We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent throughout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent throughout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Returned from this hotel yesterday , I work away on business on a regular basis , this hotel was one of the best

Excellent service from all staff I came into contact with
Very clean and comfortable rooms , well presented with complimentary items
Free view T.V , plenty of space and lots of room for personal items ,
High quality breakfast with all the trimmings

And very importantly a good night sleep , comfy bed and no noise from the hotel or outside ,

I would highly recommend this hotel ,

Customer service is first class at this hotel , and must be a priority for them .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eve68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
The Best Western Royal Hotel is operated to International Brand Standards set by Best Western International. My team are delighted that the standards set have been so warmly recognised by you and thank you for your kind feedback.

Your comments will be passed to my staff who I know gain great satisfaction from knowing that their efforts are appreciated.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    274
    69
    26
    8
See reviews for
104
428
31
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stopped at this hotel twice it is in a good location for exploring Jersey. The bar is quite nice with a good selection of drinks. The food supplied is very good. There is a very small Gym ideal if you just want some light exercise, if you like to run i would run outside as you can get to the beach in no time and run along the waters edge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us once again.

We are indeed in an excellent location, near the vibrant high street in Jersey's capital. In addition, St. Helier's brand new high quality Town Park is only metres away from our front door. This has open areas, playground facilities, public art and much more. With summer coming, this makes the Royal an even more popular choice for 2012.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel founded in Victorian times at the back of town, complete with "creaky" corridors. It was a little hard to judge what it would be like during the high season, as I arrived there late on a cold rainy night in January.

Rooms: Decor of both bedroom and bathroom was in a 1970's timewarp but the room was clean, comfortable and spacious.(vast, being a triple room). What more could you want?

Breakfast: Food and service both excellent.

Reception: Pleasant friendly reception and assurance of allocation of a good room. After queuing in the rain for 30 minutes for a taxi at the airport, and arriving at the hotel a little before 22h on a cold Sunday night, I was ready to eat and disappointed to be told that there was nowhere open in St Helier., I suggested that Italian restaurants might be open later and the staff were helpful and willing to telephone, without success. Fortunately I could see an advert for a Portuguese restaurant which looked lit up when I passed it in the taxi, and they were happy to accommodate me (to the surprise of the hotel staff). Staff willing, but I had to take the initiative.

All in all it turned out to be a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellensian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerJersey, Manager at Best Western Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your constructive review and we are pleased that you felt that you had a good stay with us at the Royal.

Your comments in respect of late restaurant opening are noted. It is unfortunate that you had to wait for a taxi at Jersey Airport for half an hour as this did mean that you arrived at the hotel a little later than would normally be the case. We have updated our list of restaurants and now have more information in case of such occurrences. Thank you.

It is worth noting that we have been awarded an AA Rosette at our own Seasons Restaurant, situated alongside our reception area. This, along with an all day comprehensive menu in our Bar 27 venue, makes for a good set of dining options within the Royal itself.

I do hope that the above is helpful and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Best Western Royal Hotel again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions in the past and have always enjoyed our stay but we have to say that the 'Festive package' was excellent in everyway and great value for money.

From the time we arrived the receptionist was extremely helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble from all the staff including waiting staff, chambermaids and the management team. The manager's welcome drinks night was very useful as it enabled us to meet other guests who were staying over the festive period. We ate in the restaurant on more than one occasion in which the food was faultless and the menu well varied. The highlight of our holiday was New Year's Eve which we thoroughly enjoyed. The gala buffet, entertainment and Scottish pipers were truly amazing!

To top it off when our ferry was delayed due to bad weather conditions the receptionist kindly organised for us to keep our room until we departed and even phoned us later on that evening to offer us a packed lunch for the trip home which we thought was very thoughtful. We will definitely be coming back this Christmas and New Year. A well organised and managed hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrannyGrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We have stayed at The Royal a number of times now and it never fails to impress. It's part of the Morvan Family Hotel group and you can certainly tell its a well run family business. Very friendly and efficient staff, you feel very much at home. The attention to little details are noticeable and the food in the restaurant is highly recommended especially the tasty and generous breakfast. The bar is also a cozy spot for an evening drink or a light dinner. Plus free parking and wifi and just a short walk into town - all at good value rates. Can't ask for much more than that.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyBean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Helier hotels
0.8 km away
Royal Yacht Hotel
Royal Yacht Hotel
#2 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.8 km away
Pomme d'Or Hotel
Pomme d'Or Hotel
#4 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.5 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#6 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Savoy Jersey
The Savoy Jersey
#7 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.8 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 31 in St Helier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Hotel
Address: David Place, St Helier JE2 4TD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Helier
#11 Business Hotel in St Helier
#14 Romantic Hotel in St Helier
#14 Family Hotel in St Helier
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,087 - ₹ 12,343
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the principal hotels in Jersey, the Best Western Royal Hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the quality pedestrian shopping areas of St Helier. Equally suited to the leisure or business traveller, this attractive 89-bedroom hotel also boasts suites, rooms with balconies and 'four poster' bedrooms; AA Rosette restaurant and informal bar; Large rooftop terrace. Graded 3 stars by the AA. Parking is available but is limited to 16 spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Best Western Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Helier
St Helier Best Western
Best Western Royal Hotel Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing