We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn Boutique
Nearby Hotels
US$ 275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 327
US$ 304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Pomme d'Or Hotel(St Helier)
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de France(St Helier)
US$ 265
US$ 212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Hotel(St Helier)
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Norfolk Hotel(St Helier)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 214
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sarum Hotel(St Helier)
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
472
294
79
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
294
79
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noisesuperior roomcar parkmain roadtown centrevaried menushort breakdvd playerlovely hotellight sleeperbreakfast was excellentten minute walknight stayfull englishcooked breakfaststayed for nightsan evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
746 - 751 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We selected the Inn during our January 2012 stay in St Hellier as a one night gap filler before taking a string of nights in the Grand Jersey.. The Inn promoted its fine dining, local cuisine. and professional service.
First the good news. The place presents well and has potential to satisfy. Car parking while cumbersome is well managed and problem free despite being in a lot across the road. The welcome and check in was friendly and pleasant.
Our room was spacious and well finished for the price.
But
the drain smell was overpowering, maybe because the exhauset fan was left on and drew in the odour from the bath drain but really it all means the plumbing was wrong. We requested it be bleach flushed and a man came with a botle of spay soap which was totally inneffective and we were left to suffer the smell for the night. . No offer of a room change.
The promised cuisine experience was accepted and we booked a table for diner at 8pm. On our arrival we were shown not to the dining room but to the bar tables where a football match was on the TV, rowdy enthusiasts merrily drinking and the menue not enticing. We had two starters each which were each so ordinary as I write this I can't even remember what they were.
To be fair to the Inn it may have been just off season and a quiet night, maybe they don't like happy Australians on holiday, but we were placed in a room a long walk away for a hotel with so many vacancies it wasn't worth openning the restaurant , and we should have been told the restaurant was not going to be open . St Hellier is not short of great restaurants we would have preferred to go to.
Others may have had a better experience of the Inn so don't judge them on our lousy time. But be aware on checking in to ask the bleeding obvious and demand the best available.

Room Tip: do not accept a room until you have been in it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grailinvestment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnedunham, General Manager at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

I am most sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay with us last month. It is unfortunate you did not ask to speak to me or my assistant as I was only aware of your dissatisfaction after I read your comments form on departure and the subsequent two reviews published on this and another travel website.

I have spoken to my staff and they have confirmed that you did tell them about a smell in your room.

We did send a member of staff to your room to investigate and although he could not find a problem with the drains as a precaution he poured some drain cleaner down the toilet, sink and bath.

You state that the extractor fan was left on, but this goes on and off with the bathroom light.

My staff wrongly assumed that after the maintenance visit to your room and the fact that you asked for more coffee to drink in your room everything was in order. This was wrong of them to assume as they should have checked with you. We would have gladly changed your room.

Although I don’t doubt that you did smell something and must apologies for this fact, I have not been able to establish the cause and there has not been a reoccurrence of the problem.

Regarding your table reservation, being a Monday in January our restaurant was quieter than normal. Rather than have diners sit in a restaurant with little atmosphere our restaurant manager decided just before service to close the restaurant and locate those eating on tables in the bar area but away from the actual bar and television. On the rare occasion this happens we still offer our full menu and specials and we have always had positive feedback as the ambience, with the low lights, candles and real fire is something very special.

I would like to point out that we do not put up with “rowdy” behaviour but on the other hand we do not have a problem with customers enjoying themselves.

I am sorry you did not like your meal, we have a very extensive menu and for the starters there is a choice of 16 hot and cold dishes + daily specials including fresh Jersey Oysters, local Scallops, pates, chilli and ginger marinated beef, homemade soups and much more.

You are right, St Helier does have some great restaurants and the feedback we get is that we are way up there amongst them.

At THE INN we are committed to being customer focused and have comfortable rooms and great food, it is a real shame that your perception of your stay does not reflect this.

Yours faithfully

Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Inn Boutique is a lovely wee hotel. The staff could not do enough for me and the food was well thought out, perfectly cooked and presented. Accommodation was a little cramped but I very comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackfordJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was a short break for my wife and me between Christmas and New Year and the Laterooms deal we were lucky enough to get proved to be all we wanted and expected.

We were greeted warmly and although we arrived at about one-o-clock, our room was available within 20 minutes. The room itself was one of the superior ones - Durrell in our case - and although quite small, spotless and nicely equipped with a few steps down to a modern bathroom. The hotel is on a hill and would originally have been two or three separate houses, so inside it's a little quirky with stairs where you wouldn't expect them. If mobility is an issue, it's worth mentioning this when booking. The hotel has a lift but the various levels could still be difficult for some people. Don't expect extensive views as the location doesn't have them - just enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.

The food, including breakfast, was universally good to excellent - although my duck stir-fry had more in common with "ping" than Peking. A bad choice on my part and the exception.

The (multi-national) staff in this hotel were superb and helped to make our stay as enjoyable as it was. Our visit was right at the end of their season but even though many of the staff had clearly had a busy festive season and were looking forward to going home (to Kenya in one case), they were friendly, chatty and exemplary.

For public transport users, there is a fairly regular service in and out of St Helier with stops right by the hotel entrance. The town centre is an easy fifteen to twenty minute walk, as is the Esplanade, where buses run to the airport and the west of the island - we walk and use buses a lot and Jersey is perfect in both respects.

All in all a very relaxing break and great value. The modern, quirky Inn Boutique may not be everyone's first choice but it should definitely be on your list. We will certainly be back as it suited us down to the ground.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBarra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnedunham, General Manager at The Inn Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future

Lynne Dunham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Lovely relaxing break, staff were very friendly, had a very nice evening meal and lovely breakfast. huge bed in a clean comfortable room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

the hotel was excellent good friendly service food top quality and room great the best bed i have slept on in years i will return to this hotel when next back in jersey the bar menu was outstanding

Room Tip: the superior rooms are perfect for what we wanted all the extras we needed including safe and the bath helps after a long day
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews