We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citywest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Citywest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel.Good location for the Luas tram into dublin. Very helpful porter and waitresses. The Irish staff are more smiley that others. Food was good and they came in larger portions than we are use to.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at the back...a long walk awaits
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittyboy2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    593
    421
    217
    167
See reviews for
485
471
46
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We booked our stay for one night through a hotel price comparison site, for 2 adult and 2 small children. We were given a family room which had 1 double bed and 2 single beds. The room itself was spacious enough and had tea coffee making facilities, tv, iron and ironing board and an ethernet connection for internet.

The hotel itself is huge, and has a leisure centre with pool gym hair and beauty etc. The check in staff were friendly, and the restaurant staff at breakfast couldnt do enough for us as was the guy on the concierge desk when I was checking out.

The hotels decor is starting to date, and as wings/extensions have been added over the years, what Im sure was a fantastic jewel in the crown hotel is now in need of a makeover, but Im sure in these times of economic woe this would cost an arm and a leg.

To summarize the staff, the food, the facilities were first class, the way from reception to our room was bit confusing the first time but we soon picked it up, for golfers I'm sure the course would be suitable for many, and all in all we would return no bother, but the interior of the rooms and corridors to the rooms needs an update....one other point for parents...the pool does not allow kids after 6pm....

Couple of things the hotel may want to consider...easier walk from car park to reception ie a side entrance, its a long walk when raining and carrying luggage, although you can drop off, a clearer map on the key card holder of how to locate your room.

Room Tip: Family rooms have 2 singles and a double....you will need to check to see if rooms with view are pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbo1975lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here for one night while I was in Dublin on business in the nearby Citywest Business Park, it was convenient for me but it is a long way out from the City Centre if you're looking for a night out. I was told it was quicker to travel in by car than use the "nearby" tram!

My first impression was it is a very large hotel, which is ok but......... if it was busy I could imagine it could be a difficult place to stay at; to get a resto table, long check out queues, you could be miles from reception (it is a BIG hotel) and have to carry bags far, but on the other hand you'd get pretty fit walking around the corridors....

I had a room comparable in size to similar business hotels, everything seemed clean and the bathroom was also a decent size with a whirlpool bath, if you like that sort of thing. The bed was very comfortable and even though it was such a large hotel and I was on the ground floor and not far from the reception area (thankfully), there wasn't much noise, but this might have had something to do with the fact the hotel didn't look busy on this particular evening.

I ate in the restaurant (it was getting late so was also pretty quiet) and the food was ok, not particularly outstanding, pretty much what I expected and I left reasonably satisfied. The Guinness was poured expertly!

Breakfast was better than many hotels I have stayed in and there was a fairly wide selection from the hot and cold buffets.

I'd certainly stay here again as I have stayed in far worse places and there are fairly good leisure facilities if the local roads are unsuitable to run along.

I'd describe it as pretty average in a business hotel sense, but certainly not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Try not to be too far from the reception area - it is a big hotel with long corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here recently (second time staying) as attending a work related event. Some observations:
It has nearly 800 bedrooms and is therefore, large to say the least. Fortunately when I arrived it was not raining, I say this because my car was parked so far away from the hotel entrance it was a very, very long walk. Not joking, some form of shuttle bus would be a reasonable idea! After checking in and having a long walk inside hotel with my luggage (no offer of help or trolleys), I then returned to my car to drive around to unload for the conference. I could not believe the logistics.... vehicles parked in a row in narrow laneway, so had to wait for all to empty before one at front could leave. The event was on first floor so had to use a lift...or rather would have if lift had not been 'locked'. Staff hanging around smoking while watching people struggle with unloading and no offer of help whatsoever.
Restaurant I ate in provided very bland food, nothing you could say was wrong with it, but nothing notably good about it either.
I have to go again as another work related event will take place there, but otherwise I would simply avoid this place liek the plague. It's too big, too impersonal and due to size, everything is not convenient. Ironically, sister hotel is Finnstown Country House and not far away - albeit you might as well say they are in different worlds altogther.

Room Tip: ask for one not far from reception or you could be in for a very, very long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebedee1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saggart hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

As another reviewer said, Citywest "must have been gorgeous in its day." It has apparently lost some of its luster. There were many signs of wear, upkeep that hadn't been done, etc.

That said, our room was very large and comfortable, and the bathroom was large with good water pressure (although the grout needed cleaning...). Linens were all very nice and comfortable.

Two important things to know: 1. The LUAS (tram) that is "at the gates of the hotel" according to the hotel website, is actually a 10-12 minute walk from the hotel at best, and a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel if you are dragging luggage, etc. They would do VERY well to have a little shuttle running between the front door and the LUAS stop! 2. There is no wifi in the rooms! For a hotel of this size/caliber, I find that unacceptable. There is "complimentary broadband" which means ONE person in the room can be connected to the Internet while sitting at the desk. We spent a lot of time sitting down in the lobby bar area availing ourselves of the wifi there.

Eating: The Lemongrass restaurant was lovely, expensive, but good food and good service. The room service menu is exactly the same as the Lemongrass menu - a bit disappointing, once you've already eaten there, and just want something simple in your room. We didn't try the Asian resto. Really no other options unless you want to take a very long walk into Saggart. The lobby/bar area has a few selections, light sandwiches, etc. They also had a very good continental breakfast in the bar/lobby... but not on weekends! (Disappointing). On weekends your only option besides room service is the breakfast buffet. I only wanted coffee and a croissant, and was allowed to go into the breakfast room and have that for 5 euro, but I was made to feel that I was asking for something that wasn't "done".

The parts of the "beautiful grounds" we saw were very mixed, and included a fenced off and littered former parking lot on the walk up from the LUAS stop to the front door. If there were trails, etc., I would love to have been given some information about them when we checked in. Golf course looked gorgeous, and I wish we had had time to play.

We were there for an Irish dance competition, and the venue was excellent for that.

Overall, I would have no problem staying here again for an event, but if my visit were for sightseeing, etc., Citywest is just too far from city center to be worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitePineLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saggart
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clondalkin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glashaus Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tallaght
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citywest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citywest Hotel

Property: Citywest Hotel
Address: Garters Lane, Saggart, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Saggart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,883 - ₹ 13,872
Hotel Class:4 star — Citywest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our ideal location in South Dublin puts you in easy reach of everything from Dublin city centre and airport, each of which is a mere 25 minutes away, to the hills of Wicklow and the plains of Kildare. We even have a Luas light-rail stop on our doorstep, which will take you to the city centre in just 30 minutes. It's the perfect place for a relaxing city break. And, with Ireland's largest choice of conference space, with capacity for up to 4,100 delegates, it's also the perfect place for your conference. Whatever brings you here, you'll find everything you need on site - a leisure centre with 20 metre pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, an 18 hole golf course designed by the late Christy O'Connor Junior, the Hibernian Bistro restaurant and Swift Bars as well as complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Citywest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure & Golf Hotel Saggart
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure And Golf Resort
Citywest Hotel Dublin
Citywest Resort Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing