We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable value and service, what a wonderful place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surrey Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 21 St Helier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our 7 nights stay at Surrey Lodge. From the first moment I contacted owners Dave and Jean I was struck by their friendliness and helpful manner.

The property was in a brilliant location for me as I enjoy staying in St Helier. It was great to be able to take a short walk every day and find ourselves right in the centre of town. We both loved the delicious breakfast that was prepared by Dave. It was a pleasure to chat to Jean and Dave as they are extremely knowledgeable about the island and will go the extra mile to help guests enjoy their stay on the island by booking trips for them and offering advice on places to visit.

Our room was nicely furnished and cleaned every day. It was great to be able to store drinks in the mini fridge, relax in front of the flat screen TV and have a real feeling of space in our room. For the price you pay, you will struggle to find a better appointed room in St Helier.

I would stay here again without question, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ste6weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights on a recent trip to Jersey and were extremely happy with the accommodation provided by Dave and Jean. The bedroom, bathroom and public rooms were spotlessly clean and obviously well cared for. The breakfasts were cooked to perfection and a great start to the day! Dave and Jean are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The guest house is in a street a few minutes walk from the main shopping area and about 10-15 minutes walk from the bus station. We would certainly recommend this guest house and would stay there again if we return to Jersey. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Henrysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Wonderful place to stay. We are veggies and the breakfast was wonderful. Very clean, very comfortable and Jean and Dave are great. The location is a little noisy when we went but this didnt matter as Jean and Dave where there looking after us. There is a shop on the corner and a chippy on there other and a very nice restaurant just down the road. Very convienient. Jean and Dave are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wingwalker5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed with Jean and Dave in May 2011 for a family wedding on the Island, booking two rooms. My sister and I had a twin room with en-suite which was a lovely size, good
wardrobe space and very clean. Mum was in a double room again with en-suite and
was delighted with her room. Breakfast cooked by Dave was lovely with a different choice each morning. Lovely couple and very welcoming. They run this guest house very professionally and make their guests feel very at home. The fridge in the room is an added extra and would be very beneficial in the hot summer months. The guest house is also in a great location, within a few minutes walk from the town centre, although not noisy in any way (and I'm a light sleeper and didn't get disturbed). I would definately stay again and would recommend Jean and Dave's hospitality to anyone looking for an immaculate and comfortable base for their sightseeing on this beautiful Island.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Auntie-Biff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed at the Surrey Lodge for a week with my husband and parents (in different rooms!). Jean & Dave made us all feel very welcome. Our room was lovely. Large bed, mini fridge, tv, tea/coffee making facilities and the now infamous penguin biscuits every day! Breakfast each morning was well cooked by chef Dave. One morning we asked for breakfast a little earlier as going out to which Jean & Dave were more than happy to accomodate. If you want, they will even provide a breakfast tray with cereal & rolls in your room. Rooms were lovely and bright and very clean. It is within easy walking distance to the centre of town.
Jean & Dave could not do enough to help - booking taxi's, giving advise and generally very friendly and helpful. We had a fantastic week's stay and would highly recommend to our friends. Thank you both very much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glyn-Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helier
1 km away
The Inn Boutique
The Inn Boutique
#5 of 31 in St Helier
795 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Royal Hotel
Best Western Royal Hotel
#8 of 31 in St Helier
857 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel, Jersey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#1 of 2 in St. Ouen
248 reviews
1.1 km away
De L'etang
De L'etang
#1 of 21 in St Helier
125 reviews
5 km away
St. Magloire Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surrey Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surrey Lodge Guest House

Address: 20 Belmont Road, St Helier JE2 4SA
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Jersey > St Helier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St Helier
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Lodge is a small friendly guest house with just 7 bedrooms, and we aim to make your stay with us as comfortable and relaxed as posssible. We are ideally situated in the heart of St Helier, just a few minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The sea front, bus station, Elizabeth Castle, parks, cinemas, museums etc are all within level walking distance. There are numerous restaurants of all types nearby, many offering al fresco dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surrey Lodge Guest House Hotel St. Helier
Surrey Lodge Guest House Jersey/St Helier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing