one of our properties in Jersey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing