We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful getaway with all our home comforts and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carraig Gorm

South Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Terrace
Front of house LivingRoom2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
South Terrace
Front of house
LivingRoom2
Dining Area
LivingRoom
Kitchen
CarraigGormEnsuiteBedroom
Single Bedrooom
BedroomWestView
CarraigGormUpstairsBathroom
Landing
ViewfromLivingRoomSofa
Terrace in late Summer
CarraigGormFrontGarden
WildGardenOrchid
Lambs in the field
Carraig Gorm Gardend
LivingRoomView
St. John's Point
Donegal Sea Cliffs
Donegal Coast Blues
Donegal Coast
St.John's Pt. Dolphin Spot
DonegalBayWaterbus
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Laghey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Heather F
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A peaceful getaway with all our home comforts and mod cons”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a delightful week at Carraig Gorm with blustery sunny mild weather and some showers. The accommodation is quite private and spacious and is very comfortably furnished with modern equipment and wifi. The information guide is detailed and very helpful and its a good venue for birdwatchers and walkers. From beaches to mountains and lush lake environs - all are accessible, as well as the Irish buzz of Donegal town. So peaceful and so restful but full of interest. Sheep bleat contentedly in nearby fields and there is an abundance of birds. Margo is a good host offering great hospitality and at the same time space and privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefulness and comfort
Liked least: the mattress was a little soft for my preference
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbiemoo...
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet cottage with stunning scenery”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We are just back from Donegal, Ireland... Carraig Gorm was certainly not disappointing. The owner greeted us when we arrived, she was so friendly and inviting. Took time to explain all the amenities in the cottage. The accommodation was cosy and even more so with the log fire which we needed as the weather was the only disappointing aspect of the stay.
Would recommend this cottage but definitely need a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality,scenery
Liked least: Location...like to be more central to Donegal town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We're just home from a fantastic stay in Donegal, Ireland. We chose Carraig Gorm and we were certainly not disappointed. The owner was there to meet us when we arrived, she was very friendly, was able to recommend many interesting places to visit. The accommodation itself was extremely clean, cosy and had fantastic views over the area.
I would certainly recommend Carraig Gorm to anyone looking to stay in Donegal for a short break or holiday.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisGre
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely property and even lovelier hostess! We'll be back”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a week's stay in this property and, as per previous reviews, cannot fault it! Our only complaint is that it is already booked for the dates were wanted in July!

Margo welcomed us with a burning fire and deliciious freshly made scones. The house has everything you could need and possibly more!

On top of that, Margo had seemingly endless patience with our 7 year old son, who was out the door like a shot as soon as she passed the window - she even took him a walk up to the farm to meet the new lambs!

To sum up - love the house, love the location and we will return at some point!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie F
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home property with fantastic views and helpful, friendly owner”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My first time to Ireland and definitely won't be my last! The welcome from Margo was great with her immediately putting the kettle on and making us feel like we were at home. The views from lounge, kitchen and upper bedroom were fantastic and it's a great location for exploring the local area where there are some lovely beaches/coastlines and walks. On several early mornings I walked down the lane to Mullanasole (~40 mins walk) where I pottered around for a while before my husband came and picked me up. All very peaceful and relaxing. We found the location of the cottage ideal as it was 6 minutes to the nearest supermarket and 15 mins drive into the centre of Donegal town. It's well connected to other areas such as Fermanagh lake country and Donegal coast and hills all within easy reach. Margo had a long list of suggestions of good places to visit (many of which we wouldn't have known about without local knowledge) and the fact that she sent this to us a couple of weeks before our arrival allowed us to think about what we might want to do and see (depending on weather, etc). Such a good idea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing