We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
20
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river stayed here castle oaks shirley charcos shannon wedding ireland
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Really lovely location on Shannon bank and five minutes walk from gastropub. Excellent value, as friendly a welcome and as good a breakfast as is possible to find.
Period feel to rooms offering comfortable accommodation.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Skirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

See on the banks of the river Shannon the Rivergrove is a quaint guesthouse. Shirley is a lovely lady and attentive host.
The rooms are adequate but a little dated which is not a problem since a room is not why we visited Ireland. The breakfast was excellent and Shirley caters for the individual. The views from the conservatory and our bedroom overlooking the river was simply stunning.
The location is a good base for traveling the area we would especially recommend Killaloe and Ballina area. Our reservation was we arrived Monday lunchtime and everywhere for food or tea/coffees in the local area was shut apart from the Castle Oaks hotel which although we found was excellent it was fair walk. We can however recommend Charcos pub three hundred yards from our guesthouse which did us proud for a pint of a nighttime.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We had a throughly enjoyable visit travelling the length of Ireland to stay with Shirley and her husband. Our late arrival and request for an early breakfast was not a problem. This lovely couple shared their idyllic home which is situated right on the edge of the majestic river Shannon.
We will definitely return in the future.
J Johnston

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jeremy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Rivergrove to attend a wedding nearby.

I had an attic room with skylight with view of the river, beds, futon, desk and a little seat under the skylight. Ensuite small bathroom with shower.

Breakfast was has nice (cooked breakfast plus fruit, cereals, juice, tea, coffee), and is served in a conservatory with view of garden and river.

Since the pricing is per person, it was excellent value for a single traveller (but very reasonable for a couple as well)

The hosts are so welcoming and friendly, they even gave me a lift to the wedding venue!

Would definitely recommend it for someone wanting a cosy, quiet place for a good price.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jenny Marthine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Rivergrove and Castleconnell might be part of the "World's End", but the town is quaint and welcoming, and close to so much to do and see in western Ireland. Shirley and Justin are among the most welcoming hosts we have ever experienced-- gracious accomocations, delicious food, and delightful conversation. Rivergrove is a great place for traveling familes or larger groups (we had 7). We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 1 has the largest bathroom, rooms 2-4 have much smaller, although completely adequate bathrooms.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wikiwikifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews