We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn South
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could have been better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Comfort Inn is conveniently located off of Interstate 81 and a very short walk to a very nice Perkins restaurant. The room itself was not very clean. The carpet did not appear to have been vacuumed after the previous guest. The bathroom floor is tiled, and the grout is either stained or very dirty. My key card failed on two occasions during a two-day stay and had to be reprogrammed both times. The reponse from the person behind the counter was that it must have expired. The breakfast was very nice, not a lot of extras, but well maintained with plenty to eat. For the most part, the people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again? Probably so; the price was right and overall if wasn't a bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    14
    13
    11
See reviews for
19
14
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
conway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here 10/27/11 for one night. When we were leaving to go down to breakfast we observed a bug on one of the pillows. We removed the bedding and found serveral bugs. We caught three and took them to the front desk/manager. He told us they were ticks. We checked out and took the bugs home in a ziplock. Three exterminators verfied that they were bed bugs. We have called the corporate office, Choice Hotels, and the independent owner. The owner denies they have bed bugs but there is a previous report from a customer in July of this year on www.bedbugregistry.com. We have also contacted TN State Health Department. My wife was bitten twice on the chest and we are not able to bring our suitcases inside our home until we are certain they are all dead. It's been a nightmare!!

Room Tip: Check mattresses and wall behind bed for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eilish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kingsport hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

This was a nightmare. I had a prepaid room for 2 weeks, but upon check-in I was asked for a CC for incidentals. I charged nothing to the room at all and whenI checked out I was told there was nothing billed to my CC. Wrong!!! 3 days later I checked and found a charge of $915.09 on the Visa used for incidentals, billed by the hotel, on the day that I checked out. I contacted them and they initially denied it but once I got the CC rep on the phone with us they admitted it was a mistake and that it would be refunded. It took over 4 days before I saw my money back. Never again, not here!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed here in August and a month later found I was charged double on my credit card. When I called they said I checked out after 12 noon. I reminded them I checked-in about 2:30am and asked for a late checkout for 1230. They said there's no record I requested a late checkout. They refused to credit my credit card. The bill they gave me was for one night. The hotel later doubled my charged. I wrote to the Better Business Bureau and if not resolved I'll sue them in small claims court. I never had a hotel do this to me.

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here. They will sneak charges on your credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here going and comming from Arlington Va
Hotel staff very nice and accomodating
Rooms clean and comfortable
Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingoPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kingsport hotels
6.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kingsport TriCities Airport
6.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.5 km away
Comfort Suites Kingsport
Comfort Suites Kingsport
#6 of 16 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Hampton Inn Kingsport
Hampton Inn Kingsport
#1 of 16 in Kingsport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
7.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
Red Roof Inn Kingsport
#7 of 16 in Kingsport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
6.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kingsport-Meadowview I-26
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South

Property: Comfort Inn South
Address: 4624 Fairlane Dr., Kingsport, TN 37663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Kingsport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Kingsport
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,718 - ₹ 13,492
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind every great day is a great night at our newly renovated Comfort Inn South in Kingsport Tennessee. We are conviently located near the Tri-City Airport and Bristol Motor Speedway. Whether you are here on vacation or a business traveler our friendly staff is ready to make sure your rested and ready for your busy days ahead. We invite you to come and relax in our newly renovated rooms featuring : Premium Bedding , 32 in flat screen televisions, refridgerators and microwaves . Lots more amenities await your arrival here at Comfort Inn South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingsport
Kingsport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing