We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
58
43
26
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
43
26
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was excellent each morning fishing boats small bar good size old harbour harbour side rooms are spacious bar and restaurant single bed quiet place outdoor seating beautiful location base to explore breakfast room staff were very friendly nice room
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

On arrival there was no-one there to welcome us, we waited for about 10 minutes before a scruffy dressed young fellow quickly rushed us to our rooms. Later we inquired about the bar and restaurant as advertised, but to be told that they were both closed and will not open, when I asked could we supply our own drinks and drink them in the bar area we were told yes to the drinks but no to sitting in the bar area, and the reason why is they didn’t want to open it as this would encourage other guests to use it, what a lame excuse. The only place we could have a drink was in the tv room. Therefore, we had to drive at least 4 miles to get a restaurant for dinner, and some drinks to take back with us. This left us drinking warm beer and other beverages, you may have guessed we didn’t drink to much and it was off to bed. After a near sleepless night, we headed for breakfast, well breakfast. Six dirty tables, no staff for at least 5 minutes from when we all seated, the food was beyond a joke. 2 pieces of hard rubbery bacon, 2 burnt under cooked sausages the size of an adult’s small finger, 2 what I could describe a small pieces no bigger than a penny pieces of white pudding and a hard as a rock fried egg, oh and the tea and toast were ok. In a nut shell the food was a joke and the place was a mess. On checkout I put some of the issues to the owners and this did not seem to bother them, we were charged full price for the rooms and sent on our way. Some of the issues we had were, TVs only had 2 channels beds creaky all night, A lot of noise from the owner's children, Showers were filthy, pillows on beds very bad. Overall a very bad experience from start to finish. This was a real joke of a place not worth of another stay. The place could do with a good manager who knows what hospitality is all about, I, or any of our party will not return,

Room Tip: Visit the rooms first and smell for dampness, try choose the rear of the extension as the noise from the children will not be heard
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The_dRmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Stayed at Bunbeg House for 1 night with our two collies Ruadh and Céile whilst driving around the Wild Atlantic Way. The owner and the family were very friendly and made us and our dogs welcome (the family have a dog themselves and were happy to have dogs on the premises). We initially sat outside to eat so the our dogs could be with us but the midges were very bad and we were invited to dine in the reception area. Dogs are also permitted in the TV room but we stayed in reception and had a few drinks after dining there too. The Harbour area is fine for dogs to walk about as it is quite quiet but it is very close to the stunning beach so we spent most of our time walking the dogs on the beach. our early morning walk as the sun was rising was just beautiful. The room was fine and quite spacious and the food was also good. we would definitely return here again with our dogs - Go raibh maith agaibh!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

A beautiful location on the small harbor in Bunbeg. The rooms are simple but adequate and ample, and the inn offers other spaces -- a reading room, a small bar, and a full restaurant. We had a very nice meal at the restaurant, but were equally impressed with the family that owns and operates Bunbeg. Lovely people. We certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank omnivore63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a very clean, very quiet hotel. It's in a beautiful place but it's management leaves a lot to be desired. The woman of the house was extremely nice and her food was absolutely gorgeous, but she didn't have a whole pile of backup. Nobody seemed to have a specific job, hence there was rarely anyone on reception, the bar was badly serviced. The young man whose job it seemed to be spent a lot of time rushing around doing nothing.
The restaurant closes very early (depending on who you are??) We were refused food at 8.10p.m. one night, yet on the following nights people wandered in up to 9.00p.m and not a word was mentioned.
Because reception was unmanned most of the time it made me question the security of the place.
I did enjoy my stay but I won't be in a hurry back to Bunbeg House

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 705claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Really enjoyed our stay here . Lovely big room , compfy bed , soft towels , tea and coffee . Bar and restaurant . Seats outside to enjoy a beer . Good breakfast and coffee . Meals slightly expensive in restaurant but okay .

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TonyDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews