We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be recommended”

Green Olive Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 225 Restaurants in St Helier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 38
Cuisines: Asian, Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are not a Vegetarian Restaurant ,but have unusual Veggie options, we do not serve red meat, we specialise in Vegetarian,Seafood,and White meats,sourcing from Local Farmers and producers the very best in Fresh Jersey produce ,Our Food is unusual and different from the normal, we always concentrate on flavour & use modern culinary techniques, we have appeared in The Good Food Guide Uk since 2011,which we are very proud of .
cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“To be recommended”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

As regular visitors to Jersey The Green Olive is always on our list of favourite restaurants and once again we were not disappointed. We did book a few days in advance as it can get very busy and we were wanting a Friday night table. We are creatures of habit and always choose garlic bread and olives to share for a starter along with the complimentary bread basket and I usually have one of the very unusual salads which can be served with either salmon or chicken but this time chose the samosa main course which was served piping hot with couscous and found everything to be full of interesting flavours, hubby chose the curry with added chicken which went down equally as well - so impressive for everything right down to the ice cream to be home-made! Whilst we don't come across many restaurants that add 10% service charge we don't find this a problem as we would willingly tip at least that as everbody works so hard. Already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandv30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenOlive1, Owner at Green Olive Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for kind review,hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    73
    26
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, overpriced.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Food quality was very good. Had the Early Bird menu, thought they were a bit stingy with the bread, and especially with the thai chicken curry which it said was served with poppadoms and when it arrived there was only half a poppadom stuck in the curry making the bottom of it soggy. We were also v disappointed when the bill arrived to find that a 10% service charge had been added, there was no mention of this on the menu. We prefer to make our own choice of leaving a tip dependent on the service received. The service was just OK. As for the price of Perroni lager, go teetotal. Food quality v good, service ok, not particularly value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GANDS9213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenOlive1, Owner at Green Olive Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
It was very amusing reading your review:bread was a bit stingy all you had to do was ask for some more, we would have been only to happy to oblige. The £16.95 3 course menu is not only very good value for money but each main course that is on the early bird menu they also feature on the a la carte menu and each main course at approx £11.95 all our homemade desserts are priced at £5.95,so the customer opting for the early bird menu is already on a winner right from the start. Also you have a varied choice of starter and unlimited bread if you so desire,10 per cent service is also clearly printed on the menu,as far as prices on drinks we are priced exactly the same as many establishments within the Island and our supplier gives us guide lines on what to charge. Our wine list has wines prices start at £13.95 to our most expensive bottles at £30.00 with an exception of our Champagnes. How someone can complain at a very good selection of dishes within a £16.95 menu and make a rather silly comment and call us overpriced is beyond me .It says The Green Olive above the door not K.F.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
605 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Inspired vegetarian food”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

As a vegetarian I was very impressed with the options and the quality of the food. Instead of the usual dull 'pasta in tomato sauce' type of food we are usually offered they had a fab selection and everything tasted sublime!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenOlive1, Owner at Green Olive Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for kind review,hope to see again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

First time at the Green Olive, nice and relaxed atmosphere, super fresh ingredients and with a twist (especially compared to the rest of the restaurants in Jersey where, although they may serve nice food, are all too similar menus). Service was fantastic. Me & my wife left the restaurant extremely happy and raving about the place! We can't believe we have been in Jersey over 7 years and never been, def go back at the earliest opportunity!

Regarding the less favourable comments on here, I honestly think that there are some people that can never be pleased!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerseymod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Green Olive Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review,and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Over hyped and over priced”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Chosen from previous reviews and entry in a Jersey restaurant guide. The latter was wrong as regards the availability of "pre-theatre" menu and the a la carte frankly no different from dozens of similiar restaurants europe wide. I therefore think the praise is overdone and the prices frankly not justifiable.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lawmanglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Green Olive Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
DISAPPOINTED,you did not enjoy our little restaurant you said in your review that the early diner menu was not available to you it is served between 6-7 table to be vacated by at the latest 8.00,this menu offers a 3 course dinner with a variety of choice on each course for the very reasonable price of £16.95,this small Restaurant offers fresh food cooked to order and every dish is made in house including our icecream,i think that you were expecting a totally different experience as you were staying in The Club and awarded them a 5 star rating,firstly we are a casual Restaurant,no frills ,no large brigade of chefs,just 2 chefs cooking and aiming to please our customers ,which we Do very successfully,Unfortunately we cannot and will not please everybody[Such As yourselves].We are very proud of our Restaurant which has been in the Good Food Guide Uk for the last 2 years and was short listed by our customers for Restaurant of The Year 2013 in the South West Region.As far as our menu this is totally incorrect as our menu is totally different from any Restaurant certainly in Jersey,we do not offer red meat our flavours our totally original and unique,this is another reason why people come to experience The Green Olive.Life is For Living Be Happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Olive Restaurant also viewed

 
St Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Green Olive Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing