We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, friendly hotel.”
Review of The Inn Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn Boutique
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
S.Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb, friendly hotel.”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

After meeting Steve the owner all became clear, the hotel reflects the man.
Warm, friendly, clean with high standards of customer care.
Travelled extensively and this is on a value for money terms as good as it gets.

Room Tip: Bus fare on number 15 from airport £1.70 each then 1 mile walk, catch a taxi, it cost £13 both ways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimmoS_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    259
    72
    17
    6
See reviews for
83
434
37
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We selected the Inn during our January 2012 stay in St Hellier as a one night gap filler before taking a string of nights in the Grand Jersey.. The Inn promoted its fine dining, local cuisine. and professional service.
First the good news. The place presents well and has potential to satisfy. Car parking while cumbersome is well managed and problem free despite being in a lot across the road. The welcome and check in was friendly and pleasant.
Our room was spacious and well finished for the price.
But
the drain smell was overpowering, maybe because the exhauset fan was left on and drew in the odour from the bath drain but really it all means the plumbing was wrong. We requested it be bleach flushed and a man came with a botle of spay soap which was totally inneffective and we were left to suffer the smell for the night. . No offer of a room change.
The promised cuisine experience was accepted and we booked a table for diner at 8pm. On our arrival we were shown not to the dining room but to the bar tables where a football match was on the TV, rowdy enthusiasts merrily drinking and the menue not enticing. We had two starters each which were each so ordinary as I write this I can't even remember what they were.
To be fair to the Inn it may have been just off season and a quiet night, maybe they don't like happy Australians on holiday, but we were placed in a room a long walk away for a hotel with so many vacancies it wasn't worth openning the restaurant , and we should have been told the restaurant was not going to be open . St Hellier is not short of great restaurants we would have preferred to go to.
Others may have had a better experience of the Inn so don't judge them on our lousy time. But be aware on checking in to ask the bleeding obvious and demand the best available.

Room Tip: do not accept a room until you have been in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grailinvestment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnedunham, General Manager at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
I am most sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay with us last month. It is unfortunate you did not ask to speak to me or my assistant as I was only aware of your dissatisfaction after I read your comments form on departure and the subsequent two reviews published on this and another travel website.

I have spoken to my staff and they have confirmed that you did tell them about a smell in your room.

We did send a member of staff to your room to investigate and although he could not find a problem with the drains as a precaution he poured some drain cleaner down the toilet, sink and bath.

You state that the extractor fan was left on, but this goes on and off with the bathroom light.

My staff wrongly assumed that after the maintenance visit to your room and the fact that you asked for more coffee to drink in your room everything was in order. This was wrong of them to assume as they should have checked with you. We would have gladly changed your room.

Although I don’t doubt that you did smell something and must apologies for this fact, I have not been able to establish the cause and there has not been a reoccurrence of the problem.

Regarding your table reservation, being a Monday in January our restaurant was quieter than normal. Rather than have diners sit in a restaurant with little atmosphere our restaurant manager decided just before service to close the restaurant and locate those eating on tables in the bar area but away from the actual bar and television. On the rare occasion this happens we still offer our full menu and specials and we have always had positive feedback as the ambience, with the low lights, candles and real fire is something very special.

I would like to point out that we do not put up with “rowdy” behaviour but on the other hand we do not have a problem with customers enjoying themselves.

I am sorry you did not like your meal, we have a very extensive menu and for the starters there is a choice of 16 hot and cold dishes + daily specials including fresh Jersey Oysters, local Scallops, pates, chilli and ginger marinated beef, homemade soups and much more.

You are right, St Helier does have some great restaurants and the feedback we get is that we are way up there amongst them.

At THE INN we are committed to being customer focused and have comfortable rooms and great food, it is a real shame that your perception of your stay does not reflect this.

Yours faithfully

Lynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackford, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Inn Boutique is a lovely wee hotel. The staff could not do enough for me and the food was well thought out, perfectly cooked and presented. Accommodation was a little cramped but I very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackfordJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was a short break for my wife and me between Christmas and New Year and the Laterooms deal we were lucky enough to get proved to be all we wanted and expected.

We were greeted warmly and although we arrived at about one-o-clock, our room was available within 20 minutes. The room itself was one of the superior ones - Durrell in our case - and although quite small, spotless and nicely equipped with a few steps down to a modern bathroom. The hotel is on a hill and would originally have been two or three separate houses, so inside it's a little quirky with stairs where you wouldn't expect them. If mobility is an issue, it's worth mentioning this when booking. The hotel has a lift but the various levels could still be difficult for some people. Don't expect extensive views as the location doesn't have them - just enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.

The food, including breakfast, was universally good to excellent - although my duck stir-fry had more in common with "ping" than Peking. A bad choice on my part and the exception.

The (multi-national) staff in this hotel were superb and helped to make our stay as enjoyable as it was. Our visit was right at the end of their season but even though many of the staff had clearly had a busy festive season and were looking forward to going home (to Kenya in one case), they were friendly, chatty and exemplary.

For public transport users, there is a fairly regular service in and out of St Helier with stops right by the hotel entrance. The town centre is an easy fifteen to twenty minute walk, as is the Esplanade, where buses run to the airport and the west of the island - we walk and use buses a lot and Jersey is perfect in both respects.

All in all a very relaxing break and great value. The modern, quirky Inn Boutique may not be everyone's first choice but it should definitely be on your list. We will certainly be back as it suited us down to the ground.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBarra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnedunham, General Manager at The Inn Boutique, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future

Lynne Dunham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Lovely relaxing break, staff were very friendly, had a very nice evening meal and lovely breakfast. huge bed in a clean comfortable room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
1.2 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
1.1 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 32 in St Helier
1,931 reviews
1.3 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 32 in St Helier
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
Grand Jersey Hotel & Spa
#6 of 32 in St Helier
1,665 reviews
1.2 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#5 of 32 in St Helier
1,515 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in St Helier
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Boutique? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Boutique

Property: The Inn Boutique
Address: 14 Queen's Road, St Helier JE2 3GR (Formerly Queens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St Helier
#9 Business Hotel in St Helier
#12 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,832 - ₹ 15,664
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE INN is an award winning friendly boutique Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, a 10 minute walk into St Helier centre. The hotel has 36 beautifully decorated comfortable rooms, including suites, all with excellent modern facilities. Classic Rooms have hospitality tray, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, snack basket and safe. Superior rooms and Suites also have ipod docking station, DVD player, bathrobes and complimentary mineral water. Facilities within the hotel include an open plan bar, free WiFi, outside smoking terrace and free car parking facilities. THE INN also has a contemporary air-conditioned restaurant, very popular with locals, with an extensive menu including Specials which take full advantage of local produce.Our friendly team will always be on hand with attentive service, and guests always comment on our superb staff. Our customers are always our number one priority and we strive to offer everyone something very special at THE INN. THE INN is very proud to have retained a GOLD award from Visit Britain for the seventh year running, which recognises outstanding levels of quality, comfort, customer care and food. THE INN Restaurant also holds a Taste Jersey award.THE INN aims to be different to any other Hotel on the Island in terms of the ambiance and diversity of what we are offering. Look forward to seeing you soon! Please note we are situated on the outskirts of St Helier which is a busy town and some rooms may suffer from a little road noise at peak times. Our main car park is situated opposite the hotel and when full we ask guests to block in other cars and leave their keys at reception to enable us to move cars around, which we are insured for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Boutique Hotel St. Helier
The Inn Boutique Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing