We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Night in Ireland!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carna Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Night in Ireland!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Due to the fact that I am not so good of a navigator/travel planner and I thought our hotel was going to be in Galway CITY...hahahaha IT'S NOT-just in case anyone else is confused (Galway COUNTY)...several wrong turns and 2.5 hours later, we made it to the hotel around 11pm. Everyone was really mad at my mistake at first but soon found out that the hotel was well worth the long drive when we heard the traditional Irish music being played live in the pub downstairs and the GORGEOUS mountain scenery that we saw from our windows in the morning. The other guests and bartenders were more than willing to chat with and entertain the four American kids wanting a true taste of Ireland. They were friendly in a way that didn't make you feel like you were a hotel guest. Made a lot of memories-still one of the best nights of my life and by far the best night in Ireland!

Room Tip: We got three rooms and they were all pretty much identical. They're pretty good sized :) Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    47
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
52
58
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a lovely relaxing stay at the Hotel, which is in the heart of Connemara.We had been previously, but just for lunch and always said we would go back and stay. It is a family run Hotel and Mary made us very welcome. The staff could not do enough for us, we had a lovely warm welcome from Patricia also. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable.It has a lovely bar and dining area, serving great food.Great to see so many locals dining and drinking there, which is always a good sign.!
We will definately be back and will bring friends with us, as they would love it too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We went for a celebration meal here on the 4th September, 2011. My son had completed the half - Ironman Ireland and we were greated with a big welcome. We were a party of 8 adults and three small children. The children were welcomed and had a wonderful time. The steaks were the best anyone had tasted for a long time. We had been staying in Connemara for a week and we wish we had known about the superb meals served here and we would have visited more often. Will definitely plan to come back for a longer visit. We were also celebrating our Ruby Wedding anniversary on that day and it was a happy time!! Big thanks!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumseytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We originally stayed here in September 2008. On our return in April 2011 we were warmly welcomed like old friends! This is a small, modern, 3 star family run hotel on the edge of the village of Carna in the heart of Connemara. It's open all year, bar a few days at Christmas. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, the dining room large and spacious, the bar offers relaxed dining ( and generous portions! ) and is popular with guests and locals alike. There's more than ample private parking. Children and pets are welcome. If you want a relaxed stay in the unspoilt beauty of Connemara, where you're made truly welcome then this is the place for you. Try it. You won't be disappointed! We'll certainly be returning again, and again, and again!

Room Tip: The rooms seem identical. We simply book a double room and haven't been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in the carna bay hotel while visiting our son in gaelteacht . First of all our room had a musty smell and the radiator in the bathroom was rusty with a foul smell coming from the shower.second of all food was awful nothing was freshly made .third of all it was not worth the money and we will certainly not be visiting carna again . We have stayed in many three star hotels including Dunmore house in west cork and there is a world of difference between it and the carna bay hotel. But I have to say that the service was very very good.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5432109876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
19.8 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
24.5 km away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
35.6 km away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Clifden Station House
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
25.6 km away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Property: Carna Bay Hotel
Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,215 - ₹ 8,969
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carna Bay Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing