We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“a grand stay in a grand old place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“a grand stay in a grand old place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Had a great short stay at the Killashee during the Punchestown race festival.

The hotel is a grand old thing that actually used to be a Nunnery.
It's a real old fashioned place with great colour, lush furniture and fittings, a great sense of history and a real sense of grandour.
There lots of weddings here and you can see why, its very plush.

My room was very clean and old fashioned, bathroom was immaculate.
Food was great, service was great and the drinks were not badly priced (for a hotel anyway).
Staff were very pleasant and helpful and not able to fault the place at all.

Location is about 3 mile away from Naas high street (e8 taxi) and there's plenty of good bars and places to eat here if you fancy getting out and about.

Pool, sauna, jacuuzi, gym etc all available and enjoyed them all.

A great stay at a great place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurhamPitLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear DurhamPitLad,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Killashee for Punchestown 2012. After an eventful, fun, busy and at times slightly manic week, reading your review truly motivate the team and I alike. I am pleased that every aspect of the luxury Killashee resort was to your taste, from the history to the service to the pricing.

We look forward to welcoming you back for Punchestown 2013, or hopefully sooner.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    317
    160
    94
    62
See reviews for
327
436
30
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monaghan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Went away for a night with mum and sister, we had a beautiful time. The staff wre really helpful and did everything to make the stay really enjoyable. The spa and very relaxing and dinner was excellent. Our room was very spacious with beautiful decor, especailly the wallpaper. Will def. go back soon for another treat. Lovely foyer to sit and relax and people watch.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpurdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very good service in the dining room. Room excellent. Jack's bar and diner staff could be more friendly and welcoming. But overall a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Joseph G,

It was a pleasure to read your feedback on your recent stay to Killashee House Hotel. I am glad our newly renovated rooms and the quality of service in Turners was to your liking. I appreciate your bringing to our attention the service in Jack’s and I can assure you this is being addressed.

It is a priority to us that you become a regular guest at Killashee so we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here on the 20th of April for one night as I was attending a friends wedding with my wife. Unfortunately I didn't get to enjoy the full facilities the hotel has to offer but what I did experience was very good. Nice clean rooms and good service. The hotel is quite big and a little bit scattered in its lay out but had a very good time all the same.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tango24778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear tango24778,

I truly appreciate your sharing you experience on tripadvisor.com of your stay on the 20thApril. I always love hearing that such an important occasion as a wedding was so enjoyable and memorable.

Both the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another mini luxury break in Kildare.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

I had occasion to ring the hotel before our spa break and, just as a ‘by the way’, checked if dressing gowns and slippers were supplied. They were not, unless ordered in advance! I duly ordered them. The driveway leading to Killashee House is splendid as is the view of the house and grounds. The lobby is dark but well-furnished and has an olde worlde charm. At reception they announced that we’d been upgraded which came as a welcome surprise, and that our dressing gowns were in the room. The trek to the bedrooms saw me becoming a little less enamoured. A lift took us up three floors and then we had a very long walk (anyone using a Ryan Air Terminal will know what I mean) to another lift which took us down two floors. Throughout our stay we met confused residents unable to discover their rooms.
Our room was clean with a good sized bed and a small television sitting inside a very large TV cabinet. There was no fridge, no mini bar, but there was a kettle and a supply of tea bags. The kettle had seen better days and one had to be careful of the steam escaping through the handle as it boiled. Despite the beautiful grounds our window overlooked a vast expanse of tarmacadammed car park. So much for the upgrade! I had an immediate appointment for a treatment at the spa but there were no dressing gowns in the room. I lifted the phone to call reception and it fell to pieces in my hand! Thankfully, I cobbled it together, got through to reception, complained about the phone and lack of dressing gowns and was assured of immediate attention. I couldn’t wait – I had to find the spa. Another walk, down one floor in the lift and follow the arrows to a door marked Villa Spa. It opened onto a filthy outdoor staircase (blackbirds were building their nests in the eaves and the stairs were littered with twigs and cigarette butts). The Spa was on the other side of the large car park and I walked through the icy rain to get to it. Killashee House fails to state the distance between the hotel and spa and also that the leisure suite, gym, pool etc. is open to the general public. If one is expecting a relaxing swim or sauna, this is not the place for you. Hotel guests were expected to walk in their dressing gowns (provided) through the large gym where a number of people had come to work out on the weekend and to share the steam rooms with them. On a bank holiday weekend, the pool was quite full with families. I decided not to use these facilities.
Far from feeling relaxed after my treatment I arrived back in my room exhausted and soaked to the skin. Umbrellas are not supplied by either the spa or the hotel. I decided to take a nap. The mattress was good quality and very hard which is ok if you like that. The pillows were equally hard and uncomfortable. Unfortunately, just as I was dozing off, my partner decided to wash his hands and the plumbing sprang to life like an old fashioned steam train running along a rickety track. I literally leapt up in fright. I just wanted to go home at that stage but my partner had organised the trip so that I could spoil myself for a weekend so I gritted my teeth and decided to take a shower before dinner. The bathroom had a bath with a shower head and a free standing shower with a glass door. It looked fairly modern and there was a plentiful supply of hot water but the door stubbornly refused to close unless really yanked shut. The same amount of force had to be applied in order to escape it. The hair dryer extended from the wall like a hoover hose with a nozzle on the end – not ideal but… I began to dry my hair and within seconds the nozzle fell off – it was only held together with sellotape.
Turners, the restaurant which only opens on Saturday night btw, was a beautifully large room with ornate pillars, cornicing and glistening chandeliers. For want of a few dimmer switches the ambience was destroyed but staff was attentive and friendly and the food, much to my surprise, was really excellent.
Killashee House had two weddings on that particular weekend so unfortunately the grounds were closed off to us after dinner. Instead of the walk we expected we went to Jacks Bar which is large and open with an outdoor area for smokers. Unfortunately, the patio heaters were broken and smokers froze as did the women in their wedding outfits who just wanted a break from the celebrations. They were not fixed for the entire 3 days we spent there. Some people complained that they had no heat in their rooms and that they couldn’t sleep as it was bitterly cold. On the way back to our room we noticed various receptacles catching water beneath the radiators in the corridor. The carpets were wet underfoot.
Breakfast was held in the Turner room and that is when it comes into its own – it is spacious and flooded with light. Again, staff members were attentive and there was a wide choice of juices, cereals, fruit, pastries, yoghurt and a good number of cooked breakfasts. On the second evening we ate in Jacks and the food, although simpler fare, was equally good.
On the evening of our third day the heating stopped working in our room and we put a call in to reception. I decided to take a bath. Again the hot water was plentiful but when I went to use the shower head to rinse my hair, it sprung a leak and sprayed all over the place. My partner noticed a line of water appearing on the carpet in the bedroom, quickly followed and criss-crossed by another line. A pipe under the floor had obviously burst. I think we’d been beaten into submission by then and just decided to report it when we went down to dinner. Later that evening, staff told us that they had handled the leak in our bedroom – they’d put towels down on the floor to soak it up!! On the bright side, the heating was now working. In fairness, they offered to move us but stories we’d heard from other residents convinced us that it was best to stick with the devil we knew as we were leaving the following morning. That was a mistake. The heating would not turn off and in the morning the mirrors, windows and walls were all steamed up and I had a sore throat.
Killashee House is beautiful but the extensions added to the original were over ambitious, built cheaply without due regard to the overall aesthetic and with a complete lack of thought with regard to convenience. I can safely say that I will never, ever, be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKillashee, General Manager at Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Pamela52,

Thank you for providing such detailed feedback of your recent stay in Killashee House Hotel. We appreciate your highlighting the beauty of Killashee, and the high quality of service in both Turners and Jack’s.

I would like to sincerely apologise for your experience with the accommodation, we are in the process of renovating our rooms and I am sorry you did not get to fully enjoy your stay due to this. I would also like to apologise for the speed of service from our reception.

I am truly disappointed I did not get to meet you personally during your stay and I hope I will have the opportunity to meet you in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you ever have occasion to be in Killashee again and I will ensure to personally oversee your stay or dining experience.

Kind Regards,

Dee Nix
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naas
2.5 km away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
13.3 km away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
3.3 km away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
23.3 km away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
28.7 km away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure

Property: Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure
Address: Kilcullen Road, Naas, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Naas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Naas
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,901 - ₹ 13,035
Hotel Class:4 star — Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Spa, Naas, Co. Kildare is located just 30 kms from Dublin City Centre & just 2 kms outside of Naas town. Set over acres of historic & intriguing gardens, walkways & parkland, with magnificent views over the Kildare countryside. A hotel that is timeless, natural & elegant where we understand space, fun & food. From family time to fun time, meetings to events and the gym to the spa, Killashee is the ideal retreat to relax & unwind for you & yours. From the hotel's 141 beautifully appointed guestrooms to the indulgent services offered by the Country Club with a 25m swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and a fully equipped gymnasium and also the beautiful Villa Spa with 18 luxurious treatment rooms, there is much to pamper you and much to experience. An oasis of calm, the Villa Spa is the ultimate in sheer relaxation and it is the aim of the Villa Spa to bring you on a journey of total well-being for body, mind & soul. We also have Zing Hair Salon onsite open from Tuesday to Saturday. The hotel boasts two restaurants; Turners Restaurant offers a fabulous fine dining experience overlooking the fountain gardens whereas Jacks Bar & Bistro offers a more casual dining experience from light snacks to extensive lunch, dinner & cocktail menus. There is also live music in Jacks Bar every Friday & Saturday night. The Snug at Killashee House Hotel is a traditional Irish Pub where you can take a step back in time surrounded by open turf fires, admire the many trinkets, antiques and memorabilia from bygone days and of course enjoy an expertly poured pint of Guinness. There are so many activities on the beautiful estate of Killashee House Hotel including the woodland walking trails. Estate Maps are available at reception or why not borrow one of our bicycles which are complimentary to all guests. Take a relaxing stroll through the magnificent Fountain Gardens, Emma's Butterfly Garden in association with DEBRA Ireland or the stunning new gated Jack & Jill Foundation Garden. Also the Off Road Driving Centre in conjunction with Dynamic Events. From basic off - road driving days to fully integrated Team Building events, incorporating full tuition, course participants have a fantastic experience behind the wheel and try conditions that seem impassable but under the eye of the expert instructor. There is also so much to do & see in Kildare and Killashee is ideally located beside numerous fantastic golf courses such as the Craddockstown, Naas Golf Club & the PGA, to name but a few. For the Shoppers, there is Naas Town which offers an abundance of chic boutiques, Kildare Village Chic Outlet Shopping just 10 minutes' drive away, Newbridge Silverware & Museum of Style Icons and the Whitewater Shopping Centre in Newbridge. For unforgettable family days out, the Irish National Stud Visitors Attraction & Japanese Gardens is a must, a picnic at the Blessington Lakes, a visit to Russborough House or Kilruddery House or Carragh Open Farm are just a few of the many fantastic places to visit during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Killashee - Hotel Spa Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killashee House Hotel And Villa Spa
Killashee House Hotel & Villa Naas
Killashee Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing