We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Week end away at Bansha Castle”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Bansha Castle

Bansha Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bansha Castle
Bansha Castle at Christmas Bansha Castle lawns and Copper Beech
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Bansha Castle
Bansha Castle at Christmas
Bansha Castle lawns and Copper Beech
Snooker room
Bansha Castle
Entrance Hall
Bansha Castle 1895
Cahir Castle
Gardens
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bansha, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
david916
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Week end away at Bansha Castle”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On the occasion of my 60th birthday my family gave me a week end stay in Bansha Castle .The whole family of 10 adults and 6 children duly arrived on Friday afternoon to what can only described as a heavenly retreat.The castle and all it has to offer was ours for the week end..Set on its own grounds about ten minutes walk to the local village it was the ideal setting to spend some relaxing time.We were blessed to have some beauitfull weather so we were able to use facilities in the rear garden area to enjoy some barbequed food on Saturday afternoon I would highly recommend Bansha Castle for a family occasion or just as a holiday stay for a large group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katzben5
County Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a fault to be found.... Exquisite!!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from an unbelievable stay at Bansha. One of the most relaxing and beautiful places I have ever stayed. I was very sad to leave on Sunday. The owners really do make this house. Check in was simple and hassle free. Owners very welcoming. Rooms are very very spacious. Bed are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The kitchen is so well equipped you would be hard pressed to find something missing, I certainly didn't want for anything. Large fridge and oven, ample ware etc.
The terrace... Oh my!!! Stunning. I could have sat out there all day and night. So relaxing and a fabulous heater that comes on at a flick of a switch.
Minutes walk from a very well stocked shop at the end of the driveway.
We drove from cork and only 50 minutes drive on good roads.
Dinner was cooked by the owners on Friday night and catered for 20 of us... Every single person cleared their plate. It was delicious and served up with ease.
I really have no negatives from our stay here. From the owners to the house everything was perfect! I would highly recommend a stay here. I am currently looking for another excuse to book a return visit!!!!
Thanks Teresa & John. Fingers crossed I will see you soon.
Kathryn
X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jljohnson...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful resting place!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at Bansha Castle in mid July and it was wonderful. I traveled around Ireland in 2013 for 12 days and stayed at a different location almost every night. I was looking for a central location to travel from to the key places I wanted my family to see as well a separate rooms with bathrooms for each couple or family member. For these reasons I chose Bansha Castle. The seven bedrooms were large and well appointed and each had its own bathroom.
My cousin is a chef and he cooked all the meals and many dinners on the new grill. Thank you John! He thought the kitchen was well stocked with the nessecary equipment (pots, pans, utensils, and serving prices). The billiard table was enjoyed almost every evening by my competitive family.
We were able to get to Old Head golf course, the Ring of Kerry, the Cliffs of Mohre, Ballybunion golf course, and Kilkenny in less than 2 hours from Bansha Castle.
John and Teresa were wonderful hosts. We only saw them when we needed to. They invited our group of 9 over for wine and appetizers one evening during our stay and it was lovely.
If you want to be able to say to stayed in a castle while in Ireland chose Bansha Castle. It provided my family with a beautiful resting place for a wonderful trip that will be fondly remembered by all.
Thank you John and Teresa!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GauravMas...
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is very beaturiful place to stay. Very specious. One major benefit is the unlike many European vacation this place has all bedrooms with en suite bathroom except one.

Rooms are specious. Lots of natural light in all rooms. There is huge lawn. There is lot of common area within the property viz. living room, library etc. They also have backyard with sitting arrangement.

Owners are very very helpful.

Few things to keep mind is Bansha is name of small town and there are other properties with similar names like Bansha House etc.

Town is small. We did not find any major grocery store nearby. Nearest TESCO or LIKD is about 7//8 km away, though it is not a big problem.

Most attaractions are about 45 min to 2 hours away.

From Dublin it took us about 2.5 hours to reack. Cork airport is nearer but Dublin has more international connections.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect mix of new and old”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just spent a long weekend at Bansha Castle and it has everything you could ask for. John and Teresa made us feel very welcome indeed, the house was very clean and very comfortable indeed. Real log fires, out door seating with heating, well equipped kitchen and ensuite bathrooms with wonderful beds and bedding. A real homely feel, yet its a mansion. We do this every year, staying at different places and this has to be one of the best...the space just works and there is plenty of room everywhere.
Thanks very much for a brilliant stay...I wouldnt hesitate to book it again and recommend thoroughly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing