We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“River Finn Cottage - an excellent base if you...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Finn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mature Woodland Gardens Front of Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Mature Woodland Gardens
Front of Cottage
Bedroom 1
The River Finn,
Kitchen / Dining area
Kitchen
Mature Garden
Living Room
BBQ area
Modern Bathroom.
Bedroom 3, Triple Bunk.
Kids play area
Gortletteragh Waterfall
Ballybofey
Drumboe Woods,
Donegal Town
Donegal Water Bus in Donegal Town
Ballybofey and Stranorlar Golf Course
The Balor Theater, Ballybofey
Killybegs Harbour.
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballybofey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mo_In_Gla...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“River Finn Cottage - an excellent base if you want to explore Donegal & The North”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week at River Finn Cottage with Caspar our small Bichon Frise and we all had a great time. The cottage was easy to find and we were very comfortable. In truth, it felt more like a home than a holiday let. It had all the amenities you would expect and then some!

We definitely expect to be back as there is so much more left for us to see!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The warmth and general comfort of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying at River Finn Cottage, this is my first year letting the Cottage and as someone who travels myself, I really wanted the Cottage to feel like a home, so i am delighted you felt that during your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your Holiday and I hope when you return to Donegal you will come and stay at River Finn Cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Perfect Base to Explore the NW of Ireland”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in this cottage in April whilst exploring Donegal and NW Northern Ireland. The cottage is beautifully appointed with everything needed for a comfortable stay and is well placed to visit the NW. The owners, who live next door, are friendly and helpful without being in any way intrusive. Cant recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage
Liked least: Nothing (apart from having to leave)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
Thank you for choosing River Finn Cottage as your accommodation for touring Donegal during your 3 week visit to Ireland. I am so pleased that you found the Cottage to be comfortable and in an ideal location for touring the beautiful landscape, Towns and Cities accessible within a short drive, I really appreciate you taking the time to review River Finn Cottage, and I hope you will come back and stay with us again,

Kind Regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie G
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A lovely cottage in a quiet private setting. Well equipped and ideal for a relaxing break. Ideally located for visiting the local area and all it has to offer, and if you want to go slightly further afield Derry and Omagh are only 30 to 40 minutes drive away.
Highly recommended and I will be returning in the summer for another visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2014
Thank you for your kind review of River Finn Cottage, I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay, I look forward to your return visit in August.

Regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMD77
Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2018
Hi Rosa, thank you so much for the lovely review, it was a pleasure meeting you. I'm so glad you had such a wonderful stay. Gracias.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing