We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stopover an hour from Dublin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Killeshin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Stopover an hour from Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here enroute from Dublin to Kerry great welcome large clean room great bathrooom
we had an excellent meal in the bar at night and a lovely Irish breakfast that set us up for the day

Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    185
    79
    39
    25
See reviews for
165
207
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coseley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

A nice and friendly hotel, which appeared to be heavily frequented by the locals at lunch times for food and for meetings. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi only available in the public areas at present and the in-room wired networking was not working in 2 out of 3 rooms tried and the last one it was intermittent.

Food in the bar was excellent and would recommend both the fish and the burger.

Room Tip: As for a room on the back as the front can be overly noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Kind regards,

John Flannery
The General Manager
The Killeshin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

The room was larger than expected and very clean and well maintained......except for the fact that there was poor lighting. There was a lamp beside the tv (unnecessary) but none near the two reading chairs. The bed was comfortable but we didnt like the smoking smell in the bathroom! That was not pleasant at all. We mentioned it on check out and were told there were ony four smoking rooms......so.....were we given one???? The smell seemed to come from the vents. We used the business lounge as wifi was not available in the room, but was also available in public areas. Bar meal was fine and service friendly. It was definitely a good spot to stop on a long drive as there was also a pool if you felt like a real break.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker check you are getting a non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilhem_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate all feedback we get from our clients.

Unfortunately wifi is only available in public areas and broadband is free in the bedrooms - we hope to have free wifi in the bedrooms later this year. However, we have increased our bandwidth to become up to 5 times faster than it was to allow faster download and upload speeds.

With regards to the smell of smoking in the bathroom, I just wish to say that not all guests will adhere to the non-smoking rooms and will smoke anyway. In most cases this is done in the bathrooms so the fire alarms aren't set off. This is a constant battle we are trying new ways to tackle but I must apologise if it inconvenienced you during your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to bring these comments to our attention.

Yours sincerely,

John Flannery
The General Manager
The Killeshin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruff, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

I thought the room was beautiful and spacious. Dinner in the bar was delicious and good value although we were waiting half an hour for a burger and spring rolls. The service for the most part was good however we requested extra towels twice and they never arrived. We found it quite noisy too due to the road outside. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. The food was cold, especially the eggs! No freshly squeezed juice. The fruit salad was nice. Soda bread was not on display but was brought when requested. All in all I thought the rooms were fabulous but I was disappointed with other aspects of the stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

There were 3 of us sharing a triple room for a decnt price.Reception was fine,staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was typical full Irish and set us up for the day. Nothing to complain about.Good value.

Room Tip: Easy, Check the room before you accept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremiahLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.1 km away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
13.2 km away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
15.8 km away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
21.4 km away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Property: The Killeshin Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,903 - ₹ 8,240
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel is a contemporary hotel with roots in the past. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure underground car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing