We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay in a delightful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Mount Brandon Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mount Brandon Cottages
Mount Brandon Cottages from the garden Box Sheep (by Carmen Wenner)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Mount Brandon Cottages
Mount Brandon Cottages from the garden
Box Sheep (by Carmen Wenner)
Morning scene on the Barrow
Misty Barrow morning
Barrow morning II
The bridge from Tinnahinch into Graiguenamanagh
Barge on the River with Brandon Hill in the background
Barrow swan
The Barrow from the air
Tinnahinch and Graiguenamanagh from the air
Blackstairs Mountains
Vista from Brandon Hill
View from Brandon Hill
Up on top
Brandon Hill as seen from the cottages on a frosty morning
Kitchen in House No. 1
Bedroom
Mount Brandon Cottages from the air
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Graiguenamanagh, Kilkenny, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jim T
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a delightful cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We engaged this cottage, based on reviews from Trip Advisor, as a place from which we could launch an exploration into our ancestors in Graignamanagh and environs. We were not disappointed. We had a wonderful stay, we found our ancestors descendants, and we made new friends. Our hostess was marvellous: helpful, accommodating, cheerful--all without being intrusive. She was well-informed about the history of the community, and supplied ample information on other nearby towns worth a visit. The cottage itself was ideal--spacious, clean, well-furnished and homey. We had a splendid holiday exploration, and we will cheerfully return. We enjoyed lovely noon meals at the Duiske Inn, where we were able to invite our distant cousins for a treat. A good time was had by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people we met were wonderful--friendly, charming, and curious about our mission. The village itself was utterly charming.
Liked least: Everything was as close as we ever get to perfection in this world.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandMMeat...
Meath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Easter”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the lovely cottages for Easter 2015, a great time was had, and we found the cottage in excellent condition, & wonderfully clean, with a lovely Easter welcome pack provided by Andrea.
The cottage was fully equipped with everything that you could think of, we did not have to ask for anything but if we did, it certainly would not have been any trouble.
Andrea was on hand to answer any questions we had and fill us in on the local history and places to visit.
Best of all, we got to bring our beloved dog Teddy, so great that the cottages allowed pets.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manoellui...
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in small town”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with my family in this independent apartment around Christmas. It is easy to reach by car the cities around, like Kilkenny, while staying in a quiet, very agreeable place. The small roads and the countryside were some of the best experiences of our trip to Ireland. The owner Andrea was very helpful, and gave us good indications about places to visit, like Woodstock (amazing!). The apartment is very good, large and well equipped. Overall, we enjoyed very much our stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truthsaye...
cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely setting, friendly host, well recommended”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in cottage 1 for the weekend whilst visiting Ireland for a family wedding. The cottage was comfortable and had pretty much all we needed, including free wifi. The hostess Andrea is very friendly and welcoming. The cottages are in a lovely setting just on the edge of the picturesque town of Graigenamanagh which is on the river Barrow and has shops, pubs and restaurants. My sister and family rented the cottage next door - it is ideal for families travelling together but needing their own space. There is a lovely barbeque area which we didn't get to use but we certainly would have if we had stayed longer. Check out was at 10am but we were not pressurised to leave at that time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripper03...
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cosy and Tranquil”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is my second stay in this comfortable cottage. I returned because my friends and I had a wonderful stay there last year. This year it was like returning to a warm and familiar place, the experience made even more pleasurable by the warm welcome received by the owner, Andrea.

The cottage (which has a twin cottage next door) is set in green luscious surroundings on a hill some 10-15 minutes walk from the city. ( Please note here that you need to be very careful walking down to the village as it is a winding road with no sidewalks, and has a few blind spots for both the motorist and pedestrian).

The cottage consists of two double rooms ( double beds) upstairs with a common bathroom and toilet (sadly there is no shower which I think needs to be added here) .
The Ground floor consists of a small comfy lounge with large flat screen TV and fireplace, a single room and a communal shower and toilet. There was plenty of hot water for all 5 of us so no problem there. The beds are extremely comfortable and the place is very warm and cozy.

There is a small kitchen, well appointed with everything you would need, small fridge and table and 4 chairs. This leads onto a patio and a very nice seated bench where one can enjoy a peaceful breakfast or sun-downers surrounded by lawns, trees, bird song and partial views towards the mountains in the distance.

The WiFi is patchy so do not expect to spend the time catching up on your emails. This is a place to switch off and take the time to explore the quaint historical village of Graiguenamanagh and take long walks along the river ( Barrow Walk). The area is quite beautiful, quiet and very peaceful. Please be advised that there is nowhere in the area to have a decent meal so bring everything with you. There is a small grocery store to pick up essentials and a pharmacy if required. You can however have a drink at one of the few pubs in the village.

Andrea is the perfect host and cannot do enough for you. She lives on the property so is always on hand should you need her.

Thanks once again for making our stay so enjoyable, Andrea. We will surely be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great beds
Liked least: no shower
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing