We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and welcoming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wild Rose Cottage

Wild Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wild Rose Cottage
Slieve League Cliffs - among the highest sea cliffs in Europe - 609 meters Assaranca waterfall near Ardara
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Wild Rose Cottage
Slieve League Cliffs - among the highest sea cliffs in Europe - 609 meters
Assaranca waterfall near Ardara
Maghera Beach
Double bedroom
Port
Spring in Brentar Woods
Donegal Castle - Built by the O'Donnell Cheiftain in the 15th centuary
The open log fireplace
McSwynes Castle
St Johns Point Lighthouse
St John's Point
The Kitchen
Relaxing with a  glass on the Patio
In the Cottage garden
Winter in Dunkineely
The fishing port of Killybegs
St John's Point and Bruckless Bay
Going for a walk at Murvagh
The second double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunkineely, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Nigel W
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent accommodation in an ideal location to explore this lovely part of Ireland. The standard of cleanliness and attention to detail is second to none. The facilities provide everything that you will need - even an electric blanket. Although the owner could not be there when we arrived, arrangements had been made to ensure that we had a warm welcome.We were then visited later to ensure that we had no problems. We will certainly consider visiting this property again should we be in this part of Ireland.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thank you Nigel, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scriobhai
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect Rose...Wild Rose Cottage”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 10 days in this cottage. And, it was wonderful. It was exactly what we had hoped for and more. The location was rural (between Killybegs and Donegal Town) with the owners a house away. Jennifer and Willie were the best. We can't say enough good things about Wild Rose Cottage. It was quaint, clean, good beds and good wifi. The only downside was the roses weren't in bloom!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg A
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Travelers (background):

Since 2007 my wife and I have visited Ireland 7 times staying at numerous cottages during our trips. During our 5 week vacation this year we selected the Wild Rose Cottage the week of 11 – 17 April 2015. Our party consisted of 3 females and 1 male. Ages were 30, 60, 61 & 64. Party origin: 2 – Oceanside, CA; 1 - Grand Forks, ND; and 1 - Rochester, NY (USA).

Cottage (Summary):

Of all my visits to Ireland, this is the first time I felt compelled to submit a review and share just how outstanding this cottage was. Simply stated, the cottage is ideally located for discovering Co Donegal as well as other nearby Counties. If your goal is to explore northwest Ireland, this is definitely the place to stay. It exceeded all of our needs.

Cottage (positive points):

1. The cottage was clean.
2. All the appliances worked.
3. Bedrooms were spacious.
4. Beds were comfortable with clean linen.
5. The fire place was excellent (we used it every night).
6. Flatware and silverware were clean and ready to use (unlike 2 sites this year where I had to wash everything before using it).
7. There was plenty of car parking.
8. The cottage was close to Dunkineely to allow for walks into town and back (especially important so everyone could have a pint or two without anyone having to drive).
9. Wi-Fi was available (we used it at night to research potential sites to visit the next day).
10. The information-binder was current.
11. The road by the cottage was not high-traffic so one was not awaken to vehicles rushing back and forth in the morning or at night (we were out site-seeing during the day).
12. There were numerous electronic devices/amenities, i.e. TV, VCR, etc. which were available for use but our interests were in enjoying Ireland, not wasting time doing something we could do any day back home.

Cottage (negative point):

1. Overly sensitive smoke detector (taken care of by owners).

The Owners:

Willie & Jennifer Mackey gave us a full tour of the cottage when we arrived pointing out all the features and how everything worked. They made us feel truly welcome and were available 24 x7 for our questions or needs (whether it was the problem with the overly sensitive smoke detector or obtaining more Wi-Fi data download due to my daughter forgetting to turn off her auto-sync on her i-pad and i-phone (data-killer)). They provided that extra touch that I haven’t found very often at cottages I’ve rented in the past.

Conclusion:

I most definitely recommend this cottage to others to rent (as long as they don’t interfere with when I want to rent it again).

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for a very detailed review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen Con...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy and comfortable cottage in beautiful Donegal”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay in this cute, cozy and clean cottage! Not to mention, very affordable and in a great location. Thanks Jennifer and Willie for your hospitality. The cottage is equipped with every thing you would want during your stay, but is also very authentic and Irish, giving you a true experience. Great for families as well, plenty of room for kids to run around and even a swingset in back garden! Beautiful views especially at sunset. We will probably be back on our next trip to Donegal!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenri...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable irish treasure”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the wild rose cottage last week for a relaxing family holiday with the kids (2yo and 3mth old) and we had the most amazing holiday! Willie and Jennifer run this letting perfectly with everything you could ever need for young and old. With walking access to dunkineely town where the locals are really friendly we recommend trying out the local bars and baskins cafe. Both donegal town and killybegs are within a 15 minute drive with plenty to offer. But most of all willie and Jennifer made our stay memorable by making sure the kids had plenty of things to do...never met a more thoughtful couple. Thanks guys!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing