We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
225
88
33
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
88
33
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river duck river barrow fillet steak wedding coordinator curry bar area is poster bed bar menu lovely hotel fish and chips play area wedding venue waiting staff lovely food next morning from start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We had a lovely family get together.
We were seated at a large table in the dining room. Very nice menu with something to suit every one. Except for one . But then there's always one. No rare beef. But they chose salmon instead. And it looked wonderful.
I had the baked ham. Really beautiful. The vegetables were so good. Really fresh and properly cooked. Everything was perfect.
Great desserts. And a very good wine list.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kilmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We were guests at a Wedding and stayed here. The room was nice and spacious and the food was excellent! Staff were very friendly and helpful. The general ambience and decor contributed to the relaxed atmosphere and I will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank geraldinephelan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

The lord Bagenal was a bit of a surprise probably because I pass it frequently and other than dropping in occasionally I never gave it much thought. However I have had the opportunity to experience it as a venue and hotel and wow can they do a great job there. Great staff, great service and fantastic food. It’s also in a great setting with the river Barrow to the rear. Highly recommend it. Had great fun there.

Stayed: April 2018
4  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Always good atmosphere
The food and service is great.
Good quality and value wine too.
James the owner keeps the place in order.
Lovely art work on display.

The village is lovely.
Definitely worth visiting.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Sololad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

All travelled to Lord Bagenal for Sunday Lunch . Very good, beef always tender cooked, about the only place you will find properly cooked beefed and not incinerated .
And always garlic potatoes, beautiful.
Even though it is carvery, the service is excellent and always plenty of staff about.
But why dont they upgrade the televisions in the bar to HD ?

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Vinny971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews