We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
267
37
12
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
37
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar scones boutique hotel stunning views fantastic food lounge area didn't disappoint full irish donegal bay stayed longer first class out of this world comfy bed irish hospitality yogurt slieve league cliffs wild atlantic way
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. Wonderful stay and very happy with the services. The stay are very friendly and helpful, the location is fantastic and the weather was great.

We would certainly recommend it to family, friends and the discerning traveller.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alecbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

As much as I don’t want to tell anyone how wonderful Donegal is, I’m compelled to show some love for this place and the lively people that make it extra special.
The views alone would make this place but the attention to detail in setting up the common areas to best enjoy them and all the beautifully appointed rooms bring a resort elegance to the wild bay. The honesty bar helps ensure that all can properly enjoy the spectacular sunsets.
A ten minute drive up the fun little road, a quintessentially Irish jaunt full of tight turns and cows, will put on a beautiful beach too!
My mother and I felt as though we had the entire place to ourselves. The stillness of this place is remarkable - nothing but the sound of the waves!
Sadly we did not have time (or the appetites) to partake in breakfast, which looked amazing, but Chef presentes us with two of his spectacular scones anyway. Then he gave us the best driving tips for making the most out of our day!
You don’t come here for nightlife or meeting people or some cultural Irish experience. What you do get is an absolutely perfect place for romantic solitude. Probably not the place for families and young travelers who are perpetually bored but an absolutely perfect honeymoon spot!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lucreceb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We stayed at Castle Murray for 3 nights in August. There were so many things to enjoy. The view across the estuary is just marvellous and changes continuously with weather and time of day.
The room and bathroom were perfect. The breakfasts were delicious and we made sure to get the recipes for the scones and soda bread.
There is an extensive and very comfortable public seating area with extensive views. There is also an extremely cosy and well stocked honesty bar.
The staff were able to give good advice on places to visit and restaurants.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswakef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

We stayed here in early August for 2 nights with 15 family members. We used 7 of the house's 10 rooms. From the time we arrived the owners, Peter and Marguerite where the nicest hosts. The house is at the beginning of the St. John's peninsula near Dunkineely. There are spectacular views of the bay. Each room is unique and very comfortable. My wife and I stayed in the Ballysaggart room, which is hidden away from the other rooms on the 2nd floor. It has a very large balcony with great views of McSwyne’s Bay and St. John’s Point. The common areas are fantastic, with a beautiful outdoor patio, several indoor sitting areas and a very cozy bar. The bar is self service, just note the beverage and room number and you will be billed at the end of your stay. The included breakfast was outstanding. The Castle Murray House is one of the nicest Inns or boutique hotels my wife and I have every stayed in. If you are looking for a great getaway place to stay this is it.

Room tip: We loved the Ballysaggart room, but all of the rooms are excellent.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glfgryhwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

A beautiful place to stay with stunning views. Rooms are lovely and spotless, the welcome is extremely warm with recommendations in the area for food etc and the breakfast is amazing!!
A wonderful place to recharge the batteries.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews