We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel in beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundstone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel in beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Roundstone House hotel for two nights in April and had a really good experience.
The hotel is in a great location right in the centre of the village with spectacular views and staff were very welcoming and very helpful.
The positives were breakfast - great selection, cooked to perfection & really generous portions (especially the smoked salmon which some places skimp on) - location, staff and a nice bar.
However there were a few negatives - room was a little tired and there was no hot water first night. Plumbing noises woke us up at 6.30am, and we could only get about 3 random channels on TV.
Also in early evening hotel was packed with families with young kids eating which for those without kids is a bit noisy.
Overall though I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Having read a review on TripAdvisor, my husband and I stayed here and we loved our break away. Great spot in the center of quaint Roundstone overlooking the bay. The atmosphere in the hotel was great staff exceptionally friendly and helpful and OMG the food amazing, we ate in the restaurant on our first night & I can't remember ever having fish so good in Ireland. We didn't get a chance to eat the bar food but other guests told us it was really good also and great value. Weather was beautiful too....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moranzinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

I stayed with my husband for a long weekend in August
Centrally located in what is the most beautiful quaint village of Roundstone
Found the staff very friendly and the place had a very relaxed ambiance
Excellent base from which to travel around Connemara ( lots of places to visit, beaches, walks etc)
Food was delightful - first class
Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dee100476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Without question the best food west of the Shannon. You can eat in the bar where there is undoubltely more atmosphere but for a more intimate affair you should try the restaurant. Genuinely ,the best food, portions are enormous so dont eat lunch that day !
Chef is outstanding and has trained in all the best cookery schools in Ireland. If the rain stays away you can enjoy the bar menu al fresco and watch the world go by with a fantastic backdrop of the sea and mountains.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EK1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed here for just one. It was a lovely basic hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious enough. The staff were lovely and by Ireland's standards the rooms were quite reasonably priced. Roundstone is quite a small village so luckily the hotel had a gorgeous food menu and a good atmosphere in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
10.5 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.6 km away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
12.3 km away
Clifden Station House
12.8 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Property: Roundstone House Hotel
Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,484 - ₹ 8,991
Hotel Class:2 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing